Skip to main content

Full text of "Early days in Greenbush : with biographical sketches of the old settlers"

See other formats





cop, 2 










Copyright. 1905, by Wm. L. Snapp. 


Some four years ago it occurred to my mind that a history of 
the early days in Greenbush township would be of interest to 
many. So little by little I have from time to time gathered in- 
formation for this work. 

It has been no small task, as nearly all the men and women 
who helped to make the early history have passed away, and 
many of their children have moved away and are scattered about 
in distant localities. 

These early settlers braved the dangers of frontier life, en- 
dured hardships, toil, deprivations and the loneliness of the country 
at that time. Many of them lived in simple log cabins affording 
poor shelter from the storms of winter. But they planted civiliza- 
tion here, which has made possible the comfortable and luxurious 
homes of to-day. 

> It has been my constant aim to present facts in this work. 
But it is nearly impossible to write a work of this kind that is 
entirely free from errors. I am satisfied that the competent critic 
will find errors. I am also satisfied that the incompetent will affect 
to find many more, from whom I expect no mercy. 

To the many who have so kindly assisted me in this work, 

I here return my sincere thanks. A list of their names would be 

too long for publication here. 

Wm. L. Snapp. 


The flowers that I sought in the wildwood 
Have since dropped their withering leaves; 

And many dear friends of my childhood 

Have slumbered for years in the graves." 


The County of Warren in the State of Illinois was created 
by an act of the General Assembly approved January 13, 1825. 
At that time it was bounded as follows: Beginning at the point 
where the township line between seven and eight north touches 
the Mississippi river, thence east on said line to the Meridian; 
thence north on said meridian line to the northeast corner of 
township twelve north, range one west of the Fourth Principal 
Meridian; thence west on said township line to the Mississippi 
river, and thence down the river to the place of beginning. 

Warren county then extended from the Fourth Principal 
Meridian to the Mississippi river. The General Assembly of 
1841 passed an act detaching all the territory west of range three, 
forming a new county with the name of Henderson. 

Greenbush township it situated on the southeast corner of 
Warren county, Illinois, being township eight north of the base line, 
range one west of the Fourth Principal INTeridian. 

James B. Atwood was the first white man that settled in what 
is now known as Warren county. He arrived in 1828 and 
located on section 27, now Kelly township. Adam Ritchie and 
family came the same year and located on the south end of Sugar- 
tree Grove on the farm afterwards owned by Mr. Quinn in Hale 
township. John B. Talbot with his mother and cousin, Allen C. 
Andrews, settled in the northeast corner of Monmouth township, 
on section one. 

The first settler in Greenbush township was Rowland Simmons. 
He came from Warren county, Kentucky, to Morgan county, Illi- 
nois. In 1830, he moved from Morgan county to what is now known 
as Greenbush in Warren county, Illinois. Here he camped in 


the edge of the timber about one-half a mile west of where the 
village of Greenfield (afterwards the village of Greenbush) was 

He came in a covered wagon, driving three yoke of cattle. 
His mother, wife and one son came with him. This son was 
William Simmons, who was four years old at the time. Mr. 
Simmons brought in his wagon a few cooking utensils and house- 
hold furniture ; also a few tools. His chairs he tied on the outside 
of his wagon. 

He immediately set to work building his cabin, which was 
thirty-six feet long and twelve feet wide. He used mostly hickory 
logs. This house could not be called a hewed log house, as very 
little hewing was done on the logs. It contained three rooms and 
was made comfortable by being chinked with blocks of wood and 
daubed with clay. He also built a huge fireplace in the west end 
of the building. 

He found plenty of Indians here when he came. They were 
located on sections seven and eighteen, and spent their time 
hunting, fishing, making maple sugar and riding on their ponies 
about the country. 

"Uncle Roley" Simmons was a hardy pioneer and a man 
possessed of considerable courage, but sometimes he felt a little 
ticklish or nervous in regard to those Indians. They were a little 
too numerous for him ; so he always carried his old Kentucky 
rifle w^hen he went any distance from his house. Sometimes a 
band of thirty or forty Indians would come hooting and yelling 
up to him on their ponies and, after dismounting and shaking 
hands, would ride away. 

These Indians, however, proved to be peaceable. They left 
a few graves on the hill south of "Nigger" creek not far from 
a small stream called the Wash branch. Numerous flint arrow- 
heads have been found in this locality from time to time. When 
the Black Hawk war broke out in 1832, they left the country. 

Mr. Simmons continued to live in his cabin until the Indian 
trouble began in 1832. He then moved his family to Morgan 


county for safety and joined the "Rangers" engaged in the 
Black Hawk war until the Indians were driven west of the 
Mississippi river. 

After Black Hawk, who was a chief of the Sacs and Foxes, 
w^as defeated, he was made the ward of Keokuk, another chief, 
which humiliation of his pride broke his heart. He died on a 
reservation set apart for him in Iowa, in 1838, aged 71 years. 

His body is said to have been exhumed nine months after 
death and his articulated skeleton is alleged to have been preserved 
in the rooms of the Burlington, Iowa, Historical Society until 
1855. when it was destroyed by fire. 

After the Black Hawk war, Keokuk became the chief of the 
Sacs and Foxes. He lived on the reservation in Iowa until 1845, 
when he removed to Kansas where, in June, 1848, he fell a victim 
to poison supposedly administered by some partisan of Black 

After the Black Hawk war and the same year (1832), Mr. 
Simmons with his family returned to his home in Greenbush. An 
infant son of his (John W.) died about this time and was buried 
on the hill west of the village, it being the first grave in the 
Greenbush graveyard. 

In the spring of 1833, Uncle Roley took possession of the 
sugar camp left "by the Indians, they having left their sugar-making 
outfit ei:)nsisting of kettles, many small troughs and a few large 

That same year James Simmons, a brother of Rowland's, came 
from Madison county, Illinois. He drove three yoke of cattle to his 
covered wagon and had also one horse hitched to a light wagon, some 
cows and three dogs. One of these dogs was a famous hunter 
and was the leader in many deer chases in those days. Uncle 
Jimmy intended to kill one of his cows for his winter's meat, but 
he found game so plenty that he did not need to. With his trusty 
rifle he Avas nearly always sure of a buck or doe when he went 
after them. 

In the spring of 1834, he took possession of the sugar camp 
that had been used by his brother Rowland the year previous. 


At this time it was difficult to obtain breadstnlf. Rowland 
Simmons went to Morgan county for breadstuff at dift'erent times. 
His son William went with him to help yoke and unyoke the cattle. 

In 1834 the Bond family came. This family consisted of 
Jesse W. Bond and wife and their children, John Crane, Benjamin, 
Joel, Ruby, William Barnet, Jesse W., and Nathan. 

Baton A. Vaughn came in 1837 ; John Wingate and Thomas 
Moulton in 1838. Sarah Snapp and family, consisting of Franklin 
G., Robert M., William, Ezekiel M., George, Mary, Elizabeth, and 
Maria, came in 1837. Aaron Powers and Col. John Butler came 
in 1839. 

Charles Stice came in from what is now known as Henderson 
county in 1834. The same year Amos Pierce and his son Clement 
came from Vermont. William H. Pierce came from Vermont in 
1835. Alexander AVillard and family came in 1837. For a more 
particular mention of these families, see biographical sketches else- 
where in these pag:es. 

The village of Greenfield was surveyed and platted by Wm. C. 
Butler, county surveyor, April 14, 1836, and was located on the 
northwest corner of section five. The first plat contained a public 
square and sixteen blocks. Rowland Simmons and James Simmons 
were the owners of the land on which the town was located. 

Afterwards Rowland Simmons added four blocks on the west 
and James Simmons four blocks on the east. The name of Green- 
field was changed to Greenbush in 1843. 

Jesse Blankenship had the first house erected in the village. 
John Sheffield was the carpenter and builder. It was a hewed log 
house containing two rooms. In the erection of the building, John 
Simmons notched and fitted one corner ; or, as they called it then, 
he "took up" one corner. William Vandiver also helped on this 

Mr. Blankenship moved into one of the rooms; the other room 
he used for a store house, it being the first store in the village. In 
after years this building was used for various purposes. 

Wm. H. Pierce used it as a residence and his son Almiron G. 
was born there July 4, 1838. Woody Alexander kept a grocery in 


it at one time. Philip Kariis tinally purchased it and used it for 
a cooper shop for many years. When Dr. Wm. Randall came to 
Greenbush in 1858, he used the east room for his office for some 
time. The old building was pulled down a few years ago and moved 
to the Karns farm north of Greenbush. 

Among the early merchants, or storekeepers as they were then 
called, were Crocker and IMartin, and one Mr. McMahon. 

Edwin A. Sheble came in the early '40 's and engaged in the 
mercantile business. His father, brother David, and his father-in- 
law Major McCormick came with him. 

Mr. Sheble was an energetic business man and was well liked 
by the pepole. After leaving Greenbush he took to steamboating 
on the Mississippi river : became captain, and afterwards owner in 
different packet lines. During the civil war, he was engaged in 
conveying troops and supplies for the union army. He was with 
General Grant at the seige of Vieksburg, and with General Canby 
at the surrender of Mobile. During his career he built and com- 
manded twenty-four steamboats. The last one owned by him was 
the ' ' City of Alton. ' ' He was at one time general freight and pass- 
enger agent for the Rockford, Rock Island and St. Louis Railway 
Company. After amassing a considerable fortune, he died at No. 
4300 McPherson ave., St. Louis, Mo., February 22, 1904. He was 
nearly eighty-four years old. 

Major McCormick is still remembered by some of the old 
settlers. He kept fast horses and engaged in racing here. During 
the '40 's he owned the horse known as "Billy "Woods" which ran 
against Dan Meek's horse "Big Colt." 

The village of Greenfield became quite a trading-point in 1839. 
Many newcomers had arrived and located in the vicinity. At that 
time coffee was 20 cents a pound; sugar, 12^/2 ; nails, 121/4; starch, 
25 ; tea, $1.50 ; saleratus, 25 cents ; madder, 371/2 ; alum, 25 ; sul- 
phur, 25. Indigo was 20 cents per ounce; camphor, 25. Writing 
paper was 371,4 cents a quire; common andirons or "dog-irons," 
$1.50 per pair. Almanacs were 121^ cents ; calico was 37 V2 cents 
per yard, whisky $1.00 per gallon and brandy, $2.00. 



A list of the persons 
given ; and while it is not 
names of many who then 

Pleasant Atkinson, 
John Armstrong, 
Eli Butler, 
J. W. Bond, Jr., 
J. W. Bond, Sr., 
Nathan Bond, 
Benjamin Bond, 
Isaac Bell, 
John Butler, 
Stephen Babbet, 
Wm. Cutherd, 
Lively Cay ton, 
David Clevinger, 
Joseph Craig, 
Otha Carr, 
Samuel Cochrane, 
Moses Doty, 
T. J. Defrice, 
Capt. John Darneal, 
John C. Foster, 
Wm. A. Fish, 
Wm. Gunter, 
Jacob Gross, 
Thomas Gunter, 
Julius A. Hill, 
Wm. Hewett, 
Reuben Holeman, 
Levi Heath, 
John M. Hoisington, 
John Herrington, 
Abraham Holeman, 
Levi Hedges, 
Polly Hedges, 
Edson Heath, 
Jacob Johnson, 
Wm. Johnson, 
John Jared, 

trading in Greenfield at that time is here 
claimed to be a complete list, it will give 
resided in this locality: 

Truman Allen, 
Jacob Bair, 
Joel Bond, 
John C. Bond, 
Wm. Barnet Bond, 
Wm. G. Bond, 
Alanson Bostwick, 
Wm. B. Blankenship, 
James Bay, 
Ezekiel Chambers, 
James F. Chambers, 
Asa Clevinger, 
S. D. Clevinger, 
Walter Clark, 
Abel Chase, 
James Carr, 
Peter Downey, 
Harvey Darneille, 
Levett Emory, 
John Fisher, 
G. Geer, 
Hiram Gray, 
Francis George, 
Joseph Gunter, 
Elijah Hanon, 
Mahala Herrington, 
Ralph Heath, 
Joel Hargrove, 
Reuben Hammond, 
Peter Hedges, 
Stephen Howard, 
Phebe Hedges, 
J. E. Heath, 
Sally Jones, 
Zack Jennings, 
Wm. Jared, Jr 
Joseph Jared, 



Thomas Jones, 
Aaron Jennings, 
John Johnson, 
Wm. Jare'd, Sr., 
James Kelsey, 
Elijah Lieurance, 
B. W. Lewis, 
John Long, 
Stephen Lieurance, 
James JMeadows, 
Marlin McAdams, 
Henry IMcMahill, 
G. M. McCartney, 
Samuel Morse, 
Elijah Meadows, 
John McI\Iahill, 
David Nickerson, 
Daniel Perkins, 
Solon Powers, 
Aaron Powers, 
Samuel Russel, 
Lauren Rose, 
Jonathan Ratekin, 

E. Roberts, 
George Ratekin, 
Samuel Reynolds, 
Wm. Reed, 
James Robinson, 
Ephraim Smith, 
Joseph Sisson, 
Wm. M. Sterling, 
Hasadiah Smith, 
Robert ^l. Snapp, 
Ashael Sisson, 
John B. Spinner, 
Alexander Stanley, 
Andrew Simmons, 
John Simmons, 

F. G. Snapp, 
James Simmons, Sr., 

Ezra Jennings, 
Wm. Jones, 
Edmond Jennings, 
Sam. K. Kertley, 
Larnard Kidder, 
Patrick Lynch, 
Abijah Lieurance, 
Peter Lieurance, 
Horace Mathews, 
John Murphy, 
AVm. McMahilL 
Thomas JMoulton, 
Andrew Millstagle, 
Henson C. Martin, 
W. R. Monroe, 
James McMahill, 
John Plymate, 
Wm. H. Pierce, 
Stephen Pierce, 
Amos Pierce, 
Milton Powers, 
Samuel Rodgers, 
Joseph R-odgers, 
Joseph Ratekin, 
Thomas Rogers, 
John Riggs, 
Abijah Roberts, 
Thomas Reed, 
Joseph Robinson, 
Peter Simmons, 
James Simmons, Jr, 
George Simmons, 
N. P. Swan, 
Samuel Simpson, 
Samuel S. Smith, 
A. B. Smith, 
Rowland Simmons, 
Francis Staat, 
James D. Smith, 
Wm. Snapp, 


Nathan Sutton, James Simmons (Stiller), 

David Simmons, Sally Snapp, 

David Smith, Peter Shoemaker, 

Hiram Taylor, Ezekiel M. Snapp, 

Wm. Tally, Charles Tinker, 

Thomas Teeter, Wm. Trailer, 

Charles Vandiver, Thomas Titus, 

Wm. Vandiver, P. A. Vaughn, 

Levi Wilder, John Vandiver, 

Samuel Welty, Wm. Willard, 

John Willard. Thomas West, 

T. J. Willard, Alfred White, 

Alex. Willard, Edward White, 

Jesse Wollard, Joseph Wilcher, 

John P. AA^ood, Anna Walworth, 

David Young, John Young, 

John Young, Jr. 

The following named persons were also engaged in the mer- 
cantile business in Greenbush during the early days: F. G. 
Snapp, Cyrus Sisson, Hardin and Shreves, N. P. Tinsley, S. J. 
Buzan, Dr. Bailey Ragon, Merrill and Osborn (afterwards Merrill, 
Osborn and Merrill, a firm composed of Frederick H. Merrill, 
Alfred Osborn and Charles C. Merrill), Phelps and Shores (after- 
wards AA^m. Shores), Wm. Snapp, Adams, Butler and Adams (a 
firm composed of David Adams, AV. H. H. Butler and Riley 
Adams), James C. Johnson, John Terry, A. R. Harman, Wm. 
Randall, and John R. Snapp. 

Of the early blacksmiths, Thomas Rodger was about the first ; 
afterwards Francis Staat, Amos Pierce, Thomas Darneille, Henzie 
Darneille, Milton Powers, Alfred Dowdy, Alexander McGrew, 
Connelius Hanks, Patrick H. Woods, Edward Taylor, Henry 
Hains, John Watson, Thomas Carroll, Noah D. Clark, Michael 
Carroll, and S. C. Irving. 

The wagon-makers were James Fife, Joseph Parkins, Julius T. 
Lathrop, Lewis L. Ury, David Armstrong, Porter J. Jack, John 
Regan, John Brown, Isaac Fisher, James D. Simmons, Elijah 
Frampton, Stephen Lieurance, and Bennett AA^ood. 

Some of the first doctors were Abel Chase, Bailey Ragon, 
Reamer A. Saunders, Thomas M. Luster, Dr. Lee. Dr. Agers, 


Richard Hammond, N. B. IMcKay, Dr. King, Wm. Randall, T. J. 
Shreves, Dr. Dow, Joim E. Alvord, Dr. Norris, W. D. Sterling, 
Dr. Kandelson, and Dr. Campbell. 

The following named persons kept hotel, or what was gener- 
ally called tavern in those days: Charles Stice, Abner Walker, 
Jane AValker, Nathaniel Wilcox, Isaac Hanks, George A. Walker, 
Stephen Lieurance, David Young, Jacob Emriek, and A. R. Har- 

The shoemakers were Jacob Vosberg, Julius N. Hill, Wm. H. 
Pierce, Wm. Palmer, Wm. Glover, John C. McCall, Benjamin 
Swearinger, Jacob Lambert, Mr. McLaughlin, Jacob Long, Louis 
Lantz, Jacob Keneval, A. R. Louder, Andrew Bowman, and H. C. 

The following named persons worked at the cooper trade: 
Philip Karns, Lewis L. Ury, George Helterbridle, Wm. Shefler, 
Moses Romaine, and Thomas Kinney. 

The harness-makers were Daniel Chapin, Oliver Crissey, Gad 
Chapin, James H. Crawford, Rodney Boone, James Perdun, James 
M. Frantz, Mathew Campbell, James Jenks, and Samuel L. Karns. 

Oliver Crissey learned the trade of harness-making of Daniel 
Chapin and was in the business in Greenbush in 1853 and 1854. 
Chapin sold to Crissey and bought a house and lot in Galesburg 
for two hundred dollars and then moved there. Rodney Boone 
and James H. Crawford worked for Crissey until he sold to Isaac 
Hanks. James H. Crawford then went to work for Hanks. 

This man Crawford was a good workman and was considered 
honest and reliable, only he would take spells of drinking liquor. 
At one time he went to Burlington, got on a spree and was 
arrested, convicted and sent to the penitentiary at Ft. Madison, 
Iowa, for passing counterfeit money. 

It was believed by many that this counterfeit money was given 
him in change and that he did not know it was counterfeit. A 
petition for pardon with many signers was presented to the 
authorities in Iowa by Wm. May of Greenbush. Crawford was 
finally pardoned and came back to the residence of Isaac Hanks 


in MeDonoiigh county, where in a short time he died. This was 
in 1862. He was buried in the Bond graveyard on the north side. 

The tailors in the earlier days of Greenbush were: James 
Francis, James F. Chambers, John Kramer, and Charles Rundlet. 

The women of Greenbush and surrounding country cut and 
made the most of the clothing used at that time. 

The carpenters and builders were: Archie Fisher, John 
Sheffield, Mr. Blackman, Levi Lincoln, Clinton Lincoln, Oscar 
Lincoln, John VV. Nance, Henry Smith, David Armstrong, Henry 
Kaufman, Wm. Thompson, Trumble G. Taylor, and John Bowman. 

The following named persons were engaged in the business 
of selling drugs: D. R. Hamilton, Daniel Warner, Mr. Coleman, 
JDr. Pyle. and James M. Frantz. 

'' The weavers in the village were Mary Almond, C. H. Raberd- 
ing, and Sarah Young. In the township there were many looms 
and many families did their own weaving. 

The old settlers passed through many hardships but they were 
generally stout, hearty, and rugged. They were also possessed of a 
kind, sympathetic nature. When any one was in trouble, his 
neighbors were sure to help him. Their dwellings were rude log- 
liouses, chinked with blocks of wood and daubed with clay. The 
hearth was made of stone. The roof of these cabins was made of 
boards rived out with a fro. These boards were held on with 
weight poles. The door was hung on wooden hinges and had a 
wooden latch which was raised by pulling a string on the outside. 
The floor was generally made from logs split and hewed into 
what was called puncheons. 

Very few nails were used in the construction of these cabins, 
as they were scarce and high in price. The wall plates were put 
on with wood pins. The lower part of the chimneys was built of 
i^od, the upper part of sticks and clay. Some of these cabins had one 
small window with 8 by 10 glass. 

After the settlers had been here some time, some of them built 
double log-houses. These houses contained two rooms with chim- 
ney in center, thus making a fireplace in each room; the logs all 
being hewed, this was considered an extra house. The fireplaces 


generally had a pair of andirons or dog-irons as they were gener- 
ally called. The fireplace used for cooking was sometimes sup- 
plied with a crane which was placed in the fireplace on hinges 
with a brace-bar running across on which was suspended hooks; 
on these hooks the kettles and pots were hung. 

As a matter of fact these cabins did not always contain the 
same kind of household furniture, yet they generally had very 
much the same kind. When you pulled the latch string and went 
in, you found the bark-bottomed chairs ; the water bucket hanging 
against the wall on a wooden peg and the gourd dipper near by, 
also the salt gourd; the bedstead with canopy top, curtains below, 
and a trundle-bed under it. This trundle-bed was pulled out every 
night and the children slept on it. The rifle hung in a rack over 
the door. There was a cupboard in the corner which contained 
some blue-edged plates, some blue and white cups and saucers, 
some tin plates with letters on them, a brown stone pitcher and 
some pewter spoons. The coffee mill was nailed to the wall. You 
also found a few crocks and jars. 

The sop lamp was a very useful article. It was filled with 
lard or grease of some kind. The wick was made by twisting up 
a small piece of cotton cloth and placing it in the grease ; it was then 
ready to light and stick in the wall. Those who had candles, used 
japanned tin caudle-sticks and candle snuffers. Some families had 
tin candle-moulds and moulded their own candles from tallow. 
Families that did not have candle-moulds, often borrowed them. 

Sometimes candles were made by dipping wicks in melted 
tallow; but these candles did not give good satisfaction. They 
were likely to go out and leave you in the dark; hence the saying, 
"Go out like an old-fashioned dip-candle." The lantern was made 
of tin with holes punched in it to let the light out. You placed one- 
half of a candle in it, shut the door, and you were ready to go out 
in the dark. 

It is claimed that Aaron Powers brought the first cook stove 
into the settlement when he came in 1839 ; but all of the old settlers 
for many years did their cooking on the fireplace. The women 
would put on their sunbonnet and pull it down over their face to 
keep the fire from burning them ; set the iron teakettle on the fire, 
then put on the ovenlid ; and when it was hot, shovel some live 


coals on the hearth, set the oven on them ; put in the dough, place 
the lid on the oven, then shovel some coals of fire on it; fry the 
meat in a long-handled skillet ; and make the coffee by setting the 
coffee-pot on a bed of coals on the hearth. Coffee they did not 
always have. Milk was generally used during a meal. Sometimes 
they had Orleans or sugar-house molasses, but these were only 
used on special occasions. 

It has been said that some of the storekeepers only kept one 
barrel of molasses, tapped each end of the barrel, and sold Orleans 
from one end and sugar-house from the other. 

There was nearly always a few bunches of yarn hanging on 
the wall in these cabins, it being the amount left over after weav- 
ing the jeans, linsey and blankets, and was used for stockings and 
socks. There were four cuts in each hank, and one hundred and 
twenty threads in each cut. Often the only books found in a house 
were Webster's Spelling-Book, Aesop's Fables, the family Bible, a 
hymn-book, and an almanac. These almanacs had Negro pictures 
in them and were on the comic order ; they cost from ten to twelve 
and a half cents each. 

The farmers had a breaking-plow, a one-horse "diamond" 
plow, and a single-shovel plow. After breaking up the ground in 
the spring, they marked it off both ways with the shovel plow for 
planting corn. The corn was dropped mostly by the girls and boys 
by hand from a small basket and then covered with hoes. These 
hoes were heavy and had an eye in them in which the handles were 
fastened. When the corn was weedy, they ploughed it with the 
one-horse diamond plow, running the bar next to the coi'n, then 
finishing with the shovel plow. 

The small grain was sown by hand, covered with a heavy " A " 
harrow or brushed in, w^as cut with a cradle and bound by hand. 
The threshing was sometimes done on a floor w'ith a flail or 
tramped out with horses; later, by eight or ten-horse power 
threshers. The straw was dragged away from the tail of the 
machine by a horse hitched to a rail or pole, after which the straw 
was burned to get rid of it. 

Occasionally a farmer would raise flax. This when ripe was 
pulled, stacked down, rotted, then broken with a fiax-break. 


scutched, haekeled, spun and twisted into hanks. It was then 
woven into material for towels, table-cloths, ticking, and for 
various other uses. 

Many farmers kept sheep and did their own shearing. The 
women picked the wool, carded it with hand cards into rolls, spun 
and wove it into flannel, linsey, and jeans. 

The men wore brown or blue jeans clothing— pants made with 
a flap in front, knit-yarn suspenders, and sometimes a coonskin 
cap. They also wore heavy cowhide boots or shoes. Overshoes 
were unknown at that time. The first overshoes that appeared 
were made from buffalo hides and w^ere large and clumsy. They 
attracted considerable attention and were the talk of the neighbor- 

Some of the early settlers would buy leather and take it to the 
shoemaker who would measure the feet of the entire family and 
agree to make the shoes and have them done at a certain time. In 
this the shoemaker often failed and some of the family would have 
to wait. 



"0, were you ne'er a school-boy, 

And did you never train, 
And feel that swelling of the heart 

You ne'er will feel again?" 

In the early days in the township there were three school- 
houses. These houses were made of logs and did not differ much 
from a common log-cabin. They had a big fireplace in one end, 
one door and one or two small windows. The children sat on 
benches made by splitting logs and facing up the pieces with an 
ax. Holes were then bored in them in which the legs were 
fastened. For writing-desks, holes w^ere bored in the wall in which 
were driven wooden pins or pegs on which a board was laid. 

Foolscap paper was used for copy-books. The teachers would 
write the copy for the pupils. Some of these copies would read 
like this : 

"Many men of many minds;" 

"Command you may your mind from play;" 

"The pen is mightier than the sword." 

Goose quills were used to make the pens, and the teacher was 
expected to make them and keep them in repair. The ink was 
often made from indigo, oak bark or poke-berries. Webster's 
Spelling-Book was the main book in the school and was often used 
as a reader. Afterw^ards came McGuffey's Readers; Ray's Arith- 
metics; Smith's, Kirkham's, Murray's, and Clark's Grammars; 
Parley's, Olney's and ^Mitchell's Geographies. 

The school trustees in the township in 1840 were Thomas Moul- 
ton, Lauren Rose, John Sargent, John Plymate, and Abel Chase, 


At that time John C. Bond was treasurer. Gustavus Hills, James 
F. Chambers, and E. B. Stephens were the school-teachers. 

At that time there were only three school districts in the town- 
ship. The north half of the west half of the township was called 
Greenfield district. The sonth half of the west half of the town- 
ship was called Van Bnren district. The balance of the township 
was in one district and was cnlled String-town district. 

At a meeting held July 13, 1840, it was ordered that the 
school-house in Van Buren district be no longer used during 
school-hours for public worship ; also that Lauren Rose and Dr. 
Abel Chase should have the power to employ a teacher for the 
school in Greenfield on such terms as they might think proper. 

The school-teachers in 1841 were Isaac Bell, Gustavus Hills, 
Charles Tinker, Charles A. AVilliams, and Sarah Woods. The 
directors elected in Van Buren district were Wm. B. Bond and 
Harvey J. Hewett. In Greenfield district, Henson C. Martin and 
J. E. Heath were elected directors. Thomas Teeters, John Plymate, 
and Charles Plymate were elected directors in Stringtown district. 
Greenfield had one hundred and three persons under the age of 
tAventy, Stringtown eighty-nine, and Van Buren ninety-five. 

At a meeting held January 10, 1842, it was ordered to pay the 
treasurer four dollars and fifty cents for his services for the last 
two years. At that time all school money was loaned at twelve per 
cent. John Sargent was appointed school treasurer. 

In 1846 an election was held to determine whether the rate 
of interest on school money should be eight or twelve per cent. 
Every vote east except two was for twelve per cent. 

In 1848 the township was divided into districts by numbers 
1, 2, 3, 4, and fractional 4 and 5. John Wingate was then chosen 

This entry is made in the treasurer 's book : 

Coon Section, January 27, 1849. 
A very bad spell of weather, good deal of rain. Very icy and 
slippery, creek higher than it has been for two years. No business 
done by the trustees. 

John Wingate, Treasurer. 



In the year 1851 the citizens of Greenbush and vicinity began 
to talk about erecting a building for a high school or academy, but 
there was nothing definite done until early in January, 1852, when 
notices were posted calling for a meeting. 

The minutes of that meeting are here given : 

Pursuant to notice, the citizens of Greenbush and vicinity 
met at the schoolhouse in Greenbush, Tuesday evening, January 
27, 1852, to take measures for building a house for a high school or 
academy in Greenbush. On motion of J. C. Bond, Alfred Osborn 
was appointed chairman and F. H. Merrill secretary. When, by 
the request of the chairman, J. C. Bond stated the object of the 
meeting, enforcing its laudableness in a brief and interesting ad- 
dress. AA^hen Dr. N. B. McKay otfered the following, viz : 

Proposition for a building in Greenbush for a high school, to 
be from 26 to 30 feet by 40 to 48 feet or more, two story, one 
room, to be used by different denominations for religious meetings, 
when the school in not in session, subject to the same rules as 
observed in cases of district houses. The whole to be under the 
control of trustees elected by the stockholders, each share having a 
vote in the election. Shares to be ten dollars each. 

In consideration of the above we, the undersigned, agree to 
pay to the said trustees the sums set opposite our respective names 
in installments, as follows : One quarter of each share by the 
first day of April next, and as much at the expiration of every 
three months from that time, till all is paid to be offered for sub- 

Wm. B. Bond moved that the following words be erased from 
the above proposition, viz: "subject to the same rules as observed 
in cases of district schoolhouses, " which, after an interesting dis- 

Photo by Moses Simmons. 



cussion, was carried, when the above proposition was adopted and 
submitted for subscribers, 

Elijah Lieurance advocated the building of a house worth 
$1,500. Stephen Lieurance motioned that we organize when $1,000 
of stock should be subscribed, but not to commence building until 
$1,500 shall have been subscribed. J. C. Bond offered as an 
amendment that we commence building when $1,000 of stock is 
subscribed, which was carried and the original motion lost. On 
motion of Stephen Lieurance, the chairman appointed the follow- 
ing persons to solicit stock, viz: John C. Bond, John M. Hois- 
ington, N. B. McKay, A. W. Simmons, and Stephen Lieurance. 

On motion of J. M. Hoisington, the chairman appointed the 
following persons to draft a constitution and by-laws to present 
for adoption at the next meeting of the stockholders : J. C. Bond, 
John Butler, and N. B. McKay. 

Adjourned to meet next Tuesday evening at the schoolhouse 
at early candle light. 

At a meeting of the stockholders held February 3, 1852 a 
subscription of $1,012.50 was reported, and the constitution and 
by-laws were adopted and the following-named persons were 
elected by ballot for trustees: John M. Hoisington, Eliphalet C. 
Lewis, and Alfred Osborn for the term of three years; Dr. N. B. 
McKay, Julius Lathrop, and Andrew W. Simmons for the term of 
two years; Hanson H. Hewett, John C. Bond, and Stephen Lieur- 
ance for the term of one year ; Squire J. Buzan, treasurer ; 
Frederic H. Merrill, secretary. 

The academy building was erected in 1853. The contract was 
let to Levi Lincoln. He was assisted in the work by his brothers 
Clinton and Oscar. The building committee were N. B. McKay, 
J. T. Lathrop, and Alfred Osborn; John M. Hoisington Avas after- 
wards added to this committee. 

Very heavy timbers were used in the construction of the build- 
ing, and on the day of raising many persons gathered to assist in 
raising the timbers. Levi Lincoln first began to give orders but 
his voice was not strong enough; so David Armstrong took his 
place and gave orders both loud and strong. 

After the building was finished, it was decided to dedicate it 
with a grand supper. So everybody was invited and nearly ever- 


body came, and they came prepared, many of them bringing 
baked chickens. After the tables were all set, David Young was 
appointed carver. Clinton Lincoln, who was present on the 
occasion, says David dispatched his work swiftly and dextrously. 

During the year of 1853, the legislature granted a charter to 
the school under the name of The Greenbush Academy. 

The first teacher employed as principal in the Academy was 
W. W. Plappy of Jacksonville, Illinois. lie was assisted by Miss 
Margaret Gaines. They received the tuition fees for their services. 

In January, 1854, Mr. Happy reported to the trustees that 
there were only about twenty students and that he wished to resign 
at the expiration of the term, but the school gained in attendance 
and was for a long time in a prosperous condition. At one time, 
when Daniel Negley was principal, there were nearly one hundred 
students attending. 

In 1851, the Academy had a belfry but no bell. The women 
of Greenbush and vicinity took an active part in procuring one. 
Miss Jane jMather, Mrs. Alfreda Crissey, Mrs. Mary Buzan and 
others were engaged in soliciting subscription. They found it a 
difficult business as the people had been often called on for sub- 
scriptions in the building of the Academy. But the women were 
persistent and the bell was procured. Year after year it was heard 
by the people, sometimes at a distance of three or four miles, as 
it rang for school, literary society, Sunday school, and entertain- 
ments of different kinds. 

Different religious denominations used this bell to call the 
people together, where the minister exhorted them to a better life. 
Often as the years went by, it tolled the years of departed ones in 
tones that were received in sadness and sorrow. 

In 1855, Alexander Campbell, the founder of the Christian 
church, preached in the Academy. It was here that Luccoc and 
Westfall held their debate on endless punishment. 

The school has been abandoned for many years, and the build- 
ing is going to decav. 



It was in June, 1851, that the cholera made its appearance 
in Greenbush and vicinity. There were about tAvelve deaths from 
this disease at that time. Lawson Walker was the first one. He 
died June 15, 1851. Abner Walker and his daughter Abigail died 
on the same day, June 24, 1851, making three deaths in the same 
family. Abner Walker lived on the north side of the square in 
the village and was engaged in keeping hotel. 

The following-named persons also died: Juliett, wife of Dr. 
Thomas M. Luster, June 26, 1851 ; Joseph Sisson, June 23, 1851 ; 
Abijah Roberts, June 23, 1851; Sullivan, son of Alfred Osborn; 
Lafayette Ratekin, George Tally, Jacob Perkins, and A. J. Willey. 

Several families left the village and did not return until 
after the disease disappeared. 

Porter J. Jack and John C. McCall took an active part m 
doing everthing they could for the sick and dying. Philip Karns 
was also very helpful in removing the dead to the cemeteries and 
burying them. 



On the 20th day of ]\Iarch, 1843, I started with F. G. Snapp 
from Greenbnsh, Illinois. He had fat cattle that he wanted to 
market at New Orleans. On that day we drove the cattle six 
miles to Moses T. Hand's. Here we put up for the night and 
here a hard blizzard and snow storm struck us, but we braved 
through and made our drive all the same. 

We arrived at St. Louis, March 30, and left there on Friday, 
April 7 ; arrived at New Orleans, April 13, with 51 head of 
cattle. We sold the cattle for $1,605.00 

We left Orleans for home, April 18, 1843. Snapp engaged 
passage on a new steamer, "The Harry of the West." She was 
a fine boat and was to make her first trip from New Orleans 
to St. Louis. The captain swore he would make the quickest 
trip ever made on that river or blow the boat up. "The Alex 
Scott" had made the trip in four days and six hours. 

We went aboard "The Harry of the West," and when I 
saw the cords of pitch-pine and piles of bacon for fuel, I refused 
to take passage. I told Snapp the captain would be as good as 
his word, and if the machinery was able to stand the pressure 
he might get to St. Louis ; but if not, we should be in great 
danger of a wreck. 

This boat started on a full head of steam, full of passengers 
and a good cargo. Just above Vicksburg and near Memphis, 
she blew out her boilers and killed two passengers and had to 
be towed to St. Louis. 

AVe took passage on the "Charlotte," a fine steamer, and 
was ten days on the trip to St. Louis with a drunken pilot. The 


first evening he ran the boat on a raft of logs in a fog. The 
pilot gave the bell to go ahead instead of back, and he ran her 
on the raft good. The next morning we loosed from the raft. 

One night afterwards he ran into a cornfield — said they 
wanted wood. After we passed Cairo we scraped the rocks on 
what is known as the "Devil's Chain," where many steamboats 
have been wrecked. Our boat rocked heavily, but we came out 

The morning we reached St. Louis, the pilot ran our boat 
under some projecting tree branches and broke down both 
smokestacks. The captain paid him off and hired another. 

Snapp and I parted at St. Louis. The boat ran up to Peoria 
and La Salle. Snapp stopped at Copperas creek landing. He 
said the boat was a fine runner. 

I went out to Troy, Madison county, Illinois, and got a horse 
for father on the farm he sold; from there to Green county, 
where we had left Snapp 's horse as we went down. 

When I came to Beardstown the river was from Beardstown 
to Frederick. They crossed me over and let me out in water 
up to the horses' knees, and some times up to their breast; then 
took me on a " fiat ' ' to the next wading, and so on until I reached 
the bluff. 

I arrived at Mr. Standard's on the night of May 13. That 
night there came up a heavy storm of wind, thunder, lightning 
and rain. This was at Pennington's Point, thirty miles from 

The storm having passed over, I told Standard I would make 
F. G. Snapp 's by 12 o'clock noon. When I arrived they had 
just sat down at the table for dinner. 



Showing the Danger of Circu:mstantial Evidence. 

Archie Fisher, a native of Scothmd, came to AYarren county, 
Illinois, about the year 1836. He was a brother of Mrs. Lachlan 
McGowan, and an nncle of James McGowan, and Mrs. Oliver 
Crissey and Mrs. D. C. Woods, who now reside at Avon, Illinois. 

]\Ir. Fisher was a carpenter by trade and built the first 
barn in Greenbush township. This barn was built for "Wm. Trailer 
on the farm, a little west of the village of Greenbush, known as 
the Amos Seigler place. Mr. Fisher also built a barn for Col. 
John Butler on his farm near Greenbush. 

In May, 1841, Archie Fisher, in company with AYm. Trailor, 
started in a buggy to Springfield, Illinois. Wm. Trailor then 
resided on his farm west of the village of Greenfield, now 
Greenbush. On the way to Springfield they were joined by 
Henry Trailor, a brother of William. They then went to Archi- 
bald Trailer's, who resided in Springfield and was also a brother 
of William. 

Shortlj^ after their arrival, Fisher was missing and was 
reported murdered. The Trailers were arrested, and at their 
preliminary trial Lamborn appeared for the prosecution and 
Logan Baker and Lincoln defended. 

Ward H. Lamon, in his "Life of Abraham Lincoln," says: "In 
the summer of 1841, Mr. Lincoln was engaged in a curious case. 
The circumstances impressed him very deeply with the insuffi- 
ciency and danger of circumstantial evidence. So much so that 
he not only wrote the following account of it to Speed, but 
another more extended one which was printed in a newspaper 
published at Quincy, Illinois. L[is mind was full of it : he could 


thiuk of nothing else. It is apparent that in his letter to Speed 
he made no pause to choose his words; there is nothing con- 
strained and nothing studied or deliberate about it, but its 
simplicity, perspicuity, and artless grace make it a model of 
English composition. 

What Goldsmith once said of Locke may better be said of 
this letter : ' He never says more nor less than he ought and 
never makes use of a word that he could have changed for a 
better. ' 

'Springfield, June 19, 1841. 
'Dear Speed: 

'We have had the highest state of excitment here for a week 
past that our community has ever witnessed; and although the 
public feeling is somewhat allayed, the curious affair which 
aroused it is very far from being over, yet cleared of mystery. 

'It would take a quire of paper to give you anything like 
a full account of it, and I therefore only propose a brief outline. 

'The chief personages in the drama are Archibald Fisher, 
supposed to be murdered; and Archibald Trailor, Henry Trailor, 
and William Trailor, supposed to have murdered him. 

' The three Trailers are brothers : the first. Arch, as you 
know, lives in town; the second, Henry, in Clary's Grove; and 
the third, William, in Warren county ; and Fisher, the supposed 
murdered, being without a family, had made his home with 

'On Saturday evening, being the 29th of May, Fisher and 
William came to Henry's in a one-horse dearborn and there staid 
over Sunday, and on Monday all three came to Springfield (Henry 
on horseback) and joined Archibald at Myres, ' the Dutch car- 
penter. That evening at supper Fisher was missing, and so next 
morning some ineffectual search was made for him ; and on 
Tuesday at 1 o'clock p. m., William and Henry started home 
Avithout him. In a day or two Henry and one or two of his 
Clary Grove neighbors came back for him again, and advertised 
his disappearance in the papers. 

'The knowledge of the matter thus far had not been general, 
and here it dropped entirely till about the lOtli inst.. when 


Keys received a letter from the postmaster in Warren county that 
William had arrived at home and was telling a very mysterious 
and improbable story about the disappearance of Fisher, which 
induced the community there to suppose he had been disposed 
of unfairly. Keys made this letter public, which immediately 
set the whole town and adjoining country agog. And so it has 
continued until yesterday. The mass of the people commenced 
a systematic search for the dead body, while Wickersham was 
dispatched to arrest Henry Trailor at the Grove and Jim Maxcy 
to Warren county, to arrest William. 

'On Monday last, Henry was brought in and showed an 
evident inclination to insinuate that he knew Fisher to be dead 
and that Arch and William had killed him. He said he guessed 
the body could be found in Spring creek between the Beardstown 
Toad and Hickox's mill. Away the people swept like a herd of 
l)uffalo and cut doM^n Hickox's mill-dam nolens volens to 
draw the water out of the pond, and then went up and down 
and down and up the creek fishing and raking and raking and 
ducking and diving for two days, and after all no dead body 
found. In the meantime a sort of scuffling ground had been found 
in the brush, in the angle or point where the road leading into 
the woods past the brewery and the one leading in past the 
brick grove meets. From the scuffle ground was the sign of 
something about the size of a man having been dragged to the 
edge of the thicket where it joined the track of some small wheel 
carriage drawn by one horse, as shown by the road tracks. The 
carriage track led off toward Spring creek. Near this drag trail, 
Dr. Merryman found two hairs which, after a long scientific 
examination, he pronounced to be triangular human hair, which 
term he , says includes within it the whiskers, the hair growing 
under the arms and on other parts of the body; and he judged 
that these two were of the whiskers, because the ends were cut, 
showing that they had flourished in the neighborhood of the 
razor's operations. 

'On Thursday last, Jim Maxcy brought in William Trailor 
from Warren. On the same day Arch was arrested and put in 
jail. Yesterday (Friday) William was put upon his examining 
trial before ]Mav and Lavelv. Archibald and Henry were both 


present. Lamboni prosecuted, and Logan and Baker and your 
humble servant defended. 

'A great many witnesses were introduced and examined, but 
I shall only mention those whose testimony seems most important. 

'The first of these was Capt. Ransdell. He swore that when 
William and Henry left Springfield for home, on Tuesday before 
mentioned, they did not take the direct route which you know 
leads by the butcher shop, but that they followed the street 
north until they got opposite or nearly opposite May 's new 
house, after which he could not see them from where he stood; 
and it was afterwards proved that in about an hour after they 
started, they came into the street by the butcher shop from towards 
the brick-yard. Dr. INIerryman and others swore to what is stated 
about the scuffle ground, drag trail, whiskers, and carriage tracks. 

'Henry was then introduced by the prosecution. He swore 
that when they started for home, they went out north, as Ransdell 
stated, and turned down west by the brick-yard into the woods 
and then met Archibald ; that they proceeded a small distance 
farther, when he was placed as a sentinel to watch for and 
announce the approach of any one that might happen that way; 
that William and Arch took the dearborn out of the road a small 
distance to the edge of the thicket, where they stopped and he 
saw them lift the body of a man into it ; that they then moved 
off with the carriage in the direction of Hickox's mill, and he 
loitered about for something like an hour, when William returned 
with the carriage but without Arch, and said they had put him 
in a safe place ; that they went somehow, he did not know 
exactly how, into the road close to the brewery and proceeded 
on to Clary's Grove. 

'He also stated that some time during the day William told 
him that he and Arch had killed Fisher the evening before; that 
the way they did it was by him (AVilliam) knocking him down 
wdth a club and Arch then choking him to death. 

'An old man from Warren called Dr. Gilmore was then 
introduced on the part of the defence. He swore that he had 
known Fisher for several years ; that Fisher had resided at his 
house a long time at each of two different spells — once while 
he built a barn for hfm. and once while he was doctored for 


some chronic disease ; that two or three years ago Fislier had 
a serious hurt in his head by the bursting of a gun. since which 
he had been subject to continued bad health and occasional 
aberration of mind. He also stated that on last Tuesday, being 
the same day that Maxcy arrested William Trailor, he (the doctor) 
was from home in the early part of the day and on his return, 
about 11 o'clock, found Fisher at his house in bed and apparently 
very unwell ; that he asked him how he had come from Spring- 
field ; that Fisher said he had come by Peoria and also told 
of several other places he had been at, more in the direction 
of Peoria, which showed that he at the time of speaking did not 
know where he had been wandering about in a state of derange- 

'He further stated that in about two hours he received a 
note from one of Trailor 's friends advising him of his arrest 
and requesting him to go on to Springfield as a witness to testify 
as to the state of Fisher's health in former times; that he imme- 
diately set off, calling up two of his neighbors as company, and 
riding all evening and all night overtook Maxcy and William 
at Lewiston, in Fulton county; that Maxcy refusing to dis- 
charge Trailor upon his statement, his two neighbors returned 
and he came on to Springfield. 

'Some question being made as to whether the doctor's story 
was not a fabrication, several acquaintances of his (among whom 
was the same postmaster who wrote to Keys as before men- 
tioned) were introduced as sort of compurgators, who swore 
that they knew the doctor to be of good character for truth and 
veracity and generally of good character in every way. 

'Here the testimony ended and the Trailors were discharged, 
Arch and William expressing, both in word and manner their 
entire confidence that Fisher would be found alive at the doctor's 
by Calloway, Mallory, and Myres, who a day before had been 
despatched for that purpose; while Henry still protested that 
no power on earth could ever show Fisher alive. 

' Thus . stands this curious affair. When the doctor 's story 
was first made public, it was amusing to scan and contemplate the 
countenances and hear the remarks of those who had been actively 
engaged in the search for the dead body^ Some looked quizzical, 
some melancholy, and some furiously angry. Porter, who had 


been very active, swore he always knew the man was not dead 
and that he had not stirred an inch to hunt for hira. Langford, 
who had taken the lead in cutting down Hickox's mill-dam and 
wanted to hang Hickox for objecting, looked most awfully woe- 
begone; he seemed the "wictem of hunrequited affection," as 
represented in the comic almanacs we used to laugh over. And 
Hart, the little drayman that hauled Molly home once, said it 
was too damned bad to have so much trouble and no hanging 
after all. 

'I commenced this letter on yesterday, since which I re- 
ceived yours of the 13th. I stick to my promise to come to 

'Nothing new here except what I have written. I have not 

seen since my last trip and I am going out there as 

soon as I mail this letter. Yours forever, 

Lincoln.' " 

Joshua Fry Speed, to whom the foregoing letter was ad- 
dressed, was an intimate friend of Abraham Lincoln. He died 
at Louisville, Ky, May 29, 1882. 

The postmaster mentioned in the letter was Charles Stice 
who kept the office in Greenfield (now Greenbush) at that time. 

Archie Fisher had a large wooden chest which he kept at 
Wm. Traitor's during the time he resided there. It was sup- 
posed by some that it contained considerable money; it was also 
alleged that it had a secret drawer in which the money was 

After leaving Dr. Gilmore's, Mr. Fisher went to Col. John 
Butler's, where he resided until his death which occurred August 
9, 1845. 

His property went to his sister, Mrs. Lachlan McGowan. 
The chest, about which so much has been said, became the property 
of Col. John Butler. After his death, it was given to his son 
Vincent W. Butler ; after the death of Vincent, his son Manley 
took the chest. 

Abyram Roberts says that he had heard so much about the 
Archie Fisher chest that he became anxious to see it. So he 


called at the residence of Manley Butler, where it was shown 
to him. After examining it closely, he found where a hole had 
been bored in a portion of the inside of the chest and the hole 
had been plugged with a wooden pin. His curiosity was so 
aroused that he was determined to extract the wood pin and 
see what was in there. He finally procured a brace and bit and 
bored the pin out, and found a small roll of paper which, upon 
examination, proved to be a receipt given to Archie Fisher for 
money paid to some person in New York. 



Patrick Lynch lived near Greenbush in the hitter part of 
the '30s and early '40s. He was an Irishman and spent consid- 
erable time riding about the country swapping horses. He 
traded a horse for lots eight and nine on section sixteen, after- 
wards known as the Henry Beam place. 

During the presidential campaign of 1840, when Martin Van 
Buren was running against Wm. Henry Harrison, Patrick rode 
into the village of Greenfield on a horse possessed of high mettle, 
of which Patrick was very proud. Some four or five men stood 
on the corner near a store, talking. Patrick took occasion to 
ride by them shouting for Van Buren. ' This did not please 
Harvey Darneille, who was one of the men in the group, as he 
was a staunch Harrison man. He told Lynch to shut up and 
go away from there. Patrick rode around the second time, 
shouting for Van Buren. Harvey again told him to go away, 
saying: "If you come around here again, I will fix you." 

In a short time Lynch made another circle, riding up nearer 
the group and making the same exclamations for Van Buren. 
As he went to pass them, Harvey stooped down and picked up an 
old queensware crate that happened to be there. This he swiftly 
threw over the head of Patrick. The crate being lengthy, when 
one end was over Patrick's head, the other end dropped over his 
horse's hips after the style of a breeching. 

The horse immediately became wild and frantic. Patrick 
in trying to hold him had no time to lift the crate off his head. 
Every man in town did his best to separate the crate from 
Patrick and his horse, but it was not an easy thing to do. But 
the horse was finally caught and the crate removed. No bad results 
followed, although Patrick was somewhat tired and said nothing 
more about Van Buren. 



On the tenth day of January, 1862, William Patterson and 
Elza Magers went to the steam saw-mill of William 6. Bond, 
which was then located near the residence of Major John C. 
Bond. Patterson and Magers had a log there for sled crooks. 
When they arrived at the mill, they concluded the log was too 
long. So Magers went up to the residence of John C. Bond 
to get a cross-cut saw to use in sawing off one end. It was noon- 
time and all the hands had gone to dinner, except Leander Bond, 
who was then engineer; he was at the engine which was attached 
to the boiler, and William Patterson was standing in front of 
the furnace warming himself. 

A loud report was heard by those who were near the mill; 
and upon going there, it was found that the boiler had burst 
and William Patterson was found dead. The explosion had 
thown him about 60 feet from the boiler. He was badly burned 
and mangled. 

Patterson was a son of John Patterson who was deaf and 
dumb, and was a brother of Thomas and John Patterson. He 
left a wife and three children. His wife's maiden name was 
Sarah Magers. She^ was a sister of Elza Magers. 

Wm. Patterson was buried in the McMahill graveyard in 
Greenbush township. 



The murder of Harvey J. Hewett, in 1850, caused great ex- 
citement all over the country. Everybody talked about it and 
everybody was anxious that the murderers should be brought to 

Mr. Hewett was an honest, upright citizen, well known in 
Warren county and highly esteemed by all who loiew him. 

In 1850, one Mr. Hurd of Fondulac, Wis., bought some cattle 
of Harvey J. Hewett; he also bought some cattle of Franklin 
G. Snapp and some of John A. Butler. Mr. Hurd told these 
men they would have to go to Peoria for their money, as he had 
a deposit in a bank there. 

It was finally agreed that Hewett should go to Peoria and 
get the money. Snapp told Hewett he ought to be armed. Hewett 
took a toothpick from his pocket and jokingly replied, "This is 
all the arms I need." 

^Ir. Hewett arrived in Peoria late in the evening, driving 
a small bay mare to a buggy. He put up at a hotel. During 
the evening he inquired of the landlord about what time the bank 
would open in the morning. It is supposed that some of the 
robbers heard this talk and commenced to set up their job for 
procuring the money. 

The next morning Hewett went to the bank to draw his 
money. Three men were around the bank waiting and watching 
for him : Thomas Gitte, whose real name is not known, and who 
was the leader in the matter ; Thomas Brown, and George Williams. 

They watched Hewett draw the money and then followed 
him. Hewett left the bank, got in his buggy, and drove to 
the foot of Kickapoo hill. Here he got out of his buggy and started 


to walk up the liill, driving his mare. Brown and Williams were 
close to him and Gitte was a short distance behind. 

When Ilewett had got about half-way up the hill. Brown 
and Williams attacked him. In the scuffle Ilewett came very near 
being too much for them until one of them hit him on the head 
with a stone, fracturiiag the skull. They then took the money 
and fled. 

It has been said that Brown and Williams helped Hewett 
into his buggy. At any rate Hewett was again in his buggy and 
the bay mare, being very gentle, proceeded on the journey. After 
going some six or seven miles on the road, the mare went up to 
a house and stopped. Here it was found that Hewett was badly 
injured. He was taken in and cared for. He lived about a 
week and died October 18, 1850, at the age of 54 years. 

As soon as it was found out that ^Ir. Hewett was robbed, the 
alarm was given. The people turned out and finally tracked 
Brown and . AVilliams to Springfield, Illinois, where they were 
found in bed at a hotel. They Avere brought back to Peoria, 
tried, convicted and sentenced to be hung. 

The day for their execution was set in December, 1850. but 
Governor Ford issued a stay for fifteen days in order to get Tom 
Gitte from New Orleans to Peoria so that Brown and Williams 
might identify him as being connected with the murder of 

On the day set in December for the hanging, many people 
had assembled in Peoria to witness the sight; and when they 
found the hanging had been put off, there was much dissatis- 
faction. Finally a mob was raised who proceeded to set up the 
gallows which was then framed and near the jail. This they 
had ready about 3 o'clock in the afternoon. 

The mob then got long heavy timbers and battered in the 
front door of the jail ; they then went into the jail hall. Brown 
and Williams were in opposite cells, one on the north, the other 
on the south. They worked hard until 4 o'clock. At that time 
they had only succeeded in getting Williams, but somehow failed 


to get Brown out of his cell. They finally put Williams back in 
his cell, gave up the job and disbanded. 

Again the people assembled in large numbers in Janiuiry, 
1851, to witness the hanging of Brown and Williams. The stage 
had arrived that morning, bringing Tom Gitte, who was identified 
by Brown and Williams as their leader. 

The hanging occurred in the south part of Peoria, then an 
open prairie. Under the bluff the platform was suspended by 
a rope. Brown was very anxious that the rope used in hanging 
him should be so adjusted that the fall would be sure to break his 
neck. After the arrangements were all made. Brown from some 
cause turned his head around, the drop fell, and Brown struggled 
a long time, the rope having turned under his chin. Williams 
seemed to die easy. 

Brown and Williams made a confession which was published 
in pamphlet form in Peoria and met with a ready sale. Gitte 
was convicted and sent to the penitentiary, where he died about 
a year afterwards. 

After Mr. HeWett's death, his body was brought to his home 
in Greenbush township, where his funeral was preached by Ben- 
jamin Applebee, a minister of the Methodist church. One of the 
hymns sung at the funeral was, 
"Plant ye a tree 
That may bloom over me, 
When I am gone, I am gone." 

His remains were laid to rest in the McMahill graveyard. 

Mr. Hewett was born in Waldo county, Maine. He moved 
with his family in 1831 to Licking county, Ohio ; came to Green- 
bush, Warren county, Illinois, in August, 1837, and located on 
section 29, where he resided up to the time of his death. 



The following letter from Hanson H. Hewett was received 
in answer for information concerning the early days in Green- 

Hopkins, Mo., May 11, 1902. 
"Will. L. Snapp — Dear Sir: 

Yours of April 28 received. Have been rather busy or should 
have answered sooner. Your letter dated at Greenbush is the first 
one I recollect receiving from the old township since leaving in 1880. 

Now first in regard to my father's death. Brother Oscar 
and myself were in California at the time. We returned the 
next spring (1851). I enclose you a newspaper slip a Mr. Bates 
sent to Mrs. Hewett by an old acquaintance of hers, a Mr. Barnes, 
a lawyer now living at La Harpe, which will give you some in- 
formation in regard to the affair. He has one or two mistakes — 
one the Christian name and the amount of money. 

My father was born in Waldo county, Maine; also myself 
and brother Oscar. The date of his birth I do not recollect. We 
left Elaine in 1831 ; moved to Licking county, Ohio, and left 
there in the spring of 1837 ; arrived at our old location in the 
early days of August; spent the winter in a little fourteen by 
fifteen foot cabin on the Livingston place ; built and moved into 
the old residence the next summer. I was twelve years of age 
in September, 1837. 

I recollect those early days of nearly sixty-five years ago 
nearly as though it was yesterday. Of the early settlers of my 
recollection on our side of the timber when we came there were 
the Ratekins and Sisson families at the head of the timber some 
five miles west; Moses T. Hand, AVm. McMahill, John Foster, 
John Sargent, P. A. Vaughn, Abraham Johnson. Jacob Bear. I 
think Aaron Jennings, John P. Wood, and the Bond family — 


father and six sons — John C, Benjamin who died in '39 or 
'40, Joel, Barnet, Walter, and Nathan; all men of families except 
Walter who died abont 1S47, and Nathan who moved to Oregon, 
about 1851 or '2, and died there. Walter was the first constable 
that I can recollect. There was your grandfather, Alexander 
Willard. and son William, married with one or two children ; 
and 'Squire Thomas Moulton who was the first justice that I 
can recollect and held the office as long as he would have it. 
The first family to the east was the Goram family, 10 miles away. 

On the north side of the timber, the Snapps and James and 
Roley Simmons families. If there were any others I do not recollect 
them. The Jones and Pierces may possibly have been. 

Peter Cox, some six miles east of Greenbush, was the banker 
of the vicinity. If one wanted five or ten dollars, Peter was the 
man to apply to. I may have forgotten some that lived in the 
vicinity of Greenbush, but I think I did not know of any others. 

]\Iy father and Joseph Sisson were the only Yankees of all 
the number, as I recollect; the balance were all southerners; 
the most of them had moved from Sangamon and Morgan counties. 
Of all the full grown persons that I knew in 1837. only two are 
now living— John Simmons and my old neighbor, P. A. A^aughn. 
Each must be over ninety years old. 

Greenfield was then located, afterwards changed to Green- 
bush. The first postmaster that I recollect was Charles Stice. 
He also kept hotel and saloon, with John Wingate behind the 
bar. Dr. Isabell was the first physician, or possibly Dr. Sovereign. 
Drs. Ragon and Saunders were among the early physicians. A 
doctor of Berwick (have forgotton his name) was the first one 
that I. ever knew to practice in Illinois. 

I recollect your father very well; recollect the day of his 
funeral ; also he, Mr. Doty, and myself covering corn together 
with the hoe. Your mother, as well as the brothers and sisters, 
were schoolmates of mine. 

Your uncle William Willard and Barnet Bond were two of 
the first men that I worked with in Illinois. The work was cutting 
slough grass with the scythe. AVe would burn our oat and wheat 
straw at night as soon as threshed and work hard cutting prairie 


grass, when the straw was nearly or ((uite as good feed as the 
prairie hay; and we kept it up for years. 

Of the Snapp family, I will say something a little farther. 
Your father was a stalwart, stout man, stood some six feet two 
or three inches in height and rather fine looking. Your Uncle 
Robert had the most tenacious memory I think I ever knew. He 
used to say that he could tell the ages of all his brothers and 
sisters and their children. Perhaps not one man in a thousand 
could do it. Your uncle Franklin I used to think one of the 
shreW'dest business men we had. I recollect the first drove of cattle 
I ever saw going to market was one he shipped to New Orleans. 
He drove them, I think, to St. Louis and shipped them from 
there, about the year 1843. R. M. Simmons went with him. 

While I have my hand in I cannot help referring to Major 
John C. Bond. There was one of the best men I ever knew — 
always had a good word and in fine spirits, well read and one 
of the best if not the finest conversationalist I ever knew. My 
father used to say that if he had been educated and turned his 
attention to law he would have made a brilliant lawyer. His 
daughter. Ruby, I always considered one of the brightest intel- 
lectual women of my acquaintance. 

In the early days we had wolves and deer by the hundreds 
and prairie chickens by the thousands. Round Grove (first one 
south of us) used to be a gcod place for our hunters for game 
for many years. 

Well, I will say something of our own family. ]\Iy mother 
died some eleven years ago at Des Moines, Iowa. ^Nly sister Miriam, 
Dr. T. J. Shreve's wife, lives at Des Moines, Iowa. The doctor 
has a very fair practice. The youngest sister, Mrs. Blood, lives 
at Sioux City, Iowa. Brother Oscar died some three years ago 
in Colorado. Leander is farming in northern Nebraska. Of my 
own family, four boys and one girl, Alvin, the oldest, is living 
near here farming and in the dairy business; Lawrence and Ney 
and daughter are unmarried and living at home. Edgar, the 
youngest, is married and lives in New Mexico, at Las Vegas. He 
is president of the State Normal university; salary $2,500 per 
year ; has contract for five years — now on his third year. For 
one of his age he is probably one of the best educators in the West. 

]\Iv health is tolerablv good ; mv weight is one hundred and 


seventy-five poimds. AVill be seventy-seven years old next Sep- 
tember. Tin's would sound somewhat as if I was along in "the 
sear and yellow leaf." 

I have not answered you fully in regard to my father's death. 
The two men, Brown and Williams, accosted him as he was walk- 
ing up the hill by his horse and demanded his money. On his 
refusal, they clinched and they claimed that he was too much 
for them, and one of them seized a stone and struck him on the 
head, fracturing the skull. They then took his money, some 
seventeen hundred dollars, and helped him into his buggy; and 
the bay mare, being gentle, went on some seven miles and then 
stopped at a house. The people took him in and he died there 
after some seven days. From what I could learn no murder that 
ever took place in Illinois created the excitement that this one 
did. The other man that was the instigator of the two doing 
the deed, was sent to the penitentiary for life, and died in about 
one year. 

The money was all recovered except about two hundred 
dollars. Respectfully yours, 

H. H. Hev^'ett. 



About the year 1840, John A. Butler, being thirteen years 
old, concluded he would like to work out for wages. So he hired 
to F. G. Snapp for the sum of twelve and a half cents a day, 
and worked for him up to harvest. He then went to binding 
wheat for David Bay at thirty-seven and a half cents a day. He 
afterwards worked in harvest at the same price for Elder Peter 

At this time John A. was the owner of two calves, having 
purchased one of them from his uncle Harry Butler, paying 
him one dollar and twenty-five cents for it ; the other he got 
of J. E. Heath, giving Mr. Heath an old ax and one dollar and 
twenty-five cents for it. 

About this time Charles Vandiver, who was a Baptist 
preacher living west of Greenfield, took a notion to sell a black 
yearling steer calf he had. So he told his son Absalom to take 
the calf to St. Augustine and sell him to Mattingley. 

Abs. placed a chain around the calf's horns and started with 
him. AVhen he arrived at Greenfield, he stopped on the street 
to rest. John A. Butler saw him, went to him and questioned 
him about the calf, and finally asked Abs. what he would take 
for him. Abs. replied, "Father told me to take him to Mat- 
tingley and sell him for three dollars. ' ' 

John A. said, "I will tell you what I will do. 1 will just 
give you two dollars and a half for the calf and it is all he is 
worth." Abs. was not satisfied to take it, and told John A. he 
would take the three dollars or take the calf to Mattingley. 

About this time Andrew Stice, Henson Martin, and Aaron 
Holeman came up and said, "Trade, boys, trade.'' Stice and 
Martin then proposed that they split the difference. John A. 
consented to this, but Abs. held off for some time. 

The price was finally agreed on at two dollars and seventy-five 
cents. ATds. told John A. that the chain did not go with the calf. 
John A. said he must have the chain. So the matter was left 
to the by-standers who decided that the chain went with the calf. 



In 1836 or '7, iu the village of Greenfield, Jerry Moles and 
his brother engaged in a quarrel and fight with Richard Ore and 
Roley Simmons. This Roley Simmons was a son of William 
Simmons, who was better known as "Old Billy" Simmons. 
Richard Ore was a son-in-law of Wm. Simmons. 

After the fight they separated, but the Moles brothers were 
not satisfied. About this time John Sheffield had come to town 
and was in the store, trading. As he went to pass out at the 
store door, one of the ]\Ioles brothers hit him on the head with a 
stone. j\loles was mistaken in his man ; he thought it was Richard 

Mr. Sheffield was taken to his home; he then resided in a 
cabin a short distance south of "Nigger" creek on lot 10, section 
16. John C. Bond and Thomas Moulton with their wives waded 
through deep snow from Moulton 's house to Sheffield's cabin. 

They found that Sheffield was badly injured. They washed 
the blood from his head and did what they could for him. In the 
meantime a doctor was called. Sheffield died a few days afterwards. 
It is alleged that he was buried in what is called the lost graveyard 
across the creek a short distance west of the Greenbush grave- 

Jerry ]\Ioles was arrested on a warrant issued by Moses T. 
Hand, justice of the peace. At his preliminary trial, Cyrus 
Walker appeared for the prosecution. He was bound over and 
sent to Monmouth jail. The Moles brothers looked very much 
alike and it was difficult for the witnesses to tell which one threw 
the stone that killed Sheffield. Moles was finally acquitted. 



About three miles west of Avon on section 22 in Greenbush 
township, Warren county, Illinois, on the public highway there 
is a covered bridge across a small stream. Up the hill, a short 
distance east of this bridge, AVilliam Lloyd was killed, January 
21, 1862. 

On that day, James Marshall, who had been engaged in making 
.-a sleigh for himself, was going to Israel Spurgeon's to return 
some tools he had borrowed, and had put his shotgun in the sleigh 
thinking he would find some prairie chickens before he returned. 

He met his uncle, William Lloyd, on the hill east of the 
bridge, and stopped to talk with him. Lloyd, thinking he would 
play a joke on James, reached for the shotgun; and as he took 
hold of it, the horses started and the gun was discharged, kdling 
;Mr. Lloyd — the whole charge striking his head and fracturing 
the skull. 

At the place where the covered bridge now stands, in C?tober, 
1885, Thomas Crabb was engaged in building a bridge. H > had 
in his employ Stephen Balderson, who then .lived west of Avon 
in the edge of Warren county. 

They were placing the stringers or girders across the stream, 
and Balderson had placed a prop under one end of a long heavy 
stick of timber; this prop slipped out and the timber fell on 
Balderson, injuring him so badly that he died the same day, in 
the evening. 

In the fall of 1888, Charles West was running a steam thresh- 
ing-machine in Greenbush township. He had finished a job of 
threshing at Simon Sailor's, and on the eleventh day of Septem- 
ber, 1888, he started from Sailor's to Wm. Smith's to thresh for 


him. George Stuckey rode on the engine with West and Harvey 
Gordon; Edward Long and Joseph Balderson rode on the separator. 

When they eanie to the bridge across the stream where the 
covered bridge now stands, West got oft' the engine and examined 
the bridge. Stuckey and Gordon also got off and crossed over 
the bridge. West said the bridge was dangerous and told Long 
and Balderson to get off. He then mounted his engine alone and 
started across. 

When the engine reached the center of the bridge, bridge and 
engine went down with a crash, breaking steam pipes and other por- 
tions of the engine. West was caught between the engine and the 
tank wagon. Pie was immediately enveloped in steam, so that the 
men could scarcely see him. 

They found that one of West's hands was clinched on the 
throttle and the other on the steering-wheel. After removing him 
from the engine, they placed him on bed quilts and carried him 
east, up the hill, to the residence of B. C. Welsh. 

Drs. Clayberg and Weaver were called who attended to his 
injuries. It was found that one leg was broken and his jaw was 
also broken ; he had a bad scalp wound, and also injured by in- 
haling hot steam. This accident occurred about noon, and West 
died that night about eight or nine o'clock. 

It is said of Charles West that he had been a good railroad 
engineer, and was the man that placed the locomotive vane on top 
of the passenger depot of the C, B. & Q. R. R., at Galesburg, 



Recalling the Days When Coal Oil was Manufactured 

Near Avon. 

This reliable scrap of history, by W. H. Rose, is taken from 
The Avon Sentinel: 

Before the discovery of oil wells in Pennsylvania kerosene, or 
coal oil, as it was more commonly called, was manufactured from 
cannel coal in several different places in the United States, and 
was a very profitable business, as the product sold at a fancy price, 
never less than $1.00 per gallon and sometimes as high as $1.50. 
On account of the high price, the oil was but little used and its sale 
was principally confined to the larger cities. 

Veins of cannel coal were considered very valuable and were 
much sought after. In 1857 a large vein of this coal was discovered 
along the creek north of town by some miners from Pennsylvania 
who were working in the neighborhood. It had been seen by many 
persons before, but they supposed it to be slate stone, which it 
much resembles. The news of the discovery spread rapidly, and 
attracted the notice of George R. Clark of Chicago, who formed a 
company of New York and Chicago capitalists, for the manu- 
facture of oil, called the Avon Coal Oil Company. The capital 
stock was $50,000, which was afterwards increased. Mr. Clark, who 
was made superintendent of the company, came here and secured 
mining privileges and options on a large tract of land along the 
creek where the coal was dicovered. 

In the spring of 1858, a mine was opened under the direction 
of James Timmons as superintendent, and the company proceeded 
at once to erect works for the manufacture of oil. The site oc- 
cupied by the works was near the southeast corner of the northeast 
quarter of section 13, in Greenbush township, now known as the 


Saunders farm. The entry to the mine started on the east side of 
the road and extended under the hill on which the Saunders house 
now stands. The entry was made large enough for mules to go in 
and haul out the cars of coal and extended under ground a dis- 
tance of nearly 40 rods. 

The apparatus employed for the manufacture of oil consisted 
of fifteen large cast-iron retorts, each with its cover weighing more 
than four tons. These retorts were set in a straight line on fire 
brick arches with furnaces under each and connected together by 
a large cast-iron pipe. Each retort held about three ton,s of coal, 
the oil being extracted by baking the coal until it became redhot, 
by which time the oil had passed off in smoke and gases, which 
were condensed by being passed through cold water, the oil run- 
ning off in crude form. At first only crude oil was made, which 
was shipped in casks to a refinery in St. Louis. A ton of coal would 
make about 15 or 20 gallons of crude oil and it reciuired about two 
days to work off a batch of coal. 

There was a certain amount of gas that could not be condensed 
and was allowed to escape through an iron pipe, and was kept con- 
stantly burning. At night the flames would light up the sur- 
rounding country. Many small- dwellings had been erected near 
the works for the accommodation of the miners and other workmen ; 
and at night the little village, brilliantly illuminated, presented a 
beautiful picture. 

The coal or coke, after being taken from the retorts, was used 
for firing the ''furnaces, a small amount of bituminous coal being 
mixed with it. 

The second year, a refinery was built near the other works. This 
was a large building, constructed of stone procured from quarries 
near by. After its completion the company did its own refining. 
The burning oil was much the same as the kerosene of the present 

In refining the crude oil many different products were 
obtained ; namely, benzine, gasoline, kerosene, lubricating oil, 
paraf^ine, coal tar, and asphaltum. 

When the works were in full operation, they furnished em- 
ployment for nearly 100 men. 


The works, however, did not prove to be a financial success, 
for about this time oil wells were discovered in Pennsylvania, 
which reduced the price of oil to a figure much less than that for 
which it could be manufactured from coal. 

When it was found by the company that the works could no 
longer be carried on successfully, they were abandoned and a large 
number of debts contracted by the company were left unpaid. The 
works w^ere finally sold at sherifi^'s sale for the benefit of creditors. 
They fell into the hands of the Frost Manufacturing Company of 
Galesburg; and the outfit, comprising many carloads of old iron 
and machinery, was shipped to that city. 

The refinery building was used for a time by David ^Morse 
for a barn, but was finally torn down by Dr. Saunders and the 
stone used for diiferent purposes. Some of them may be seen at 
the present time in a wall along the road in front of the Saunders 

At the same time the Avon works were put in operation, 
similar works were constructed in Peoria county, and with like 

The work of mining the veip of cannel coal necessitated the 
removal of large (|uanities of fire clay underlying the coal. After 
the oil works had been in operation about a year, a large dump of 
clay had accumulated; and a company, composed of James 
McDougal, A. Horrocks, and George R. Clark, was formed for the 
purpose of manufacturing it into fire brick. 

The company erected quite extensive works on the land now 
OAvned by the James Mings estate, consisting of kilns, drying sheds, 
etc., and also installed the machinery necessary for grinding the 
clay. They manufactured a variety of wares, consisting of loco- 
motive fire backs, cupola brick, flue tops and many different shapes 
of fire brick, nearly all of the product being shipped to Chicago. 

But their venture, like the oil w^orks, did not prove a success 
financially. The works finally passed into the hands of Jerome 
Goodspeed, tjien a prominent merchant in Avon. It proved a 
profitable investment for him. He ground the clay and shipped it 
to Chicago by the carload, where it found a ready sale. He con- 
tinued the business until the dump was exhausted. 

W. H. Rose. 




John C. Bond was born in Knox county, Tennessee, December 
25, 1799. He was married to jMiss Polly Grimsley in 1818. To 
them were born five children, namely: 

Siisana, who was born August 10, 1819 ; married Walter John- 
son, November 25, 1836. This was the second marriage in Green- 
bush township. The ceremony was performed by Moses T. Hand, 
justice of the peace. Walter Johnson died December 13. 1876. 
Susana died at the residence of her daughter Arvie Cay ton in 
Youngstown, Illinois, December 26, 1902. 

William G., born in April, 1823; married Mrs. Elizabeth 
Henry, January 25, 1844. She died December 22, 1864, at the age 
of 45 years. 

WiUiam G. Bond enlisted in the army in the war for the 
union in 1862 ; in August of that year was mustered in as captain 
of Co. H, 83rd regiment Illinois Infantry; and was promoted in 
1863 to the office of major, which office he held until he was mus- 
tered out in 1865. 

In December, 1874, he was appointed deputy sheriff of Warren 
county, Illinois. He filled this position for two years and was then 
elected sheriff three times in succession, closing his services as 
sheriff in 1882. 

His last marriage was to Mrs. Mary E. Moore (nee Taylor), 
This marriage occurred at Dayton, Ohio, in 1868. He died 
February 8, 1892. 

Jesse Walton was born in Jackson county, Alabama, Septem- 
ber 7, 1825; was married in Swan township, Warren county, Illi- 
nois, February 12, 1848, to Sarah E. Terry. She was born near 


Belleville in St. Clair county. Illinois, and was a daiigliter of 
Andrew and Xanc}^ (I. (Stice) Terry. She died in Sacramento 
count}', California, January 28, 185-4. Jesse AY. Bond's second 
marriage was to Mrs. Anna C. Smith, October 25, 1863. Her 
maiden name was Anna C. Harrah. She was born in Belmont 
county. Ohio, February 25, 1835, and was a daughter of John N. 
and Helen (Wharton) Harrah, and sister of Charles A. Harrah, 
dealer in farm implements at Bushnell, Illinois. 

In 1850, Jesse W. Bond crossed the plains to California in 
search of gold. After remaining there tw^o years, he returned. 
He afterwards made two more trips to the land of gold where he 
remained until 1862, when he came back to Warren county, 111. 
He died at Monmouth, Illinois, April 25, 1905. 

Ruby L., born June 30, 1827, in Morgan county, Illinois; was 
married three times. Her first husband was Andrew Stice, who 
died in 1848; her second marriage was to Henry Burson; her last 
marriage was to Andrew J. Cayton, February 15, 1873. She Avas 
badly bruised and injured in a wind-storm that occurred in Swan 
township, May 22, 1873. However, she fully recovered from this, 
except the bones that were broken in her arm never knit together. 
She died June 26, 1901. 

Anna, who died in infancy. 

Major John C. Bond's first wife died about the year 1828, 
in jMorgan county, Illinois. His second marriage was to Miss Mary 
Singleton of Morgan county, in May, 1829. To them were born 
three children — Fielding, Mary, and Evaline — all of whom are 

Fielding was a brilliant young man who graduated from 
Lombard University at Galesburg, Illinois, with honors, in 1857, 
and was shortly afterwards admitted to the bar. 

He went to Texas and commenced the practice of law. When 
the war broke out he returned to his father's house in Greenbush. 
He was elected county superintendent of schools in Warren county, 
in 1861. He died April 16, 1862, at the age of 28 years. 

Evaline married Joseph Hartford. She died in Neosha county, 
Kansas, in 1871. 


Mary, wife of John C. Bond, died September 1, 1842, at the 
age of 32 years. She was a woman highly esteemed by those who 
knew her. One night during her last days, she had a dream in 
which the words of this text came to her: "Whatsoever thy hand 
findeth to do, do it with thy might." This dream so disturbed 
her that she arose from her bed. rekindled the fire in the fireplace 
to make a light, procured her Bible and read from Ec. 9, 10 : 
"Whatsoever thy hand findeth to do, do it with thy might; for 
there is no work, nor device, nor knowledge, nor wisdom, in the 
grave, whither thou goest." She closed her Bible and returned to 
bed, and again dreamed of the same text. Rev. Peter Downey was 
called to see her, and by her request he administered baptism. After 
her death he was called to preach her funeral which he did, using 
the same text. 

Major John C. Bond's third marriage was to ]Mrs. Nancy G. 
Terry. Her maiden name was Nancy G. Stice. This marriage 
occurred in January, 1844. Two children were born of this union : 
Canzada S.. wife of ]\Iathew Campbell, now residing in Oklahoma ; 
and Cordelia, the wife of Henry Staat, now residing in Berwick 
township. Warren county, Illinois. 

Mrs. Nancy Green Bond was born in Warren county, Ken- 
tucky, September 23, 1807. She was a daughter of Andrew and 
Nancy (AVilson) Stice. Andrew Stice was born in 1768, and died 
October 18, 1818. They were married in 1789. Mrs. Bond's grand- 
father, Andrew Stice, was married to Katran Collins, in Ger- 
many, and emigrated to North Carolina before the Revolutionary 
war. ]\Irs. Bond's grandfather Wilson and wife came from Scot- 
land before the Revolutionary war and settled in North Carolina. 
He was a captain in the Revolutionary war and fought at the 
battle of Bunker Hill; was wounded in the right knee and made 
a cripple for life. His brother. James Wilson, was one of the 
signers of the Declaration of Independence. 

Mrs. Nancy G. Bond's first marriage was to Andrew Terry, 
May 10, 1827. He died June 28, 1836. To them were born four 
children: George, Sarah, J\Iinta, and one dying in infancy. 

]Mrs. Bond has been blind for over twenty years. She now 
resides with her daughter. Cordelia Staat. 

]\Ia.jor John C. Bond, the subject of this sketch, was a son 
of Jesse W. and Susanna (Crane) Bond, who were married in 



Overton county, Tennessee, in 1798. She was born in Georgia, 
in 1777. Of this union, seven children Avere born : John Crane, 
Benjamin, Joel, Ruby, AYilliam Barnet, Jesse W., and Nathan. 

Jesse W. Bond, the father of Major John C. Bond, moved to 
Jackson county, Alabama, in 1819; from there he went to Morgan 
county, Illinois ; and in 1834, came to Warren county, Illinois, and 
settled on section 18 in Greenbush township, and resided here 
until his death, which occurred February 26, 1840, at the age of 65 
years. His wife was blind for many years before her death. She 
died January 7, 1859, at the age of 85 years. 

Major John C. Bond was commissioner in Warren county in 
an early day, and was appointed with Samuel Hallam and Robert 
Gilmore to divide the county into townships, which they did in 
1853. In 1854, Avhen township organization was adopted, he was 
elected supervisor in Greenbush township and served in that 
capacity for fourteen successive years. He was elected justice of 
the peace in 1835, and held his first court in a smoke-house. He 
married the first couple in 'the township — Moses T. Hand to Mrs. 
Elizabeth Crawford— December 23, 1835. 

Llr. Bond was assessor in Greenbush township for several 
years. He received his title as major in the militia, and was major 
in Col. John Butler's regiment. He was also a soldier in the 
Black Hawk war. 

He purchased from the other heirs the old homestead entered 
by his father on section 18, where he spent his last years. His 
hearing was very defective for several years before his death., 
which occurred May 20, 1882. His funeral services were held in 
the INIethodist church in Greenbush, on Sunday afternoon, May 
21, 1882, and were conducted by Eld. Isaac N. Van Meter, a 
minister of the Old-School Baptist church. 

John C. Bond belonged to the masonic fraternity and was a 
member of the Christian church. In politics he was a democrat. 



Charles Stice was born in North Carolina, February 11, 1795. 
He was a son of Andrew Stice, who was born in Germany. He was 
married March 9, 1815, to Patsey Whitley. She was born March 
2, 1800. 

Mr. Stice moved from North Carolina to Kentucky; then to 
Madison county, Illinois. In 1833, he went to Henderson county, 
and in 1840 he came to Greenfield, now Greenbush, where he kept 
a store and the postoffice, being the first postmaster in the village. 
He also kept hotel. 

To this first union were born the following-named children: 

Sarah G., born August 18, 1817 ; married J. C. Jamison. She 
died August 8, 1879. 

Andrew, born March 13, 1819; married Ruby L. Bond. He 
died April 12, 1848. 

Nancy, born February 27, 1821; died September 9, 1843. 

Tabitha, born December 31, 1822 ; married Hanson H. Hewett. 
He died February 26, 1904. 

Diana and James C, were twins, born August 18, 1825. Diana 
married R. M. Simmons. She died February 1, 1893. James C. 
died November 7, 1875. 

Martha, born January 31, 1828; married Curtis Worden. 

Charles, born September 27, 1829 ; died September 16, 1838. 

George W., born July 8, 1832; married Phebe King, January 
19, 1860. She was born February 14, 1841. He died June 13, 1899. 

Oscar, born January 27, 1837 ; never married. He died in 
Linn county, Missouri, February 7, 1905. 

Patsey, wife of Charles Stice, died February 21, 1847. 

Mr. Stice 's second marriage was in 1851, to ]\Irs. Arixina 
Wellman. Her maiden name was Arixina Andrews. She was 
born in Elizabethtown, Kentucky, in 1825. 


To them wri'c l)nrn the f()lh)\viny-iia]ued children : 

Catherine E., born November 18, 1851; married Alexander 
Campbell, April 25, 1872. She died February 15, 1878. 

David A., born April 2, 1S54; married Myram H. King, 
December 25, 1879. She was born October 30, 1854, and died 
October 15. 1903. 

AA^arren M., born July 2. 1860 ; married Effie AVilson. 

Charles Stice died April 1, 1869. 



S. J. Buzan Avas born in La Rue county, Kentucky, Septem- 
ber 21, 1829. La Rue county was named after Jacob La Rue, 
who was a grandfather of S. J. Buzan. 

Mr. Buzan came with his parents to Monmouth. Illinois, 
in 1831. In 1843, he went to Macomb, Illinois, where he was 
engaged as clerk or salesman in the store of N. P. Tinsley until 
the fall of 1849, when he came to Greenbush and commenced 
business for himself, running a general store the most of the 
time up to 1862, when he went west and settled in Missouri. 

He was married to Mary E. Walker, August 4, 1854. She 
was born September 25, 1834, and was a daughter of Abner and 
Jane (Damron) Walker who kept hotel in Greenbush for many 
years. To Mr. Buzan and wife the following-named children were 
born : 

Harry Arthur, born September 4, 1856 ; died February 27, 

Eva, born March 10, 1860 ; married Galen B. Anderson, 
November 12, 1884. She died February 12, 1885. 

Chauncey, born June 27, 1862. 

Nellie, born September 1, 1866; married Charles E. Spooner, 
October 8, 1902. 

Frank, born October 6, 1870. 

Pearl, born October 11, 1873 ; married Frederic W. Kaster, 
February 10, 1894. 

In politics Mr. Buzan was a republican. 

He died at St. Joseph, Missouri, June 30, 1893. 



John Rubart was born in Kentucky, July 21, 1797. In his 
boyhood days he moved with his parents to Ohio ; afterwards 
moved to Morgan county, Illinois, where he resided for several 
years. He was married to Miss Phebe Arnold, July 31, 1822. 
To them were born the following-named children : 

Ann, Nancy, James F., Enos, Marion, Asenath, and Jacob,— 
all of whom are deceased. His wife Phebe died January 17, 1845. 

Mr. Rubart 's second marriage was to Nancy Lahman, which 
occurred May 24, 1850. She was born October 21, 1827, near 
Mansfield, Penn. They moved to Greenbush township, Warren 
county, Illinois, in 1852, where they purchased a farm on sec- 
tions one and two. To this union were born the following-named 
children : 

Phebe J., who married Ancil F. Griffith, in November, 1879. 

Joseph M., born March 16, 1856 ; married Effie Armstrong, 
March 18, 1887. 

Albert E., born December 28, 1861 ; married Nellie L. Lloyd, 
September 18, 1887. 

Abram L., m^arried Mary Crowley, July 4, 1893. 

Benjamin W., born January 17, 1858. 

John Rubart, the subject of this sketch, was a soldier in 
the Black Hawk war. His son Marion died in the Union army 
during the "War of the Rebellion. 

John Rubart died December 30, 1872. His wife Nancy died 
April 21, 1902. 



\Vm. Pahuer was l)c)ni in Cayuga county, New York, June 
25, 1820. He was a son of Lemuel and Martha (Babcock) 
Palmer, the fifth in decent from Walter Palmer who was born 
in Nottinghamshire, England, in 1585, and emigrated to America 
in 1627. ^ 

Wm. Palmer was married August 20, 1840, to Mary Ellinger. 
She was born in Ohio, June 20, 1823, and ^vas a daughter of 
Joseph and Nancy (Bowman) Ellinger, and sister of Ann Karns, 
Catherine Ury, Barbara Baldwin, Elizabeth Gladish, and Samuel 
L. Ellinger. 

After marriage ]\Ir. Palmer made several moves, living in 
Indiana, Will county, Illinois, near Joliet. and Green county, 
Wisconsin, near Broadhead, from which place his brother-in-law 
Sanuiel L. Ellinger helped him move to Warren county, Illinois, 
between the years of 1845 and 1847. 

In 1856. he moved to Chickasaw county, Iowa, near the small 
town of Jacksonville. His health failing, he moved to Bourbon 
county, Kansas, arriving there August 21, 1865. He then bought 
a claim on the neutral lands of a man named Cavanaugh, located 
near the ^Missouri line, ten miles south of Fort Scott, where his 
wife's sister, Catherine LTry, and family then resided. 

He lived here up to the time of his death, which occurred 
July 12, 1870. His wife died November 13, 1872. They are 
buried side by side in a little country cemetery in Vernon county, 

To William Palmer and wife were born the following-named 
children : 

Samuel Zelotus, born in Indiana, September 18, 1841 ; died 
in Greenbush, Illinois, May 30, 1855. 

Martha Ann Elzora, born in Indiana, February 24, 1845; 
married William Asbury Insley, of Tippecanoe county, Indiana, 
near Appleton, Kansas, October 22, 1872. 


Mary Viola, born May 4, 1847; died at Greenbush. Illinois, 
December 14, 1847. 

Laura Jane, born in Greenbush, Illinois, August 28, 1848; 
married James Harvey Gulick, near Appleton, Bourbon county, 
Kansas, December 6, 1868. 

James Milo, born in Greenbush, Illinois. November 18, 1850; 
married Mary L. Earver, September 27, 1873, near Appleton, 
Kansas, where he now resides. 

Philip Henry, born near Jacksonville, Chickasaw county, Iowa, 
October 6, 1857; died April 1, 1864. 

Barbara Rosetta, born near Jacksonville, Iowa, January 19, 
I860; married George T. Insley, April 20, 1878, near Altoona, 
Wilson county, Kansas. He was a native of Indiana and half- 
brother of Wm. A. Insley. George T. Insley died October 18, 

Josie ^lay, born near Appleton, Kansas, May 1, 1866 ; died 
July 29, 1866. 

Wm. Palmer was a shoemaker by trade. When he was mar- 
ried he had a kit of tools, about twenty-dollars' worth of leather, 
and twenty dollars in money to begin with, and when not other- 
wise employed he worked at his trade. He was in the store with 
S. J. Buzan for a Avhile ; he also kept a small grocery store in 
connection with his shoe-shop when he resided in Greenbush. 

He bought a farm in Iowa and sold half of it to a brother. 
Here he farmed, working at his trade in the winter until he 
moved to Kansas. He lost half of his claim in Kansas; he thought 
this was caused by false swearing. 

He was at one time engaged in the mercantile business at 
Appleton, Kansas, with a man by the name of Stevens. This 
man wanted to keep Avhisky, which did not suit Mr. Palmer. So 
they divided up and Palmer sold his goods to William Emrick, 
son of Jacob Emrick who kept hotel at one time in Greenbush. 

Mr. Palmer was a good-templar. In religion he was a 



Noah Crabill was born in Shenandoah county, Virginia, 
December 26, 1818. He was a son of John and Catherine 
(Hoover) Crabill who died in Ohio. About the year 1830, he 
went with his parents to Champaign county, Ohio ; and in 1850, 
he moved to Hancock county, Illinois. In the fall of 1851, he 
moved to Greenbush, Warren county, Illinois, where he settled 
on section ten; afterwards moved to section fifteen, where he 
died April 16, 1898. 

He was married, in 1841, to Sarah Crabill who was born in 

Shenandoah county, Virginia, February 23, 1824, and was a 

daughter of Abraham and Catherine (Keller) Crabill. To them the 
following-named children were born : 

Catherine, who married Alexander Courson, June 24, 1869. 
She died January 21, 1870, at the age of 27 years. 

Mary Jane, who married William Warren, December 31, 
1868. She died January 3, 1896, at the age of 49 years. 

Edgar, born in Hancock county, Illinois, in 1850. 

James, born August 24, 1853, in Greenbush township. 

Emma, born May 27, 1856 ; died November 5, 1861. 

Aden Keller, born July 6, 1860 ; married Rosa Stombaugh, 
April 3, 1890. She died March 12, 1892, at the age of 22 years. 
His second marriage was to Ida Damitz, December 24, 1893. 

Samuel, born October 10, 1863 ; died September 20, 1866. 

Albert, born December 9, 1866; died May 7, 1867. 

Noah Crabill was by occupation a cooper in his younger days; 
afterwards a farmer. 

In politics he was a democrat. He joined the Christian church 
in 1859, and was a consistent member up to the time of his death. 




John Patterson was born in Edmonson county, Tennessee. 
In 1843, he moved to Warren county, Kentucky; and in 1852, 
he moved from there to Greenbush, Warren county, Illinois. He 
was married to Jane McCoppen in Tennessee. To them the 
following-named children were born : 

William, who married Sarah Magers in Kentucky, was killed 
by the explosion of a boiler at Wm. G. Bond's saw-mill, January 
10, 1862. 

Elizabeth, who married Elza Magers. 

Jane, Avho married Jacob Osborn, the basket-maker. 

Sarah, who died in May, 1879. 

Samuel, who married Amelia Jones. 

John, who married Samantha Jane Simmons. 

James, who married Samantha Acton. 

]\Iary, who was about 16 years old, was burned to death, in 
1862, at the sorghum-mill of Jacob Osborn, in Berwick town- 
ship, her clothing having caught on fire from the furnace where 
they were making molasses. 

John Patterson, the subject of this sketch, was deaf and 
dumb during his entire life. He died in 1884. His wife died 
August 6, 1879. 



Simon Sailer was born in Weisenberg, Germany, December 
8, 1831. He left his native country, and after a voyage of fifty 
days on the water arrived at New York, April 20, 1853. He 
went to the state of Michigan, where he remained until the spring 
of 1854, when he went to Indiana ; in the fall he went to St. 
Louis, and then to New Orleans. 

In the spring of 1855, he walked from St. Louis, Mo., to St. 
Augustine. Illinois, where he went to work on the Northern Cross 
railroad. In the fall of 1856, he moved to Greenbush township, 
in Warren county, Illinois. 

Simon Sailer was married to Matilda Jane Kelly, March 26, 
1863. She was born in Hendricks county, Indiana, July 3, 1839, 
and was a daughter of John and Elizabeth (Weaver) Kelly. To 
them the following-named children Avere born: 

Thomas Jefferson, born April 27, 1864 ; married Alice Lillian 
Hendricks, February 4, 1890. She was born September 22, 1866. 

George John, who' was born August 31, 1866. 

William Henry, born July 24, 1870 ; married Agnes May 
Ryan, January 20, 1892. She was born May 4, 1869. 

Simon Sailer has been a farmer and stockman by occupation; 
has also been extensively engaged in the coal trade, having several 
coal banks on his lands. He filled the office of commissioner of 
highways for several years in the township. He has now retired 
frem active labor and resides at Avon, Illinois. 

In politics he is a democrat. In religion he and his family 
are members of the Catholic church. 



John P. Kramer was born in Hadem, Westphalia. Germany, 
December 20, 1824. After going to the public school and being 
confirmed in the Lutheran church, he learned the tailor trade and 
worked at that occupation in different towns near the Rhine 

In 1855 he started for America in company with his friend, 
Louis Hollenberg. They took a sail-ship from Bremen, and after 
a perilous journey of eight weeks, in which time all the passengers 
suffered from lack of a sufficient supply of food and drink, they 
arrived in New York city. 

The railroad did not extend beyond Galesburg at that time, 
and they came on here; and while in Galesburg they luckily 
came across Amos Seigler who took them with his wagon-load 
of merchandise on to Greenbush. They soon found Mr. Hollen- 
berg 's two brothers, Henry and George, who had come to this 
country a few years previous. 

]Mr. Kramer first found work at his trade in ]\Ionmouth, 
where he staid about a year, and then he went back to Greenbush, 
where he kept a tailor-shop until 1866. 

He was married November 1, 1858, to Helena Meusborn, 
whom he had known in Germany. She was born in Vorm Wald, 
AA^estphalia, Germany, February 13, 1839; and came to America 
in 1858, in company with some friends. In 1878, in company with 
her oldest daughter and others, she visited her old German home. 

In 1866 Mr. and Mrs. Kramer moved out onto their farm, 
two and one-half miles southeast of the village of Greenbush, 
w^here by thrift and industry they built up a comfortable home 
for themselves and children. 

In politics J\Ir. Kramer was a republican. He was an earnest, 
quiet man, fond of his German books and papers. 

He died April 13. 1902. 


The fo]l()^vill!i'-name(l children were born to ]\Ir. and Mrs. 
Kramer : 

Louise Katrina, who married Rev. Karl Lotz, April 23, 1879. 
He was then pastor of the German Lutheran church at Galesburg, 
Illinois. Since then they have lived mostly in Kansas and Mis- 
souri. They have one son (adopted) — Albert. 

Emma, who married Rev. Karl Luecke, pastor of the German 
Lutheran church of Stover, Missouri, April 23, 1890. She died 
March 2. 1892. She was a woman of rare goodness and kindness 
of heart. She left a daughter, Bertha. 

Frederick William, who married Lena Doll, of Bushnell, 
Illinois, and who has always lived in Greenbush township. They 
have three children — Dollie, Esther, and Edith. 

Bertha Marie, who married Ferdinand Schoenheider, of 
Peoria, Illinois, May 24, 1893. They have three children — 
Arnold, Arthur, and Gertrude. 

Wilhelmina Amelia, who married John R. Armes, formerly 
of Nashville, Tennessee, July 27, 1897. He died the following 
November, leaving one son, Eugene. 

Alvena, who married Olof Olson, of Greenbush township, 
March 9, 1903. They live on the old home place. 

Clara Helena, who is living with her mother who moved to 
Peoria, Illinois, in March, 1903. 

Jacob, brother of John Kramer, was born August 6, 1815. 
He came to this country, in 1858, and made his home with his 
brother. He was never married. He took two trips to Germany 
and, in 1896, he decided to go again to pass the remainder of his 
life there. He died in Germany, January 16, 1905, after an 
illness of a few hours, in the very house in which he was born. 
He was quite active and strong to the last and his enjoyment was 
found in walking from his home to visit friends and relatives 
in the villages near by. 



It will be observed that the spelling of the name Kellough 
has been changed to Killongh, the subject of this sketch having 
chosen to return to the original way. 

Charles Henry Killough was born in Cecil county, Mary- 
land, March 16, 1834. He was a son of Richard and Sarah (Max- 
well) Killough. His father and grandfather were born in Lan- 
caster county, Penn. Their ancestors came from Scotland in 

Charles H. Killough came to Illinois w4th his parents in 1837, 
and settled near Brooklyn, in Schuyler county, where he grew 
to manhood. 

In April, 1855, he came to Greenbush township and settled 
on section 28. He cast his first vote in the fall of 1856, for 
John C. Fremont for president ; was a voter in Greenbush town- 
ship for forty years, and during all these years he continued to 
vote the republican ticket and never wavered from the principles 
of his party. 

He was married December 25, 1855, to Margaret Holcomb, 
of near Plymouth, Hancock county, Illinois. She was a daughter 
of Ilosea and Susan (Gilman) Holcomb. To them were born the 
following-named children : 

Martha, born April 25, 1857 ; married John M. Conley, 
December 6, 1877. She died April 12, 1889. 

Sarah, born August 15, 1859, married George E. Young, 
March 30, 1880. 

Lura, born March 8, 1863; married T. H. Eastman, January 
22, 1889. 

Mary, born February 11, 1866; married Joseph L. Stice, 
January 26, 1899. 

Anna, born October 21, 1868; married Nathan INI. AYetzel, 
Januarv 10, 1889. 


Minnie, born April 7, 1873 ; married Harvey D. Ludden, 
March 8, 1898. 

These girls all grew to womanhood in the old home where 
they were born, and some of them were married there. 

In religion Mr. Killough is a Presbyterian, having been a 
member of that church for more than fifty years; and for more 
than twenty-five years has been a ruling elder of his church. 
Soon after coming to Greenbush, he transferred his membership 
to the Prairie City church, where it has since remained. His 
wife is also a member of the same church. 



Peter Honts was born in Botetourt county, Virginia, Sep- 
tember 24, 1815. He was a son of Henry and Catherine (Kauf- 
man) Honts, who were natives of Pennsylvania. Mr, Honts 
worked with his brothers Daniel and Henry about four years in 
a paper-mill that was located about five miles from Fincastle, 

He left Virginia, in 1836, and went to Morgan county, Indiana, 
where he married Martha A. Walker, in 1838. She died March 
28, 1896. 

Peter Honts came to Greenbush in 1847, where he has resided 
the most of the time since. 

To Peter and Martha Honts were born the following-named 
children : 

Lucy A., born November 20, 1840. She married Thomas 
Gunter, in 1860. 

William Henry, born June 17, 1843 ; never married, and re- 
sides in Greenbush. 

Delphia Jane, born November 26, 1845; died of cholera July 
17, 1851. 

John B., born June 24, 1848; married Sarah E. Montgomery. 
She died August 19, 1902. 

Isaac George, born January 6, 1854; married Alba Knight. 

Joel A., born June 24, 1856 ; married Alice Snare. 

Mary Catherine, born September 10, 1859; died April 15, 

George B. M., born November 13, 1864 ; died in infancy. 

Peter Honts was by occupation a wagon-maker and car- 
penter ; he was also engaged a portion of the time in farming. In 
politics he is a democrat. 



Frederic H. Merrill was born in Amherst, Mass., July 25, 
1819. He was a son of Horace and Deborah (Paine) Merrill. 

His boyhood days were spent mostly in his home town, where 
he received superior educational advantages. In early manhood 
he removed with his parents to Orwell, Vermont, and was for 
some years employed in a large mercantile house at what was 
then known as Chipman's Point, on the shore of Lake Cham- 
plain. His parents having, in 1836, moved to Chardon, Geauga 
county, Ohio, he about one year later followed them there, where 
for a time he engaged in business for himself. 

About 1840, he came to Illinois. For several j^ears he was a 
prominent and successful teacher in the district schools of Warren 
and Henderson counties. On October 7, 1847, he was married 
at Denny, Warren county, Illinois, to Lucretia Paine, daughter 
of Charles Henry and Parthenia (Mason) Paine. She was born 
at Freedom, Portage county, Ohio, August 27, 1825. 

About 1849 or '50, he came with his wife and one child, Mary 
Emily (now Mrs. George Albro Johnston), to Greenbush, Illinois, 
and associated himself with Alfred Osborn under the firm name 
of Osborn & Merrill. They for years did a large general mer- 
chandise business, and were widely known. Their store was noted 
for fair-dealing, and the word of Frederic H. Merrill was always 
as good as his bond. He was interested in everything calculated 
to better the condition of his home town and the welfare of his 

In his religious affiliations he was a Congregational ist. but 
his views were broad and charitable. 

There were born to them eleven children, namely : 

Mary Emily, born July 4, 1848 ; married George Albro Johns- 
ton, April 26, 1868. 

Charles Henry, born January 11, 1850. 

Effie ]\Iaria, born November 19, 1853. 


Frederic Horace, born April 20, 1860; married Mary Alice 
Belding, June 2, 1892. He is now engaged in the grocery and 
hardware trade at Avon, Illinois. 

Giles Edward, born December 13, 1862 ; married Catherine 
M. Snyder, May 28, 1885. He is extensively engaged in the 
poultry and egg business at Avon, Illinois, and is a member of the 
firm of Merrill Brothers, doing a general merchandise business at 
Greenbush, Illinois. 

Frank, born October 6, 1867 ; married Pearl Meachum, 
December 14, 1893. He, in company with his brother, Giles E., is 
engaged in the mercantile business at Greenbush, Illinois. 

Arthur, born November 20, 1869; married Elizabeth Bliss, 
July 18, 1894. After receiving a divorce from her, he married 
Catherine Robey, October 12, 1898. She was a daughter cf T. A. 
and Emma (Baldwin) Robey. He was appointed postmaster at 
Avon, Illinois, July 15, 1897, which office he still holds. He is 
a strong advocate of the rural route system, having obtained three 
routes as early as November 1, 1900. 

Cora Eliza, born April 17, 1865 ; died May 10, 1879. 

Three children died in infancy. 

Mr. Merrill and his family removed to Avon, Illinois, in the 

fall of 1863, where he continued in the same line of business. He 

was for several years postmaster at Avon ; also school director. In 
his political belief he was a republican. 

After years of a biLsy life he transferred his store interest to 
his tw^o sons, Giles E. and Fredric H. Merrill. He died in Avon, 
Illinois, August 14, 1892. His wife followed him to the better 
world April 28, 1897. Both have left behind them names that will 
ever be honored and cherished by all who knew them. 



Bethuel Merris was born in the state of Ohio, July 9, 1826. 
He was a son of John B. and Eliza Merris, both natives of Ohio. 
He came to Scott county, Illinois, about the year 1845. He was 
married at Naples, Illinois, to Mary Crawford, July 5, 1846. She 
was born in Ohio, August 7, 1825. 

They moved to Greenbush, AVarren county, Illinois, in the fall 
of 1852, where they resided up to the time of their death. 

To them were born the following-named children : 

Meribah, born February 6, 1848; married Robert Barbour, 
February 16, 1861. 

John B., born October 23, 1849. 

Almira, born March 21, 1652; married James Garland Ray, 
December 3, 1871. 

Eliza Ellen, born January 29, 1855; married Joshua Coates 
Ray, April 2, 1874. 

Flora A., born January 5, 1859. 

Melissa, born February 2, 1867. 

Mr. Merris was by occupation a farmer. In politics he was a 
democrat. In religion he and his wife were members of the 
Christian church. He died March 7, 1891 ; his wife died December 
24. 1898. 


E. W. Woods was born in Sullivan, Madison county. New 
York, September 16, 1818. He was a son of Asa and Mary 
(Wilford) Woods and a grandscn of Samuel and Phebe (Holten) 
Woods. His maternal grandparents were John and Anna (Black- 
stone) Wilford, both natives of England. 

]\Ir. Woods came with his father from New York to what is 
now known as Avon, in Fulton county, Illinois, in 1836. He says 
when they arrived they found David Young and James Simmons 
digging a well for Ira Woods. 

Mr. Woods, the subject of this sketch, was married in Green- 
bush township, Warren county, Illinois, to Rhoda M. Butler, 
January 6, 1853. She was born in Gallia county, Ohio, January 6, 
1830, and was a daughter of Col. John and Mary (Adney) Butler. 

To Mr and Mrs. Woods were born the following-named 
children : 

Mary, born October 25, 1853 ; died October 4, 1854. 

Ezra B., born November 27, 1854; married Carrie Lovejoy, 
who died March 4, 1897. His second marriage was to Kate Lester, 
October 14, 1899. 

Willis R., born March 9, 1857; married Priscilla Van Velsor, 
December 25, 1885. 

Amelia A., born March 13, 1859; married John E. Meitchel, 
April 4, 1877. She died March 8, 1892. 

Olevia E., born February 22, 1861. 

John A., born March 7, 1863 ; married Dora Simmons, August 
14, 1886. 

Edwin S., born March 19, 1865; married Nettie Austin, 
January 19, 1887. 

Sarah B., born May 4, 1867 ; married Artie Lincoln, August 26, 

Minnie C, born November 11, 1869 ; married John E. Meitchel, 
July 8, 1894. 

By occupation Mr. Woods is a farmer. In his younger days 
he worked some at the carpenter trade ; he also made the first wood- 
work of a wagon in the country. This wagon was ironed by his 
cousin and traded to McMahon who then kept store in Greenbush. 
Politically Mr. Woods votes the republican ticket. 



Isaac Cunningham was born in Kentucky, July 10, 1815. In 
his boyhood days he went to the state of Indiana, where in 1838, he 
was married to Miss Sarah James. 

He came to Greenbush, Illinois, in 1811, and moved to Fulton 
county, Illinois, in 1850; was in the mercantile business at Avon 
for fifteen years. He filled the of^ces of supervisor, collector, and 
constable, and was at the time of his death deputy sheriff of Fulton 
county. He died of heart disease and seemed to be as well as usual 
the day before his death, which occurred at Avon, Illinois, April 19, 
1872. He had no children. In politics he was a democrat. 


Thomas Carroll was born in County Latram, Ireland, in 1832. 
He left Ireland in his younger days in company with his uncle 
John Fay and wife. After a voyage of fifty-two days on the water, 
they arrived at Quebec, Canada, where he remained with his uncle 
until 1842, when he went to Bakersfield, Vermont, where he learned 
the blacksmith trade. He then went to Massachusetts, where he 
worked seven years in the carriage shops of Charles Rice. 

He was married March 13, 1853, to Miss Elizabeth Raper ; and 
in June of that year they went to Monmouth, Illinois. Mr Carroll 
then ran a peddling-wagon over the prairies for one year. He then 
went to Ellisville, Illinois, on the Spoon river, where he and his wife 
first engaged in housekeeping. Caroline W., their first child, was 
born and died here. 

Their next move was to Greenbush, Illinois, — the date they do 
not remember. Mr. Carroll then went to work for Cornelius Hanks 
and Alexander ]\IcGrew. Seven children were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Carroll, four of whom are now living; three of them are married. 

Mr. Carroll and wife reside at Winfield, Henry county. Iowa. 



Charles C. Merrill was born iu Orwell, Vermont, September 10, 
1833. He was a son of Horace and Deborah (Paine) Merrill. His 
boyhood days were mostly spent in Chardon, Ohio, to which place 
his parents had removed in 1836. In the fall of 1853, he came to 
Greenbnsh, Illinois, where his brother Frederic H. Merrill resided. 
During most of the year of 1854, he was employed in the dry 
goods and general store of McKinney & Co., at Oquawka, Illinois. 

August 27, 1855, at North Bloomfield, Ohio, he was married to 
Cornelia Converse Osborn, daughter of Leonard and Amanda 
(Smith) Osborn. The same year he became a partner in the firm 
of Osborn & Merrill at Greenbush, Illinois, changing the firm name 
to Merrill, Osborn & Merrill. 

In 1860, having withdrawn from the business, he removed to 
Galesburg, Illinois, where he still resides. For more than 35 years 
he was a clothing merchant in Galesburg. In religious belief he 
is a Methodist ; politically, a republican. They had no children. 
Cornelia, wife of C. C. Merrill, died October 28, 1904. She was a 
working member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and was noted 
for her Christian character. 



David S. Link was born in Augusta county, Virginia, June 5, 
1832. He was a son of John and Susan (Shingler) Link. His 
boyhood days were spent on a farm. After arriving at manhood he 
engaged in teaming from Stanton to Winchester, Va. He was 
married July 4, 1852, to Elizabeth Ann Quick. She was a daugh- 
ter of Tumis and Jane (Adams) Quick. 

In September, 1853, Mr. Link and wife removed from Virginia 
to Delaware county, Ohio; and in September, 1864, they moved to 
Fulton county, Illinois. In 1867, they removed to Greenbush town- 
ship, Warren county, Illinois, where they purchased sixty-five acres 
of land of Thomas Cunningham on section 16 ; and resided there 
until 1887, when they moved to Avon, Illinois, where his wife 
Elizabeth died August 24, 1894. 

To ^Ir. and Mrs. Link were born the following-named children : 

Susan Jane, born March 25, 1855 ; married Arthur Lee AVin- 
gate, December 25, 1873. 

Sarah Catherine, born February 10, 1857 ; married Alvin 
Hewett, July 4, 1878. 

Elizabeth ^Margaret, born February 14, 1859 ; married James 
Coons, December 14, 1877. 

William Daniel, born November 27, 1860 ; married Carrie L. 
Weaver, November 8, 1883. He died February 26, 1896. 

Mary Emma, born March 11, 1862 ; died August 26, 1874. 

Eliza Ann, born ]\Iarch 18, 1864 ; married David B. Simmons, 
January 1, 1882. 

Jennetta Virginia, born January 21, 1867 ; married Frank 
Hathaway, I\Iarch 13, 1890. 

David Delbert, born February 26, 1869 ; married Mary L. 
Simmons, July 1, 1890. 

Ora Addie, born February 21, 1871 ; married Charles W. 
Johnson. February 26, 1889. 



Zenanna Auis, born April 4, 1873 ; died Ma.y 7, 1874. 

John Henry, born July 3, 1875 ; died July 21, 1876. 

Mr. Link's second marriage was to Alvernia A. Mason, May 4, 
1896. She was born in Frederick county, Va., February 25, 1854. 

David S. Link by occupation has been a farmer. In politics he 
is a democrat. In religion he has been a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church for many years. His first wife was a consistent 
member of this church for many years before her death. His 
present wife is also a member of the same church. They now 
reside at Avon, Illinois. 



Roswell Rose was born in Oneida county, New York, February 
2, 1801. His father was Phineas Rose, a Revolutionary soldier. He 
attended school but very little, but was educated by his mother, 
who was a scholarly woman. He taught school for a number of 
years when a young man. He afterward learned the carpenter's 
trade and worked for a time in the city of Buffalo, New York. 

In 1836, he came to Chicago with his family, consisting then 
of a wife and four children, and worked there at his trade for 
about a year, when he pre-empted a piece of land in Lake county, 
Illinois, about twenty miles northwest of Chicago, the land in that 
locality having but recently come into market. He improved this 
land and lived there about six years, when he moved to Waukegan,, 
Illinois, a small village, then just starting, where he worked at 
carpenter work and millwrighting, being interested in building the 
first mill erected in that place. 

He came to Fulton and Warren counties in the summer of 1850, 
and purchased a half-interest in a mill property, situated near 
where Swan creek crosses the Meridian line. This property had 
been partially improved some time before by John and Riverus 
Woods. A sawmill was already running and a frame put up for a 

Mr. Rose returned to Waukegan in the fall of that year and 
moved his family, locating on the northeast quarter of section 13, 
in Greenbush township, now known as the Saunders farm. Here he 
bought a log house and some other small improvements. The house 
was built by Loren Woods in 1838. He resided in this house about 
three years, when he erected a frame dwelling on the south side 
of the creek and near the mill, where he resided until his death. 

Mr. Rose, with his partner, Riverus Woods, put the grist-mill 
in operation in 1851. This mill did quite a large business for a 
number of years, and was a great accommodation to the surround- 
ing country, especially Greenbush township and farther west, 
many customers coming there from a distance of 25 or 30 miles, 



aud sometimes they were obliged to wait two or three days to get 
their grist ground. 

AVheu this mill was built Swan creek furnished sufficient water 
to run the mill nearly the whole year, but as the country became 
improved, the water became less and steam power was added. 

This mill proved to be a death trap for Mr. Rose. On Sep- 
tember 5. 1867, he was caught in a band and instantly killed. 
His partner, Riverus Woods, had died the year before at the age 
of 62 years. 

" At the time of Mr. Rose's death his son, W. H. Rose, was 
Interested with him in the business and carried it on for some 
time after. 

Roswell Rose was married to Elizabeth Ingraham in Oneida 
■county. New York. Six children were born to them, namely : Har- 
riet, Havilah R., Silas N., and Cyrus (twin brothers), William H., 
and Birney. 

Elizabeth, wife of R. Rose, died in Avon, Illinois, November 
29, 1870. at the age of 66 years, surviving her husband a little 
more than three years. 

Harriet (Rose) Nichols died near Santa Ana, California, Sep- 
tember 21, 1898, at the age of 71 years. 

Havilah R. Rose died in Avon, 111., August 11, 1900, at the 
age of 70 years. 

Silas N. Rose died at Memphis, Mo., September 22, 1898, at 
the age of 66 years. His twin brother, Cyrus, died at the age 
of 8 years, in Lake county, Illinois. 

Birney Rose died in Avon, Illinois, February 2, 1877, at the 
age of 31 years. 

W. H. Rose, the only surviving member of the family, is now 
a resident of Avon, Illinois. 



Philip Kai'iis was boru in Baden, Germany, October 22, 1815. 
His father died when he was about two years old, leaving two 
sons, Philip and John, with their mother. 

AVhen Philip was twelve years old, his cousin Philip Sotman 
and family took passage on a vessel for America. Mr. Sotman 
asked Philip's mother if he could go with them to the vessel and 
see them oft'. To this she consented, thinking Philip would return 
home the next day. 

After arriving on board the vessel, they quietly stowed Philip 
aAvay in the hold, where he was found three or four days after 
they had started. He was brought up on deck where he created 
a considerable stir among the passengers and crew ; but Philip 
made himself useful on board, was well liked and enjoyed the trip. 

In 1828, he went to Lancaster, Ohio, where he was married to 
Miss Nancy Ann Ellinger, August 20, 1837. She was born Novem- 
ber 15, 1817. This marriage occurred before breakfast as there 
was a camp meeting in the nighborhood at the time and they 
wished to attend that day. 

In 1842, they moved to Morgan county, Indiana, near Mar- 
tinsville, where Mr. Karns was engaged in the cooper trade and 
in the business of teaming. In 1846, he moved with his family 
to Greenbush, Warren county, Illinois. 

. To ]\Ir. Karns and wife the following-named children were 
born : 

Catherine, born July 3, 1839 ; married Eiley Adams. 

Samuel L., born September 19, 1840; married Edwina C. Bond. 
He died November 1, 1874. 

Margaret Ann, born October 27, 1842 ; married George J. 

John Henry, born August 14, 1845 ; nuirried Clara Neer. He 
died March 5, 1877. 

I\Iary Minerva, born February 23, 1848 ; died March 11, 1864. 


Philip Jacob, born Auirnst 19. 1S54: married Aramanta 

Hiildah Jane, born Anirust i!o. 1S51; married Dallas Clark. 
She diet! February 7. 1S73. 

^Villiam Kiley. born March 24. 1S57 : married Birdie Williams. 

Josiah C born November 20. 1S59; died May S. 1S62. 

Joseph E., born January 5. 1863: married Laura Harker. 

Philip Karns was by occupation a cooper; he was also eu- 
gagred in teaming, and took great pride in his hoi-ses. He hauled 
goods for the merchants in Greenbusli for many yeai-s from 
Oquawka. Burlington, Peoria, and other places. 

During the visitation of cholera in Greenbush. in 1S51. he 
was especially helpful, hauling oflt the dead, assisting in the burials. 
and doing ever\*thing in his power to relieve the suffering. 

His last yeai's were spent on his farm north of Greenbush. 
in Berwick township. whei*e he was engaged in farming and stock- 
raising. He died March 10, 1898. 



llcnzic Diinicillc wjis boi'ii in I'.ciirlxni coutily, lv(Mit,u(;ky, 
April 1(), 1824. He was a son of Ilcn/ic and Elizabeth (Congle- 
ton) Dai'iu'illo, who were natives oT Virginia and were of French 
and Irish descent, llen/ie, the Father of llie snhject of this sketch, 
was l)oi'n Jnly 8, 1789. lie died in Kentucky, AuKUst 18, 1824. 
His wife Elizabeth was born December 4, 1790, and died in Adams 
county, Illinois, July 8, 1834. 

To them were born Ihe following-named children: 

Fielding M., born August 28, 1812; died in California. 

Lorinda, born November 11, 1813 ; died in Kentncky. 

John W. (better known as Jack Darneill(-j, born June 15, 
1815. He was the first postmaster at Walnut Grove, Illinois, 
where he died at the residence of David P>. Keith about the year 

Harvey, born August 24, 1810; married Emily Vaughn, 
November 7, 1839. She was a sisler of P. A. Vaughn. Harvey 
entered the west half of the northeast (|narter and the east half 
of the northwest quarter of section Four, in (ireenbush township, 
Warren county, Illinois. He received a i)atent for it dated June 
1, 1848, signed by James K. Polk, presichmt. His wife having 
died, he moved to Iowa, where he was married to Miss Emaline 
Murry. He spent his last years in Iowa. 

Mary, born February 13, 1820; married Paton A. Vaughn, 
July 18, 1834. She died in December, 1898. 

Thomas, born March 3, 1822; married Mrs. Lucinda Snapp, 
whose maiden name was Lucinda Willard. He died May 24, 1870. 
She died January 21, 1899. 

Henzie, the subject of this sketch, and the only surviving 
member of this family, is now living at Bushnell, Illinois. He 
came with his mother and family from Kentucky to Adams county, 
Illinois, in February, 1832. His mother purchased a farm in 
Adams county, about one and a half miles west of Columbus, 
Here he lived with his mothei- and worked on the Fai-m. After 


the death of his mother, he still remained on the farm for some 
time with his brother Fielding, they doing their own cooking and 

In 1841, he commenced to learn the blacksmith trade with 
James and John Mackey at Columbus, Illinois. Here he worked 
about one year, then went to Missouri, where he worked at his 

In 1843, he returned to Adams county, Illinois, and con- 
tinued to work at blacksmithing until 1844, when he went to 
Greenbush, Warren county, Illinois, and lived with his brother- 
in-law, Paton A. Vaughn, until he was married. 

He was married to Jane Willard, January 7, 1847. She 
was born August 31, 1826, and was a daughter of Alexander and 
Lucy (Lile) Willard. To them were born the following-named 
children : 

Georgetta, born August 27, 1849 ; married James Matthews, 
February 17, 1870. He died October 24, 1901. 

Fielding M., born July 8, 1858; died January 24, 1904. 

Mary Belle, born March 13, 1864 ; now resides with her father 
in Bushnell, Illinois. 

Mr. Darneille has been a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
church for many years. His wife was also a member of the same 
church. She died September 27, 1905. In politics Mr. Darneille 
is a republican. 



John A. F. Coll was born in Germany, October 28, 1820. He 
emigrated to America in the spring of 1844, but returned to 
Germany in the fall of the same year, where he was married to 
Emma Maria Bruckner, May 8, 1846. 

Mr. Coll and wife came to America in 1847, landing at New 
York, where they resided about one year. From New York they 
moved to Chicago, from there to Jacksonville, Illinois. 

In 1852, they came to Greenbush, Warren county, Illinois, 
and bought a farm of John P. Wood on section 19, where they 
resided up to the time of their death. One child was born to this 
union, which died in infancy. 

Mr. Coll died December 15, 1875. His wife died I\Iay 24, 
1880. In politics he was a republican. 



Col. John Butler was born in Greenbrier county, Virginia, 
July '26, 1802. He moved with his parents to Gallia county, Ohio, 
where on April 25, 1822, he was married to Mary Adney. She was 
born December 15, 1805, and was a daughter of John Adney, a 
native of Virginia. 

Col. John Butler removed with his family to Greenbush, 
"Warren county, Hlinois, arriving October 18, 1839. Here he 
rented a schoolhouse and moved into it. This house stood a little 
southwest of the village and near the graveyard. In the spring 
of 1840, he removed to a house belonging to Thomas Rogers in 
the northwest part of the village, then called Greenfield. 

He afterwards bought 80 acres of land east of the village on 
section four. Here he resided and was engaged in farming and 
raising stock up to 1870, when he removed to Avon, Illinois. He 
was elected colonel in the 84th Illinois militia, July 26, 1844. 

To Col. John Butler and wife were born the following-named 
children : 

Mary, born May 1, 1823 ; died in infancy. 

Clara Marinda, born April 29, 1824; died in infancy. 

Vincent Washington, born September 20, 1825; married 
Rachael Swain, November 22, 1849. She died June 18, 1860. His 
second marriage was to Harriet Williams. She died February 7, 
1905. Vincent was assessor in Greenbush township for many 
years ; was also commissioner of highways and justice of the peace, 
and a very prominent member of the Christian church. He died 
April 7, 1900. 

John Adney, born January 6, 1827; married Maria Jane 
Snapp, November 22, 1849. She was born in Sangamon county, 
Illinois, October 9, 1833, and was a daughter of Franklin and 
Adeline (Morse) Snapp. 

Rhoda, born January 6, 1830; married Ebenezer Wilford 
Woods, January 6, 1853. 



Tacy, born February 12, 1832; married Moses Burges Threl- 
keld. He died June 17, 1872. She was afterwards married to 
Andrew Goforth, who died in Iowa. Tacy died near Chariton, 
Iowa, in August, 1904. 

William, born January 21, 1844 ; died in 1847. 

Thomas A., born November 9, 1846 ; married Julia Harman. 
He died in Oklahoma, March 4, 1899. 

Mary Helen, born August 9, 1850 ; married William Steele. 
She died May 23, 1898. 

Col. John Butler was run over by a team and wagon and so 
badly injured that he died about three days afterwards, the date 
of his death being May 18, 1881. His wife Mary died November 
12, 1875. 






David Young was born in Virginia, near the Tennessee line, 
in 1798. He came to Greenbush, Illinois, in 1834. He was mar- 
ried to Sarah Simmons, April 19, 1835. She was a daughter of 
William Simmons, who was a brother of Rowland and James 
Simmons, who came to Greenbush in an early day. To David 
Young and wife were born the following-named children : 

George W., born June 30, 1836; married Mary Massengale. 

Abigail, born August 25, 1837 ; married Samuel Walker. She 
died in 1885. 

William, born March 1, 1839 ; married Esther Simmons. 

Cosby, born February 18, 1841 ; married Andrew Wigert, 
December 14, 1862. He was born June 24, 1833. 

Easter, born January 20, 1843 ; married Wm. Clark Griffin. 
She died in Kansas, July 21, 1892. 

James K. P., born January 30, 1845; married Mrs. Cynthia 
A. Purcell, in November, 1876. 

David Young was a farmer by occupation; did some team- 
ing; was constable at one time; also kept hotel in the village. 
Politically he was a democrat. In religion he was a member of 
the Christian church. He died July 4, 1868. His wife was a 
devoted member of the Methodist Episcopal church. She died 
in 1885. 



John Simmons was born near Bowling Green, Kentucky, 
May 24, 1814. He was a son of George and Frances (Herring- 
ton) Simmons. He came with his parents to Morgan county, 
Illinois, in 1833. About two years later he came to Greenbush, 
in Warren county. 

He was married October 25, 1838, to Miss Ruth Jared. She 
was born April 16, 1817 ; and died March 23, 1902. 

To John Simmons and wife the following-named children 
were born : 

Eliza, born July 27, 1839 ; married James Pittman, Decem- 
ber 25, 1855. 

Andrew, born July 26, 1841 ; married Susan Bond. His 
second marriage was to Belle Traverse. He died September 11, 

Louisa, born June 6, 1843 ; married Thomas Carr. She died 
November 22, 1899. Thomas Carr was born August 22, 1837, 
and died August 18, 1904. 

Caroline, born August 24, 1846 ; married John F. Young. 
She died April 8, 1876. 

Mary A., born July 30, 1848 ; married Francis M. Jennings, 
in September, 1865. 

Catherine, born August 23, 1850; married W. H. Carr, 
December 24, 1868. He was born February 25, 1845. They reside 
at Roseville, Illinois. 

John F., born July 21, 1853 ; married Sarah Simmons. His 
second marriage was to Alice Peterson. 

Harriet, born February 6, 1855 ; inarried Riley Simmons. 
He was a son of James II. and Lucinda (Moulton) Simmons. They 
reside at Balco, Missouri. 

William Riley, born May 9, 1857 ; married Mary Jane Day. 

James Ed., born April 20, 1864; married Lucy Claycomb. 


John Simmons was a hardy pioneer. Settling here in an early 
day, he found plenty of wild game. His greatest enjoyment 
was in a deer chase. He generally kept a pack of trained hounds, 
and with his old long rifle he rarely returned home from a hunt 
without one or two deer. During the spring and summer he 
engaged in farming ; during the fall and winter he ran a horse- 
poAver threshing machine and probably did more threshing than 
any other man in the earlier days. 

In politics he was a democrat. During his last days he be- 
came a believer in the religion of the Lord Jesus Christ and 
died in the faith, at the home of his daughter, Mrs. F. M. Jen- 
nings, June 28, 1904. 



Levi Lincoln was born in Virgil, Cortland county, New York, 
November 4, 1825. In 1851, he left his native state and went to 
Iowa, where he remained for one year. In 1852, he came to 
Greenbush, "Warren county, Illinois, where he worked at the 
carpenter trade for five years. 

He was united in marriage with Susan Alabama Nance, 
December 3, 1857. She was born April 3, 1839, and was a 
daughter of John AV. and Nancy (Simmons) Nance. For two 
years after their marriage they resided near Roseville, Illinois. In 
the spring of 1859, they removed to their farm in Berwick town- 
ship, where they resided until 1885. The next eight years were 
spent in the suburbs of Avon, Illinois. 

In 1893, Mr. Lincoln purchased a home on Main street in 
Avon, where he resided until his death, Avhich occurred March 30, 

To Levi Lincoln and wife were born the following-named 
children : 

Dora E.. born January 31, 1859; married J. E. Byram, 
October 13, 1881. 

Alva, born February 25, 1861 ; died April 27, 1861. 

Edwin, born Jul}" 19, 1862 ; married Nannie A. Fulton, 
January 1, 1885. 

Nela, born February 25, 1865 ; married L. Grace Johnson, Sep- 
tember 26, 1889. 

Orpha, born May 24, 1868 ; died February 16, 1869. 

Myrtle, born December 22, 1869. 

Emma, born :\Iay 23, 1872. 

Mr. Lincoln was a man of correct habits. As a carpenter, he 
was a good workman -, as a farmer, he kept everything in order. He 
was supervisor from Greenbush in 1855, and was assessor in Ber- 
wick. In religion, he was a member of the Universalist church. 



Daniel Armsworthy was born in Raleigh, North Carolina, April 
9, 1804, where he grew to manhood. He learned the hatter's 
trade and engaged in the manufacture of wool and fur hats, 
and traveled over the states of North Carolina, South Carolina, 
and Georgia with a line of samples and sold the products of 
his shop. He was married April 15, 1827, to Elizabeth 
Crump ton. 

In 1840, he moved from North Carolina to Tennessee ; in 
1844, he moved from Tennessee to Stoddard county, Missouri. 
In 1846, he moved to Greenbush, Warren county, Illinois, and 
settled in the village, where he resided until 1859, when he moved 
on a farm ten miles west of Greenbush. 

On the twelfth day of September, 1866, he moved to Kansas 
and bought claims with some improvements on M^hat was then 
known as the Neutral Lands. He afterwards bought the land 
from the railroad company. His wife died October 5, 1868. 

]\Ir. Armsworthy continued to live on the farm up to the 
time of his death, which occurred September 22, 1880. In 
politics he was a whig up to 1856 ; afterwards a democrat. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Armsworthy were born the following-named 
children : 

Levi, who went to Oregon in the early '50 's, where he was 
married and still resides, 

Martha L., who married Morgan Franks, in 1855 ; now re- 
sides with her daughter in Kansas. 

Sarah Anna; never married, and is now living Avith her 
brother Levi in Oregon, where she went shortly after the death 
of her father. 

Miles; died in Greenbush at the age of fifteen years. 

William W., born December 9, 1841, near IMemphis, Ten- 
nessee; resided with his parents until their death. He received 




his education in Greenbnsh; taught school during the winter 
and farmed during the summer. 

He has held several responsible offices in Illinois and Kansas. 
He was married July 2, 1876, to Mary J. Brown. At that time he 
was living in Girard, Kansas, and was engaged in the mercan- 
tile business. In 1877 he moved back to the farm near Arcadia, 

December 1, 1879, he took charge of a general store at Coal- 
vale for the Keith and Henry Coal Company, afterwards changed 
to the Keith and Perry Coal Company and later to the Central 
Coal and Coke Company, which now has a capital of $7,500,000. 
They sold out their business at Coalvale, in September, 1880, 
and went to Rich Hill, Missouri, and opened coal works and 

William W. Armsworthy went to Rich Hill, November 1, 
1880, and took charge of the business for the coal company as 
manager, in which capacity he continued until August 1, 1897. 
His health failing him, he gave up the position, but remained 
living in Rich Hill until June 4, 1902, when he moved back to 
the farm, two and one-half miles west of Arcadia, Crawford 
county, Kansas, where he now resides. They have four children : 

Frank, who was born July 25, 1877, is married and has two 
children ; he now resides in St. Louis, IMissouri. 

Marcalina, born February 25, 1879. 

Myrtle, born August 9, 1881. 

Mary J., born June 4, 1890. These girls are living at home 
with their parents. 



John Woods was born in Sullivan, Madison county. New York, 
March 11, 1824. He was a son of Asa and Mary (Wilford) Woods. 
Asa was born in New York, January 2, 1792; and died August 4, 
1855. His wife Mary was born in Connecticut, May 1, 1793 ; and 
died March 27, 1868. Samuel Woods, the father of Asa and grand- 
father of John Woods, came from Scotland after having married 
an English wife. 

Asa Woods, his wife and seven children — five boys and two 
girls — came to Illinois by wagon, in 1836, being six weeks on the 
way, and were the second family to locate in the vicinity in which 
they settled. John Woods at that time was only twelve years of 
age. He drove one of the teams a good portion of the way. 

John Woods was married to Lucy A. Chatterton, August 6, 
1848. She was born in Virgil, Cortland county. New York, March 5, 
1819, and was a daughter of Cornelius and Lucy (Ball) Chatterton, 
both natives of Virgil, Cortland county, New York. Mrs. Woods 
came with her parents to Illinois, in 1836. 

To John Woods and wife were born the following-named chil- 

Addie, born October 10, 1849 ; now resides in Avon, Illinois. 

•Lewis Seldon, born February 2, 1851 ; married Elizabeth Yeo- 
man, October 13, 1880. He died May 13, 1881. 

Mary Lunette, born September 21, 1856 ; married Joseph Ross, 
September 15, 1880. She died June 1, 1894. 

Frank C, born March 8, 1858 ; married Hattie A. Holden, 
October 10, 1889. 

John Woods, the subject of this sketch, settled in Greenbush 
township, in 1851. He was a blacksmith, having commenced to 
learn the trade when he was 14 years old. He was also a farmer and 
stockraiser, in which business he was engaged for about thirty-eight 
years on his farm in Greenbush township, after which he removed 
to Avon, Illinois, where he was engaged as president of the Milling 
and Manufacturing company until the time of his death, August 4, 
1894, resulting from cholera morbus. His wife, Lucy A., died 
March 29, 1898. 

All of the Woods family have been Universalists. John Woods 
gave the land on which the Universalist church in Avon was built. 
In politics Mr. Woods was a republican. 



John Matthews was born in Indiana county, Pennsylvania, 
January 11, 1801. He was a son of James and Elizabeth (Coleman) 
Matthews. "When he was ten years old he went with his parents to 
Miami county, Ohio ; after living there two or three years, they re- 
moved to Jeft'erson county, Indiana. 

He was married to Mary A. Craven at Bethlehem, Indiana, 
November 11, 1829. Here he was engaged in farming. On October 
17, 1854, they started for Illinois, moving by wagon; and after a 
journey of thirty days, they arrived in Fulton county, Illinois, and 
located on a farm known as the Dunley farm. Here they resided 
until the spring of 1860, when they moved to Greenbush, Warren 
county, Illinois, and for a time occupied a house near Pumpkin 

Mr. Matthews purchased the west half of the southeast quarter 
of section 34. Here he built his house and made some other improve- 
ments during the sununer and fall of 1860, and moved on the premi- 
ses in the fall of that year, where he engaged in farming up to 
the time of his death, which occurred August 19, 1869. His wife 
died April 25, 1898, at the age of eighty-eight years. 

To John IMatthews and wife were born the following-named 
children : 

Jane, born October 11, 1830 ; married A. W. Higbee, February 
25, 1851. She died March 30, 1904. 

Samuel, born August 7, 1832 ; died July 20, 1834. 

James, born July 6, 1834; married Georgetta Darneille, 
February 17, 1870. He died October 24, 1901. 

John C, born February 19, 1836 ; married Melissa Rhodes, 
March 28, 1867. 

Mary Elizabeth, born June 27, 1838. 

Martha A., born September 1, 1840; married John Willard, 
August 31, 1864. 

Robert E., born January 31, 1844 ; married Sarah Bond, March 


15, 1868. She died November 17, 1873. His second marriage was 
to Louisa F. Libby, October 6, 1878. 

Minerva E., born December 23, 1847; married J. H. Snook, 
January 18, 1884. She died December 17, 1899. 

Margaret C, born September 28, 1849 ; married William Alex- 
ander, February 10, 1876. 

In religion Mr. ]\Iatthews and his wife were members of the 
Presbyterian church. In politics he was a democrat. 



James F. Hartford was boru in Beaver county, Pennsylvania, 
May 19, 1824. His father, James Hartford, was a descendant of 
Scotch-Irish parentage who had settled in the state of Pennsylvania 
in the early years of colonial occupation. His mother, Ann Nichol- 
son, was of Irish descent, her parents also coming from their native 
land to try the fortunes of the new world and settling in Beaver 
county, Pennsylvania, in early times. Here they were united in 
marriage ; and of a family of ten children, James F. Hartford was 
the eldest. 

From his father, who was a contractor and builder, he learned 
the carpenter trade, at which he w^orked for many years in the 
pioneer days when the labor of hewing the rough timbers of the 
forest into building material was accomplished by the hand of 
man, and the rude log-house was the home alike of the prosperous 
and those in less-favored circumstances. 

With the advancement of settlement, the times demanded 
laborers more skilled in the architectural art ; and he studied his 
trade to meet the demand, until his work which yet stands in Green- 
bush and Swan townships of Warren county, Illinois, testify to his 
ability as a builder of worth in the years which he spent at this 

As a child James F. Hartford was of a studious disposition; 
and although often compelled by ill-health to abandon his studies 
under a teacher, he availed himself of every possible opportunity 
to become educated, and at the age of sixteen years he was chosen 
as teacher for the winter term in a school not far distant from his 
home. From that time until the spring of 1851, he taught school 
during the winter months, working with his father through the 
vacation times. 

In the schoolroom, he labored during the first years of his work 
as a teacher for the sum of $10 per month, boarding with the 
patrons of the school. His wages were afterwards raised to $15 per 
month, and finally he was paid the sum of $18 per month, that 
being the highest wages ever paid to a teacher in that vicinity at 
that time. 

He was especially strong in the studies of arithmetic and 
grammar, and so completely had he mastered the pi-inciples of those 


branches that his services were sought as assistant to teachers in 
schools for miles around his home and he had charge of these 
classes in several schools long before he had undertaken the respon- 
sibility of the schoolroom. 

In the spring of 1851 he left his home and with four associates 
he traveled by Avater from Pittsburgh, Pa., to Vicksburg, ]\Iiss. The 
journey was one of hardships; and the climatic conditions, being so 
vastly different from that which they were accustomed to, brought 
on an epidemic of malarial fever from which all suffered and one 
of their number died. After working four months in the lumber 
camps near Vicksburg, they started for the north, locating at Fair- 
view, 111., where Mr. Hartford was engaged to teach the school. 

At the close of the term, he again began working at the trade 
which he had mastered in his father's workshop and for several 
years he followed the carpenter trade during the season of the year 
in which he could work at it, teaching school in the winter months. 

In the year of 1853, he came to Swan Creek, 111., and several 
landmarks of his labors are still to be seen throughout that section, 
among which are a house in Swan Creek owned at present by Mr. 
Wm. Clark, a house owned by Mr. Eatekin, and a barn on the Austin 
Cornell farm south of Swan Creek. During the winter months he 
again engaged in teaching, in what was known as the Union school- 
house west of the McMahill corner. 

June 13, 1856, he was united in marriage with Ann Eliza Hand, 
daughter of Moses T. and Elizabeth Hand, who were among the 
earliest settlers of Greenbush township. 

Moses T. Hand and family were moving that fall to Prairie 
City, 111., there to engage in the mercantile business, and Mr. Hart- 
ford and his wife were left on the farm, residing there until the 
spring of 1858, when they moved to Prairie City, 111., and until the 
following spring Mr. Hartford clerked in the store owned by M. T. 

In the spring of '58, he began buying grain from the old ele- 
vator in Prairie City. For ten years he followed that business in 
Prairie City, his family residing just across the county line in 
Greenbush township. Then a field for greater business activities 
being opened for him in INTacomb, 111., in the fall of 1868, he moved 


with his family to that city and for three years he continued buying 
grain from the elevator in that place. 

In 1871, he accepted a position in the telegraph office and 
baggage-room at the C, B. & Q. depot at ]\Iacomb, and soon after 
being given the office at Eubanks, 111., his family removed to the old 
home in Greenbush township, Warren county, and Mr. Hartford 
took up his work at Eubanks, where he labored but for a few months 
when ill health caused him to abandon his work and return home. 

After his recovery, he was again engaged in the grain office at 
Prairie City for several years, but poor health again caused him to 
give up his position, and the remaining years of his life were given 
up to the quiet pursuits of home life, gardening and fruit raising 
being the occupations which claimed most of his attention. 

To James and Eliza Hartford nine children were born, three 
of whom died in infancy; those remaining are residents of Green- 
bush toAvnship, Warren county, Illinois. 

In politics Mr. Hartford was a life-long republican, advocating 
earnestly and firmly teaching the principles of the party which he 
believed to be in the right. For eight years he held the office of 
justice of the peace in Greenbush township, was once the assessor; 
and in the years of 1880, and ten years later (in 1890), he was census 
officer of the to-^oiship. As school director in District No. 7, he for 
many years faithfully performed the duties of that office, being 
always interested in the education of the youth and recognizing the 
great advancement that was being made in the public-school system 
since the time in which he labored in the schoolroom. 

His early religious training was that of a Presbyterian home, 
but with the erection of the Methodist church in Prairie City, Illi- 
nois, he became a member of that denomination. 

As a reader and student of all questions of interest and re- 
search, he became more active as age began to tell upon his physical 
powers. Endowed with a mind capa])le of retaining much that he 
read, he enjoyed the quiet persual of the topics of the day, or the 
deeper study of subjects upon which public interest centered, and 
was well-posted on all the happenings of the time. 

After a serious illness of but a few short days, James F. Hart- 
ford died February 27, 1902, at his home in Greenbush township, 
Warren county, Illinois, and IMarch first, he Avas lovingly laid to rest, 
near the old home, in the cemetery in Prairie City, Illinois. 



Alfred Clay comb was born in Knox county Indiana, November 
16, 1832. He came to Warren county, Illinois, in 1847, and worked 
for Robert McKindley on the farm in Swan township, for about five 
years. He afterwards lived with "William Thomas until he was uni- 
ted in marriage with Miss Mary Bruce Taylor, May 31, 1854. She 
was born near Berwick in Warren county, Illinois, June 5, 1837. 

Mr. Claycomb engaged in farming. He finally moved on a 
farm west of the village of Greenbush, known as the Isaac Butler 
place, where they resided until 1880, when they moved west. He 
now resides about thirteen miles northeast of Maryville, in Noda- 
way county, Missouri. 

To Alfred Claycomb and wife were born the following-named 
children : 

Agnes Elizabeth, born February 26, 1855. She died March 
14, 1857. 

Hiram, born March 4, 1857 ; died March 21, 1857. 

George Elias, born February 14, 1858 ; died March 14, 1858. 

William Oscar, born March 4, 1859 ; died November 27, 1865. 

Lucy Jane, born February 26, 1862; married November 14, 
1886, to James E. Simmons. He was born April 20, 1864, and was a 
son of John and Ruth (Jared) Simmons; They have one son, Dale 
C, born September 10, 1888. 

James Otha, born January 27, 1864 ; married to Florence Smith, 
March 26, 1884. To them were born the following-named children : 
Floyd, May 17, 1886; Goldie September 19, 1887; Lorenza A., 
September 21, 1889; Naomi G., September 6, 1903; James 0.. March 
4, 1905. 

Frederic Marion, born January 22, 1866 ; married November 
29, 1885, to Anna Device. She was born June 4, 1868. They have 


two children— Earl, born August 8, 1892; and Helen B., born 
November 12, 1903. 

Henry, born December 1, 1868 ; died in March, 1869. 

Annetta born August 17, 1870; died March 14, 1871. 

Randall, born May 21, 1873 ; died April 11, 1874. 

Orlando, born July 25, 1875 ; died February 25, 1876. 

Harvie, born March 25, 1877 ; died November 9, 1879. 

Mary B., wife of Alfred Claycomb, died March 26, 1903. 



J. T. Lathrop was born in Livingston county, New York, 
December 7, 1818. He was a son of Colby and Polly (Terry) 
Lathrop, natives respectively of New York and New Hampshire. 
Colby, the father of the subject of this sketch, came to Ashtabula 
county, Ohio, in 1823, where he resided up to the time of his death, 
which occurred March 12, 1857. Later, his wife went to Michigan, 
where she died in 1874. 

Julius assisted his father on the farm, attended district school, 
and remained under the influence of his parents until he was twenty- 
five years old. 

In 1846, after leaving home, he was engaged for a short time 
as carpenter in a shipyard in Ohio. This same year he emigrated 
to Greenbush, AVarren county, Illinois, where he was engaged as 
carpenter and wagon-maker about two years. A portion of this time 
he worked at wagon-making in the shop with James Fife. Mr. Fife 
was a Mormon and left Greenbush about this time or shortly after- 

Mr. Lathrop went to Berwick, where he worked at his trade 
during one winter. In 1851, he removed to his farm in Roseville 
township, where he remained until 1871, when he built a house in 
Roseville, Illinois, and moved into it, where he now resides. 

He was married to Miss Almira Light, February 22, 1843. 
She was born in Pomport, Chautauqua county. New York, March 
25, 1818. She died October 19, 1874. To them were born the fol- 
lowing-named children : 

Amos Edwin, born January 24, 1847 ; died August 12, 1847. 

Sarah Maria, born October 10, 1849; married Jesse Shepard, 
February 8, 1866. 

Julius Edgar, born March 31, 1853 ; died September 1, 1853. 

Edwin Walto, born July 22, 1856 ; died October 17, 1856. 

Mr. Lathrop 's second marriage was to Mrs. Vurlinder T. 
Byarly. She was bom near Seymour, in Jackson county, Indiana, 
August 9, 1837, and was a daughter of Joseph and Susana (Turn- 
bull) Crane, both of whom died in Indiana, in 1844. Mrs. Lathrop 
is a member of the Missionary Baptist church. 

In religion, Julius T. Lathrop is a member of the Christian 
church, and has been since his boyhood days. In politics, he was a 
whig up to 1856 ; since then a republican. 



Thomas Hendricks was born in Pulaski county, Kentucky, June 
24, 1817, where he spent his younger days and where he was mar- 
ried to Mary Burk in 1840. She was born November 3, 1813, in 
Pulaski county, Kentucky. She was a member of the Methodist 
church in her younger days ; afterwards joined the Christian church. 
She was noted for her rare Christian character and for her patience 
and kindness. She died March 26, 1885. 

Mr. Hendricks moved to Hendricks county, Indiana, in 1841; 
and in 1849, they moved to Fulton county Illinois, and settled near 
Avon. About the year 1854, they moved to Greenbush township, 
in Warren county, where they remained until the fall of 1866, 
when they removed to Kansas; and returned to Greenbush, Illi- 
nois, in 1876. To Thomas Hendricks and wife were born the fol- 
lowing-named children : 

Margaret Jane, born in 1840 ; married William T. Boydston. 
He died in July, 1880. 

Sarah E., born in May, 1842; married DeKalb Morris. They 
reside near Arcadia, in Crawford county, Kansas. 

James M., born February 4, 1844; married Barbara Beam, in 
Monmouth, Illinois, August 29, 1865. 

He was a soldier during the war for the Union in company D, 
64th regiment, Illinois infantry ; was mustered in in October, 1861, 
and discharged in July, 1865. He was principal musician during 
the last two years he was in the service. He holds the office of jus- 
tice of the peace, having served in that capacity for several years. 
He is also notary public and school treasurer. In religion he is a 
prominent member of the Christian church. In politics he is a 

John T., born in August, 1847 ; married Austa Wheeler, in De- 
cember, 1867. 

Mary A., born in 1849 ; died in 1865. 

Thomas J. and William G. were twins, born July 7, 1851. 


Thomas J. married Mary Cunningham. He died in Kansas, in 
February, 1874. 

William G. married Eliza Mitchell. 

Elois M., born in 1854 ; died in 1856. 

Thomas Hendricks, the subject of this sketch, was for many 
years a member of the Christian church. In politics he was a 
democrat up to the time of Lincoln 's first nomination for president ; 
afterwards a republican. He went to Kansas to visit his children, 
in 1886, where he died January 17, 1886, aud was buried at the 
Arcadia cemetery in Crawford county, Kansas. 



Walter Johnson was born in 1805, in Hawkins county, Ten- 
nessee. He was a son of James and Polly Ann Johnson. James 
Johnson the father of Walter Johnson, at one time owned and 
worked a plantation consisting of 1,300 acres of land in Carter Val- 
ley, Tennessee. He died during the civil war. 

Walter Johnson came to Warren county, Illinois, about the year 

He was married November 25, 1836, to Susanna Bond. She 
was born in Overton county, Tennessee, August 10, 1819, and was a 
daughter of Major John C. and Polly (Grimsley) Bond. She died 
at the residence of her daughter Arvie Cayton, in Youngstown, 
Illinois, December 26, 1902. 

To Walter Johnson and wife the following-named children 
were born : 

James Grossman, born in Wisconsin, June 30, 1839. He mar- 
ried Emily R. Pittman, May 16, 1861. She was born in Austin, 
Scott county, Indiana. September 24, 1844, and was a daughter of 
John B. and Susan (Cunningham) Pittman. Her father died Octo- 
ber 18, 1863 ; her mother died January 22, 1880. 

James C. Johnson enlisted in the civil war, in 1862, and was 
second lieutenant in company IT, 83rd regiment Illinois volunteer 
infantry. On account of failing health he resigned and returned 
home in April, 1863. 

He moved to the village of Greenbush, January 15, 1864, where 
in October, 1866, he bought the interest of W. H. H. Butler in the 
stock of goods then owned by David Adams, W. H. H. Butler, and 
Riley Adams. He continued in the mercantile business with the 
Adams brothers about two years, when he purchased their interest 
and engaged in the business alone until January 1, 1891. 

He was supervisor in Greenbush township for four years. He 


moved to Avon, Illinois, April 7, 1891, where he is now engasied in 
buying and shipping live stock. 

Mary Ellen, born in 1840 ; died April 5, 1855. 
Joseph Paine, born in 1842 ; married Phebe Buzan. 

Eva, born March 13, 1843 ; married George Howard Hoisington, 

September 23, 1868. He was born February 28, 1840. They have 
two sons : 

Robert Lee, born December 29, 1870 ; married Casey Tipton. 

Walter J., born October 19, 1873 ; married Helen Martin. 

Susanna, born June 9, 1846 ; married James Thomas Vaughn. 
She died February 9, 1886. 

Caridan, born April 4, 1848 ; married Ella Wingate. 

Sarah L., born April 1, 1853 ; married Charles Thomas, March 
20, 1873. He was born May 8, 1848. She died April 28, 1878. 

Kate, born April 15, 1854 ; married John C. Bond, Jr., Decem- 
ber 25, 1872. He was born January 10, 1853. 

Charlie, born in 1856 ; died November 4, 1866. 

Arvie, born March 9, 1858 ; married Clarence Cayton, Novem- 
ber 3, 1882. He was born January 14, 1859 ; and died October 30, 

Ruby B., born February 20, 1865 ; married Harry B. Hoover, 
November 3, 1886. He was born September 16, I860; and died 
October 1, 1890. Her second marriage was to John Brothers, No- 
vember 22, 1891. 

Walter Johnson, the subject of this sketch, was a soldier in the 
Black Hawk war, in 1832 ; having gone to the state of Wisconsin, 
he enlisted there. Later he returned to Greenbush, Illinois. 

In 1852, he went to California in company with a party driving 
ox-teams. Shortly after his arrival in the golden state, he met a 
man to whom he became strongly attached, whose name is not now 
known, as Mr. Johnson always spoke of him as "Old Dad." They 
entered into a partnership and engaged in buying groceries and 
provisions in Sacrajnento and conveying them over the mountains 


■with pack mules or burros. The sale of these goods to the miners 
proved a profitable business. 

At one time Avhen their stock of provisions and groceries had 
grown low. Old Dad took the pack animals and cash on hand and 
started to Sacramento to replenish stock. Johnson waited long for 
his return and finally started to hunt him. After going a short dis- 
tance, he found where Old Dad had sold a part of the animals and 
afterwards he found that all the animals had been sold. Johnson 
had hopes of his return for several weeks ; but as time went on, he 
gave it up. Old Dad had skipped the country. 

Mr. Johnson returned home in 1853. He had a great love and 
strong attachment for good horses. He in company with F. G. 
Snapp OAvned the noted horse Humbolt in his last days. 

Mr. Johnson took the world easy, had great faith in humanity, 
and was a man who had many friends. He died December 13, 1876. 



Rowland Simmons was born in Virginia, in 1794. He removed 
with his parents in early life to Warren county, Kentucky. After 
living there several years, he moved to Morgan county, Illinois. In 
1830. he moved to what is now known as Greenbush, Warren 
county, Illinois, and settled on section five. 

He was the first settler in Greenbush township. His brother 
James folloM'ed him in 1833, and after living in the to^vnship a 
short time, settled on lands now adjoining the village of Greenbush 
,on the east, where he died, in 1873. 

AVilliam Simmons, another brother, came later and located in 
the northeast part of the township. He afterwards moved to 
-Galena, where he was engaged in hauling mineral ore ; and later he 
moved to Iowa where he died. 

This William Simmons was the father of James Simmons, who 
died at the residence of his son James Edmond Simmons, on section 
two, September 25, 1900. William was also the father of Sarah, 
who married David Young. 

Charles Simmons, who was also a brother of Rowland, resided 
in Stoddard county, Missouri, in 1845. During that year James 
and Rowland made him a visit and induced him to move to Illinois. 
His family, household goods and one sorrel mare were placed on 
board a boat at Cape Girardeau, and they all started for Copperas 
Creek, Illinois. 

Some place on the route the boat landed and James took the 
mare and rode home across the country. When he arrived, he sent 
some of his and Rowland's boys to Copperas Creek after the party. 
So they came across the country in wagons, arriving at Greenbush, 
April 27, 1845. 

John W. Nance and family were members of this party, he 
having married Nancy, a daughter of Charles Simmons. 

Charles Simmons was married two or three times, his last wife 
being Miss Levicy Boydston. He was the father of the following- 
named children : 


James D., (sometimes called "Pumpkiu-Hook Jim'') who mar- 
ried Clarrissa jMorris. After his death, she married Robert M. 


John R., who married Nancy Strain ; and after her death, was 
married to the widow of James Taylor. 

^[adison, who died while in service in the Union army during 
the civil war. 

Sarah, who married Benjamin Gray. 

]\Iary, who married Philip Davis Hedges. 

Jane, who was never married. 

Joanna, who married David Edie. 

Harriet, who married a ]\Ir. Kidoo of Iowa. 

Rowland Simmons, the subject of this sketch, was married to 
Miss Julia A. Jones. To them were born the following-named 
children : 

William, born April 16, 1826, married Margaret Morris, in 
October, 1849. She died June 15, 1873, at the age of 46 years. 

Francis Marion, (better known as Tim), married a daughter 
of James D. Smith. They moved to Oregon. 

James H., married Lucinda Moulton. She died April 17, 1874, 
at the age of 43 years. 

Jasper, born in 1842, was throwTi from a wagon and killed 
November 3, 1851. 

]\Iary. married Thomas Joiner Willard. Both died in Kansas. 

Harriet, married Joshua Rhodes. 

Emily, married Alexander Willard. 

John W., an infant, died in 1832, and was buried in the Green- 
bush graveyard, it being the first grave in this yard. 

Some time during the early '30', Rowland Simmons planted 
some apple seed with the intention of grafting the trees after they 
had grown to sufficient size. One of the trees, when it came to 


bearing, produced a large yellow apple of the fall variety. This 
tree sprouted and the sprouts, when dug up and set out. produced 
the same kind of apple. James Simmons was among the first to 
procure sprouts from this tree, having quite an orchard of them 
at one time. They are known as the "Simmons Pippin," and are 
generally considered the best fall apple in this country. 

During the last days of Rowland Simmons, he suffered with a 
cancer on his face from which he died May 23, 1858. His wife Julia 
Ann died January 8, 1845. 

Sarah Simmons, mother of Rowland Simmons, died at the resi- 
dence of Rowland, December 31, 1842, She was about 90 years old. 



Clinton Lincoln was born in Cortland county, New York, Sep- 
tember 24, 1824. He was a son of William and Ruth (Saxton) Lin- 
coln. William Lincoln was a native of New York ; Ruth Saxton, his 
wife, was born in Virginia. 

Clinton Lincoln spent the first twenty-four years of his life in 
the state of New York. He then came to Lafayette, Stark county, 
Illinois. In the fall of 1853, he came to Greenbush, Illinois, and 
commenced work as carpenter with his brother Levi, who was then 
engaged in building the Greenbush academy. 

Mr. Lincoln was married July 22, 1854, to Helen Eliza Stoaks. 
She was born in Ohio ; and died at Avon, Illinois, January 29, 1897, 
To them were born the following-named children : 

Dewitte, born July 1, 1855 ; married Ida Meachum. 

Bion, born February 10, 1857 ; married Julia Simmons, Janu- 
ary 2, 1880. 

Evie, born February 1, 1859 ; died July 22, 1860. 

Devillo, born January 22, 1861 ; died July 28, 1863. 

Artie, born August 2, 1864;married Dolly Woods, August 26, 


Ada, born August 7, 1869 ; died October 9, 1890. 

Clinton Lincoln was by occupation a shoemaker for five years, 
in the state of New York; afterwards a carpenter and farmer. 
After spending a few years in Greenbush, he moved to his farm 
north of Greenbush in Berwick township ; and in 1890, he moved to 
Avon, Illinois, where he spent his last years. 

He was with his sons Bion and Artie the last few weeks of his 
life, and died at the residence of his son Artie, in Berwick township, 
Warren county, Illinois, August 9, 1905. 

He was a member of the Universalist church. In politics he 
was a republican. 



Henry Beam was born in Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, 
March 22, 1813. He was a son of Henry and Rachael (Chime) 
Beam. In 1830, he came with his parents to Champaig-n county, 
Ohio, where he was married to Nancy Spencer, March 21, 1838. 
She was born in Ohio, April 10, 1814, and was a daughter of Eli 
and Sarah (Monihon) Spencer. 

In 1851, Mr. Beam moved with his family to Greenbush. Illi- 
nois. After residing in the township a short time, he purchased of 
Chap Swift lots 8 and 9 on section 16, and moved on the premises 
January 2, 1852, where he lived up to the time of his death, which 
occurred July 8, 1885. His wife died November 21, 1893. To them 
were born the following-named children : 

Orlando John, born in Ohio, December 31, 1838 ; married Emma 
Loftus, in 1869. He died at the residence of his sister Rachael 
Cunningham, in Monette, Missouri, December 15, 1899. 

Rachel, born July 9, 1840; married Henry Cunningham, in 
December, 1858. He died October 14, 1893. Rachel died July 17, 

Mary, born March 11, 1842 ; married Peter Landaker, INIay 6, 
1860. She died June 4, 1895. 

Joseph, born July 30, 1644 ; married Bertha Damitz, in Septem- 
ber, 1869. 

Barbara, born April 25, 1847; married James M. Hendricks, 
August 29, 1865. 

Jane, born February 16, 1849 ; married William Bryte, in May, 

Nancy Adarana, born August 5, 1858 ; died October 12, 1865. 

Henry Beam and wife united with the Methodist Episcopal 
church in 1843. When the Olive Christian church was organized 
in Greenbush township, Mrs. Beam became a member and retained 
her membership up to the time of her death. 

Henry Beam acquired a considerable education in his younger 
days. He taught school fourteen winters when he resided in Ohio. 
He was by occupation a farmer the most of his life. In politics he 
voted with the republicans. 



Abner Walker was born in Lexington, Kentucky, August 10. 
1796. He married Jane Damron at Columbia, Kentucky, October 
20, 1829. He moved to McDonough county, Illinois, in 1830, where 
he resided until he moved to Greenbush, Illinois, in October, 1849. 
The parents of Abner Walker and wife were natives of Virginia 
and were of Scotch descent. 

To Abner Walker and wife the following-named children were 
born : 

George Alexander, born March 25, 1831; married Sarah 
Hedges, December 24, 1850. He died October 4, 1872. 

Mary Elizabeth, born September 25, 1834; married Squire J. 
Buzan, August 4, 1854. 

Joseph Gilmer, born August 6, 1842 ; died in the army during 
the civil war, in 1862. 

John Kelsey, born January 24, 1845 ; married Ann Jewell, in 

Mildred, born March 10, 1847; married Richard Fouke, 
December 24, 1870. 

Lawson, born August 24, 1836 ; died of cholera, June 15, 1851. 

Abigail, born December 16, 1839 ; died of cholera, June 24, 

Abner Walker was by occupation a contractor ; he also manu- 
factured some large wooden pumps, and was engaged in keeping a 
hotel on the north side of the square, in the village of Greenbush, 
up to the time of his death, which occurred June 24, 1851, he being 
one of the victims of cholera that visited Greenbush that year. 

His wife continued to run the hotel up to the time of her death, 
which occurred January 24, 1855. 

In religion Mr. Walker was a Presbyterian. In politics he was 
a whig. 



Ernest Damitz, senior, was born in Prussia, Germany, January 
6, 1805. He emigrated with his family from his native country and 
landed in New York, in September, 1847. 

From New York he went to Chicago where he stopped one 
week on account of the sickness of his son William. He met with 
two men in Chicago who resided near Greenbush and Berwick, Illi- 
nois. They were farmers who had gone to Chicago market with 
grain in their wagons. Mr. Damitz hired them to haul his family 
to Greenbush, Illinois, paying them sixty dollars for the job. Upon 
his arrival in Greenbush, he rented a house for one month. In a 
short time after this he bought a farm of John Sargent, consisting 
of eighty acres of farm land and twenty acres of timber land. This 
land was located on section 17. He paid seven hundred dollars for 
it. He afterwards bought eighty acres adjoining it on the north. 
This 180 acres he sold to a Mr. Collins. He then bought one hundred 
and sixty acres on section 15, where he spent his last years. 

He was married in Germany to Pauline Wetzel. She was born 
in 1809, and died November 29, 1866. He died February 7, 1883. 
To them were born the following-named children : 

Serephene, who died in Germany at the age of three years. 
John, died in Germany at the age of eight years. 

Ewald, died on board the ship when crossing the ocean to 
America and was buried in the sea. He was about two years old. 

Carl, born March 15, 1832 ; married Emily Spencer, in Feb- 
ruary, 1865. 

Ernest, born January 31, 1834 ; married Rebecca M. Spencer. 

Francis, born August 4, 1835 ; married Almarine Iloleman, 
April 2, 1866. She was born July 20, 1845 ; and died February 11, 

Pauline, born April 4, 1837 ; married Andrew Sailer, January 
9, 1859. She died June 22, 1895. 

William Fredric, born December 1, 1841; married Mary Jane 
Palmer. He died in Hickory county, Missouri. 


Fredric William, born December 1, 1841 ; married Harriet 
Acton, in 1872. 

Peter, born April 8, 1840 ; married Sarah Pyle, in September, 
1876. She was born in Cass county, Missouri, May 6, 1852: and 
died April 5, 1878. His second marriage was to Mary Cooper, Feb- 
ruary 15, 1880. She was born in Sangamon county, Illinois, August 
29, 1844. 

Sarah F., married Elias D. Acton. She died October 1, 1882, 
at the age of 38 years. 

Mary, married Daniel Davidson Powers ; both died in Anderson 
county, Kansas. 

Laura, married Gotleib Smith. She afterwards married Labo- 
ria Weigand. She died near Wheatland, Mo., August 2, 1892. 

Bertha, born May 16, 1847; married Joseph 0. Beam. He 
was born July 30, 1844. 

Oscar, born October 5, 1850 ; married Pauline McKown, August 
9, 1874. She was born March 25, 1854. 

All of the Damitz family were born in Germany except Oscar, 
who was born in Greenbush, Warren county, Illinois. Fredric and 
William were twins. At their baptism in Germany, Fredric Wil- 
helm, the Third, King of Prussia, became godfather. He named 
one of the boys Fredric William, and the other William Fredric; 
he also made a present of one hundred thalers to each of them. 

Ernest Damitz, the subject of this sketch, belonged to the 
nobility when he resided in Germany. His grandfather was one 
of the richest men in the kingdom of Prussia, owning ninety-nine 
farms, the largest number any man was alloAved to owti under 
the law. 

When the Seven-Years' war broke out between Fredric the 
Great, King of Prussia, and the Emperor of Austria, Mr. Damitz 's 
grandfather, although only fourteen years old, joined the great 
Fredric 's army and soon became an officer. When they won in 
battle, this Damitz soldier boy would treat a whole army corps 
with the best and costliest wines and good things to eat, for which 
he often went in debt, he having almost unlimited credit. When 


the Avar was over, he disposed of the most of his lands to pay 
his debts. 

During the Seven-Years' war this soldier boy smoked a large 
silver-mounted meerschaum pipe, which has descended all along 
from father to the oldest son, provided he smoked. Ernest Damitz, 
senior, otfered this pipe to his son Carl if he would smoke, but 
Carl's first smoking made him sick, and he would not claim it; then 
the pipe was given to Ernest Damitz, junior. William Damitz 
afterwards became the owner of the pipe. 

]\Ir. Damitz 's last years were spent in tending a small vine- 
yard on the hillside north of his residence, and painting water- 
color pictures, which it pleased him to give to his neighbors and 
friends. He rarely left home but was always glad to have his 
neighbors and friends visit him. In politics he was a republican. 
In religion he was a Lutheran. 




Andrew Sailer was born in Weisenberg-, Germany, November 
30, 1833. He was a son of Thomas and Johannes (Heimesser) 

He left Germany in 1854, and after a voyage of forty-nine 
days reached New York; from there he went to ^Michigan, where 
he remained about one year and a half, working on a farm at 
six dollars a month. He then went to St. Augustine, Illinois, and 
worked on a farm near by for James Martin. 

In 1856, he came to Greenbush township, and went to work 
for William Jared, near Prairie City. He afterwards Avorked 
eleven months for Israel Spurgeon. 

Andrew Sailer was married to Pauline Damitz, January 9, 
1859. She was born in Prussia, Germany, April 14, 1837 : and 
died at her home in Greenbush township, June 22, 1895. To them 
the following-named children were born : 

Hannah, born January 3. 1860; married William T. Smith, in 
1878. She died August 23, 1903. 

Matilda, born January 27, 1862 ; married Charles Gayman, 
June 8, 1883. 

Frank, born August 6, 1864; married Belle Warren, February 
12, 1888. 

Bertha, born September 14, 1866 : married Lemuel Hiram Car- 
roll, February 5, 1888. He was born ]\Iarch 25, 1865. 

Fredrie, born March 20, 1868 ; married Ida Carroll, February 
5, 1891. She was born August 9, 1869. 

Andrew Sailer's second marriage was to Mary Condon. She 
was a daughter of William and Ann (Moore) Condon, who emi- 
grated from County Kildare, Ireland, in 1846. 

In politics Mr. Sailer votes with the democrats. In religion 
he and his wife are members of the Catholic church. 



Thomas Darneille was born in Middletown, Bourbon connty, 
Kentucky, March 3, 1822. He was a son of Henzie and Elizabeth 
(Congieton) Darneille, who were natives of Virginia. Thomas 
came with his mother to Adams county, Illinois, in February, 
1832. — his father having died in Kentucky, August 18, 1824. 

After the death of his mother, which occurred in Adams 
county. Illinois, July 8, 1834. Mr. Darneille followed boating on 
the Mississippi river from Quincy. Illinois, to New Orleans, Louis- 
iana. On one of his trips he had the pleasure of seeing Andrew 
Jackson while viewing the battle grounds. 

About the year 1844, he came to Greenbush township, AYarren 
county, Illinois, where he was married February 9, 1847, to Mrs. 
Lueinda Snapp. Her maiden name was Lucinda Willard. She 
was born in Overton county, Tennessee, August 3, 1822, and died 
at Greenbush, Illinois, January 21, 1899. To them the following- 
named children were born : 

Fielding M., born November 20, 1847. Died October 21, 1848. 

Leander, born October 6, 1849. He was engaged as salesman 
for more than ten years in the mercantile house of MerriU 
Brothers at Greenbush, Illinois. His health failing him, he quit 
the business and, believing a trip to the mountains would be 
beneficial, he in company with his brother Orlando, Alfred D. 
Simmons, and J. C. Morris, started west on the fourteenth day of 
May. 1902. — destination, Frying-Pan river, Colorado. 

They went overland, driving a span of mules the entire trip ; 
crossed the Mississippi river at Burlington, Iowa; reached Fair- 
field, May 17, and visited there with A. B. Camp and family; 
left there on the 19th and on the 22nd they stopped over night 
with George Jennings near Russell, Iowa. On the 23rd they 
stopped over night with George Roberts, three miles north of 
Chariton, Iowa. George was formerly a Warren county, Illinois, 
boy and his wife was a granddaughter of Col. John Butler. 

They crossed the Missouri river at Nebraska City and the 
Republican river at Concordia, Kansas: stopped at Osborn City, 


Kansas, June 11, 1902, and took dinner with Elder R. M. Simmons ; 
arrived at Great Bend, Kansas, on Saturday, June 14th, where 
they met Frank Merrill and wife; also Frank's sister Eifie. 
After resting here two days, they again started on their journey, 
Frank going with them, the ladies returning to their homes in 

The party then followed the Arkansas river and the Santa 
Fe railroad, arriving at Lamar, Colorado, Tuesday, June 24, 
where the}' stopped two days visiting with William A. Jack and 
family. They arrived at La Junta June 29th; and four miles 
west of there, at noon, they saw the Spanish peaks, ninety-five 
miles away. This was their first view of the mountains. Arriv- 
ing at Pueblo, AA^ednesday, July 2nd; here they remained two 
days. They reached Cannon City, July 5th; and after visiting 
the penitentiary, Royal Gorge, etc., then fell in with a party of 
eighteen persons, with w^hom they traveled for several days. 

On July 11th, they came to Salida, on the Arkansas river, 
where they were highely pleased with the beauty and attraction 
of the city. After leaving Salida, they passed several mines and 
camps, arriving at the summit of the "continental divide," on 
Sunday, July 13th, where the altitude is 13,000 feet, known as 
Monarch pass. Snowdrifts above and below. 

After traveling that afternoon they reached the valley at 
sunset and camped for the night on a beautiful little stream. 
On July 14th, they came to the little town of Sargent, where 
considerable excitement prevailed, as a train had been held up 
and the passengers robbed; the express car had been blown up. 
This occurred on the D. & R. G. railroad, about four miles from 
Sargent on the Marshall pass. Here the party Avas engaged in 
hunting and fishing until they went to Gunnison City. 

Arriving there on the 17th, where on the 18th of July it 
snowed and hailed, the party engaged in a game of snow-ball; 
but before night the sun shown bright and the bow of love 
and peace appeared in the heavens. 

On Saturday, July 19th, A. R. Dickson and family left the 
party, going farther west. This family had been with the party 
for about three weeks and had become strongly attached by 
friendship and kindness. The parting was rather affecting. 


After leaving Gunnison City, the party went twenty miles 
north on Spring creek, where they engaged in hunting and 
fishing for a week. It was here that Frank Merrill killed the 
first grouse. Then they drove west across a range of moun- 
tains and stopped on Cement creek near Crested Butte, where 
they did a little fishing and hunting. Here they also prospected 
for gold. 

They went to " Jack's Cabin," and took a lunch there. This 
cabin was built by Jack many years ago, it being the first cabin 
in the valley. The cabin shows age and shrinkage. Here in 
this nice valley of East river is one store, a school-house and 
several ranches. The D. & R. G. railroad runs through this 
valley. Here the party bought provisions and feed for their 

On August 4th, they started on their trip homeward. Fol- 
lowing up Taylor river, they reached Union Park, where thirty 
men were engaged in a sluiceway, on which they had expende'd 
fifty thousand dollars, for placer mining. From there they 
followed Taylor river up to Taylor Park; then to a mining town, 
on the side of the mountain called Tin Cup. 

After visiting the town a few hours, they drove four miles 
up the mountain to Black lake, where they camped for the night. 
This lake contained about eighty acres and was full of fine fish. 
Here the nights were so cold that water was frozen in the pails, 
and this in the month of August. 

At nine o'clock in the morning, they were on top of Alpine 
pass above timber line, altitude 13,500 feet; wind blowing cold, 
sun shining bright, with St. Elmo seven miles below, where they 
arrived at noon. After viewing the fine scenery en route, they 
camped within three miles of some hot springs, on Chalk creek, 
where a fine hotel had been built but not entirely finished ; $50,000 
had been expended in its erection, the company breaking up with- 
out ever opening the building. 

After passing the hotel a short distance, they saw a large 
mountain lion crossing the road. Cal. Morris and a Mr Miller, 
M'ho were then with the party, followed the lion up the moun- 
tain but failed to get a shot. After losing trail of him, they 


returned to the wagon. The natives said from the description 
he must have been nine feet long. 

About five miles northwest of this hotel the X-ray mines are 
located in the gold belt. John S. Kea, now in the grocery trade 
at Avon, Illinois, is a large shareholder in this mine. 

Their next camping-place was Buena Vista, a nice little city 
located on the Arkansas river, at the foot of a mountain, in a 
mining district. AA'hile here they visited the smelter; then 
started for Cripple Creek, traveled all day and until nine o'clock 
at night, failed to find any water, and were compelled to go into 
camp without it. At daybreak the next morning, Lee, Dick, and 
Land started out to find water. After going about two miles, 
they arrived at a cabin owned by N. B. Daniels, an old miner. 
Here they found plenty of water. They also found that they 
were off the main route and were about sixty-five miles west of 
Pike's Peak. They camped for the day with Mr. Daniels, visiting 
his mines. Here Lee went down in one of the mines and helped 
put in a blast. This mine is known as "The Last Chance." Here 
Frank killed a prairie-dog and brought him into camp, and the 
"Big 5" voted him the best hunter. 

The party camped at a deserted town called Badger. This 
town had twenty-one empty buildings and was located in a valley 
surrounded by mountains. Here the party separated, out view- 
ing the town and the mines; and here they met Elder Smith 
Ketchum. a Predestinarian Baptist preacher, who was pastor 
of the" New Hope church at Greenbush, Illinois. He w^as trav- 
eling with his two sons. One of them, having poor health, was 
trying the mountain air. This was a pleasant meeting, which all 

On the fifteenth day of August, they passed through Box 
canon, viewing the beautiful scenery in the canon and meeting 
many picnic parties. They went into camp at 5 o'clock that even- 
ing nn Cripple Creek, where they remained about six days, view- 
ing the mines— including the Independence and Portland. 

After leaving Cripple Creek, they took the Cheyenne canon 
wagon road for Colorado Springs, passing in sight of the city 
of Altman, the highest incorporated city in the world, camp- 
ing at night at a summer resort called Rosemont; then crossed 


the Pike's Peak range, following Cheyenne canon, coming out 
on the high mountain south of Colorado Springs, where they 
had a fine view of the plains. They also saw a big storm, attended 
with lightning, hail and rain, below them on the mountain-side. 

They then drove through Colorado Springs to Colorado City, 
where they camped and remained until the first of September. 
They visited the Garden of the Gods; had their photographs 
taken under Balance Rock; saw Glenerie, General Palmer's resi- 
dence; met Giles Crissey at his office in the lumber yard, and 
visited the family of John R. Snapp, who were then at Colorado 

On August 31, 0. Darneille and Mrs. J. R. Snapp and child 
started for home by railway. On September the first, the party 
decided to go up to the top of Pike's Peak. Lee Darneille. J. C. 
Morris, Alfred D. Simmons, and Earl Snapp started about seven 
o'clock in the morning, all afoot reaching the half-way place 
about noon. Lee concluded to return, which he did, arriving in 
camp at two o'clock that afternoon. Earl being the youngest in 
the party, reached the summit at 2:30, and returning reached 
his residence at 7 :30 that evening. Alfred reached the summit 
at 3 :30, and arrived back at 9 :30 that night. J. C. Morris, being 
the oldest of the party, reached the summit at dark and returned 
September 2nd, at 9 :30 in the evening. While he was up on 
the peak, he paid three dollars for supper, lodging and breakfast, 
and was called at 3 :30 to see the sunrise. 

Oh the third day of September, they started for Denver, 
passing Monument, Palmer Lake, Sedalia, and Littleton. The 
scenery on this route is noted for its grandeur and beauty. On 
the evening of September the fifth, they arrived at the residence 
of John K. Walker, near Littleton, and about ten miles south- 
east of Denver. Here they met with a kind and joyful reception ; 
they had all been well acquainted in their younger days when 
John had lived in and about Greenbush, Illinois. The party 
stayed two nights with John, and they talked about old times 
and bygone days. 

They left Walker's on the 7th and arrived in Denver the 
same day, where they camped until the 20th. Here they visited 
William McMahill, Mrs. Mary Buzan, Homer Pond and wife, 


Wm. Baiimgartner, George Ilaiuilton, and a danghter of Sarah 
Walker. After selling their mules and wagon, they returned 
home by railroad. 

Orlando, so)i of Thomas and Lueinda Darneille, was born 
April 15, 1852. He was township collector in Greenbush town- 
ship for nine years; supervisor one term; assessor four years; 
and notary public for seventeen years, which office he noAV holds. 
He has also been engaged for several years as administrator and 
executor in the settlement of estates. He was married in Spring- 
fild, Illinois. October 3, 1905, to Mrs. :\rargaret Ellen Smith. She 
was born February 4, 1861, and was a daughter of William B. 
and Rebecca (Morris) Park. 

George, born February 13, 1857; died February 6, 1862. 

Marv Elizabeth, born January 1, I860; died December 4, 

Shortly after Thomas Darneille was married, he moved to 
Middletown, ]\IcDonough county. Illinois, where he was engaged 
in the business of blacksmithing with his brother Henzie. About 
the year 1850, he moved back to Greenbush and purchased lots 
one and two in block nine, where he built a small frame house. 

The most of his last years Avere spent in Greenbush working 
at the blacksmith trade. In religion he Avas a member of the 
Christian church. In politics he was a republican. He died 
Mav 24, 1870. 



Payton A. A'aughn was born in Dinwiddle county, Virginia, 
March 31, 1810. He was a son of John E. Vaughn. Payton came 
with his father to Logan county, Kentucky, in 1829. They moved 
to Todd county, Kentucky, where Payton 's father died in 1831. 

jNIr. Vaughn came to Adams county, Illinois, in February, 
1832 ; came to Greenbush, Illinois, in June, 1837, and located 
on the southwest quarter of section twenty. Here he built his 

This house was sixteen feet square and was built of hickory 
-and elm logs hauled together with cattle ; the chimney was built 
of sod and the roof was made of boards, rived out with a fro, 
fastened on with knees and weight poles. The door was made 
of boards and was set in the south side ; the floor was made 
from hickory logs split and hewed on one side, and was called 
a puncheon floor. This house had no window. 

They had one bedstead when they moved in, so they made 
another by boring holes in the log wall and running small pieces 
of timber to a post in the floor. This frame was then corded 
with green hickory bark. After the bark dried, this proved to 
be a very good bedstead. 

He was married to Mary Darneille, July 18, 1834. She came 
from Bourbon county, Kentucky, to Adams county, Illinois, in 
1832, and was a daughter of Henzie and Elizabeth (Congleton) 
Darneille and a sister of Thomas and Henzie Darneille, who came 
to Greenbush in an early day. 

To Payton A. Vaughn and wife were born the following- 
named children : 

Elizabeth, married David Smalley. He died October 20. 1873. 
Her second marriage was to Elder John Ward. 

]\Iartha, who died at the age of two years. 

Parthena, married David B. Keith. He died September 27, 


James Thomas, married Susanna Johnson. She died Feb- 
ruary 9, 1886, at the age of 39 years. His second marriage was 
to Inez Stice. 

Mary Z., married William C. Rush, December 4, 1866 ; and 
A\as afterwards married to James C. Donaldson. He died in 1893. 

George E., married Josephine Welsh. He died March 17, 

Douglas, married Clara Butler. 

Mary, wife of Payton A. Vaughn, was born February 13, 
1820, and died in December, 1898. She was for many years 
before her death a member of the ]\Iethodist Episcopal church. 
In religion Mr. Vaughn is a member of the same church. He 
votes the democratic ticket. 



Thomas Moulton was born November 14, 1800. He came 
from Indiana to Greenbush, Illinois, in 1838, and settled on 
section 16, where he lived and died. He was a farmer by occu- 
pation. He filled the office of justice of the peace for many 
years, and was also a local preacher in the Christian church. 
His wife, whose maiden name was Margery Howe, was born^ 
November 14, 1801, and was also a member of the Christian 

To Thomas Moulton and wife were born the following-named 
children : 

John, born September 25, 1825; married Elizabeth Sargent. 
He died December 22, 1851. She afterwards married John 

Andrew J., born September 30, 1834; married Mary Jane 
Cunningham. They moved to Kansas and from there to Cali- 
fornia, where he died. 

David, born March 18, 1836; died September 5, 1858. 

Thomas B., born May 24, 1843 ; married Eliza Davis. She 
died May 31, 1901. 

Mary Jane, born September 18, 1823 ; married Walter Bond. 
After his death, she married Benjamin C. Carter. She died 
April 26, 1893. B. C. Carter died December 18, 1897, at the 
age of 75 years. 

Lucinda, born July 23, 1831 -, married James H. Simmons. 
She died April 17, 1874. 

Sarah, born September 18, 1829 ; married Alfred W. Sim- 
mons. She died May 18, 1902. 

Elizabeth, born February 24, 1827 ; married Thomas Cun- 

Susan, born September 6, 1837 ; married William Bryant 
Reed. She died September 4, 1858. 

Thomas Moulton died January 24, 1868. Margery, his wife, 
died July 1, 1887. 



James Simmons, who was a brother of Rowland Simmons, 
was born in 1795. Late in the fall of 1816, he moved from 
Green River, AVarren county, Kentucky, to Madison county, 
Illinois. His wife and infant son (Andrew W.) came with him. 
They made the entire trip on horseback. 

He moved to Greenbush, Warren county, Illinois, in October, 
1833. He first settled about one mile south of where the village 
is now located. He afterwards moved east of the village on land 
adjoining it. 

He was married in Kentucky to Sarah Stice. To them were 
born the following-named children : 

Rowland M., born November 7, 1819; married Diana Stice. 
She died in Missouri. He was a member of the militia and, in 
1843, was elected first lieutenant and commissioned by Governor 
Ford under Captain W. B. Blankenship, who died in the service. 
R. M. Simmons was then elected captain to fill the vacancy. 

This was the 6th company, 2tid battalion, 84th regiment 
Illinois militia. John C. Bond was major; John Butler, colonel; 
V. H. Marshall, adjutant; John McMahill, first lieutenant; Levi 
Hedges, orderly sergeant. They mustered three times a year 
company battalion; officers' drill, twice a year. They had three 
places of meeting: Greenbush, Berwick, and New Lancaster. 

Captain Simmons 's company was composed of 80 substantial 
men. He was drillmaster at officers' drill. The regiment was 
called out for volunteers for the Mexican war. Wyatt B. Stapp, 
who was brigadier-general, went with the company as captain 
to the Mexican war. 

R. ]\I. Sinnnons is an elder in the Old-School Predestinarian 
Baptist church, and has for many years devoted a great portion 
of his time to preaching in different localities. 

Andrew W., born in Kentucky, September 2, 1816 ; married 
Mary Ann Hedges, January 6, 1842. She died July 19, 1847. 
His second marriage was to Ascenath Brooks, March 2, 1848, 


She was born in Kentucky, Januar}^ 7, 1825. He filled the offices 
of tax-collector and justice of the peace for several years in the 
township. He died September 12, 1887. 

Alfred AV., born November 5, 1821 ; married Sarah Moulton, 
August 26, 1847. She was born September 18, 1829, and died 
May 18, 1902. 

Charles Riley, born December 24, 1825; married ^Martha 
Bair. She died December 13, 1884, at the age of 42 years. 

AVilliam Jackson, born December 30, 1827; married Sarah 
Holeman. He died in Gentry county, Missouri, November 4, 1884. 

Francis ]\Iarion, born November 10, 1823 ; was never mar- 
ried. He died at the residence of Peter Snider, his brother-in- 
law, in the village of Greenbush, June 24, 1891. 

Martin V. B., born October 5, 1839 ; married Hester Cun- 
ningham. He died September 29, 1877. She died December 4, 
1887, at the age of 42 years. 

Nancy, born in Madison county, Illinois, February 17, 1831; 
married J. "Woodford Ray. She died March 11, 1853. 

Sarah A., born January 27, 1818; married William Iliet. 
She died March 25, 1863. He died IVIarch 23, 1895, at the age 
of 78 years. 

Joanna, born October 11, 1842 ; married Isaac Holeman. She 
died August 22, 1901. He died I\Iay 20, 1901, at the age of 68 

Dianna, born August 2, 1835 ; married Peter Snider. 

Arminda C, born November 14, 1837 ; married Benjamin 
F. Watt. Pie was born September 30, 1840, and died February 
13, 1904. 

James Sinnnons died August 21, 1873. His wife died April 
8, 1855, at the age of 58 years. They were members of the Old- 
School Predestinarian Baptist church. In politics Mr. Simmons 
was a democrat. 




William P. Jones was born in Kentucky, November 11, 1810. 
He was a son of Elijah and Sarah (Hamvock) Jones, both natives 
of Virginia. She was born in 1777 ; their marriage occurred 
in North Carolina, in 1801. To this union the following-named 
children were born : 

Susanna, born in 1802; Wyley, in 1804; Margaret, in 1809; 
William P.. in 1810; Jessie, in 1812; John, in 1814; and Eliza- 
beth, in 1816. 

Elijah Jones, the father of AVilliam P. Jones, died in Ken- 
tucky in 1833. His wife Sarah died in Illinois in 1857. 

William P. Jones was married in 1829, to Adora Strode. She 
was born in Kentucky, in 1810. To them were born the following- 
named children : 

Mary A., born April 19. 1830; married Chylon Kemp. 

Sarah A., born April 15, 1833 ; married William Wood. 

Cynthia A., born January 24, 1834. 

Elijah, born January 29, 1836 ; married Eva Shawler. 

Elizabeth, born September 8, 1838. 

Catherina, born October 12, 1841 ; married Newton Kemp. 

Angelina, born September 6, 1845 ; married John Bowman. 

William, born May 4, 1848 ; married Adeline Hasson. 

Peter, born November 7, 1850 ; married Helen Threlkeld. 

William P. Jones came to Greenbush, Illinois, in 1835. After 
living in Greenbush township for several years, he purchased 
land on section 22, in Swan township, where he resided the most 
of the time during his last years. He was by occupation a 
farmer. In religion he was a member of the INIissionary Baptist 
church. In politics he was a lifelong democrat. He died July 
9, 1888 ; his wife died April 27, 1877. 



Alexander AVillard ^vas born in Virginia, October 26, 1795. 
He was a son of William and Jane (Cook) Willard. Jane Cook 
was born in Ireland. 

Alexander Willard left Virginia in his younger days and 
went to Overton county, Tennessee; from there he moved to 
the state of Missouri. His next move was to Morgan county, 
Illinois; from there he moved to Greenbush, Illinois, in 1837. 

He was married in Tennessee to Lucy Liles. She was born 
July 7, 1796. To them the following-named children were born: 

Mary, born November 24, 1814; married William Foster. 
She died January 16, 1893. He died September 7, 1862. 

AVilliam, born August 11, 1816; married Jane Hodge. She 
was born October 17, 1818 ; and died October 24, 1879. He died 
March 5, 1901. 

Lucinda, born August 3, 1822; married Ezekiel M. Snapp, 
October 19, 1839. He died October 1, 1842. Her second mar- 
riage was to Thomas Darneille, February 9, 1847. He died May 
24, 1870. Lucinda died January 21, 1899. 

Thomas Joiner, born April 10, 1824; married Mary Sim- 
mons, daughter of Rowland and Julia A. Simmons. Both died 
in Kansas. 

Jane, born August 31, 1826 ; married Henzie Darneille, Jan- 
uary 6, 1847. She died September 27, 1905. 

Margaret, born March 18, 1829; married Charles S. Hole- 

John, born February 25, 1831; married Martha A. Sum- 
mers, in July, 1850. She was born August 15, 1831. His second 
marriage was to Mrs. Elizabeth McClurg, whose maiden name 
was Elizabeth Hutton. She was born in Ohio, October 10. 1843. 

Annis, born July 11, 1833; married Porter J. Jack. She 
died at Meedoc, Jasper county, Missouri, February 21, 1876. He 
died at Arcadia, Crawford countv, Kansas, July 14, 1897. 



Alexander, born December 17, 1837 ; married Emily Sim- 
mons. She was a daughter of Rowland and Julia A. Simmons, 
who came to Greenbush in 1830. 

Mr. Willard, the subject of this sketch, was by occupation a 
farmer. In politics he was a democrat. In religion he and his 
wife were members of the ]\Iethodist Episcopal church for many 
years before their death. 

He died February 21, 1819. His wife Lucy died at the resi- 
dence of her son-in-law Henzie Darneille, in Bushnell, Illinois, 
May 15, 1879. She was blind for many years before her death. 



J)r. AVilliam Randall was born in the town of Aurora, in 
Dearborn county, Indiana, May 27, 1834. He was a son of 
George and Rhoda (Ewbanks) Randall. His father was born in 
Canterbury, Kent county, England, in 1796 ; and emigrated to 
the United States, in 1819, and located in Shawneetown, Illinois. 
From there he moved to Dearborn county, Indiana, where, in 
1826, he was married to Miss Rhoda Ewbanks. She Avas born 
in Yorkshire, England, in 1806 ; and died in Indiana, in 1859. 
He was a minister in the Methodist Episcopal church for many 
years. He died in 1866. To them were born the following- 
named children : 

John E., George F., William, Mary, Thomas E.. Richard R., 
Rebecca J., and Elizabeth V. 

Dr. William Randall was married to Caroline Snapp, March 
10, 1863. She was a daughter of Franklin G. and Adeline (Morse) 
Snapp. She died ]\Iay 20, 1875. To this union the following- 
named children were born : 

George S., born December 27, 1863 ; married Rose Marks. 

Channing C, born August 5, 1865 ; died March 2, 1869. 

Claud C, born January 8, 1870 ; died in infancy. 

Clyde W., born October 6, 1872; married Lucy A. Dodge, 
September 21, 1895. She was born at Ringwood, Illinois, Feb- 
ruary 2, 1877. 

Dr. Randall's second marriage was to Mrs. Edwina C. Karns. 
Her maiden name was Edwina C. Bond. She was a daughter 
of Jesse W. and Sarah E. (Terry) Bond. This mtirriage occurred 
February 26, 1879. To them one child was born. 

William B., born April 3, 1882. 

Dr. William Randall graduated at the Jefferson Medical col- 
lege, Philadelphia, at the head of his class, March 9, 1858. The 
same year he came to Greenbush, Warren county, Illinois, and 
commenced the practice of medicine. Here he built up a good 
practice and was very successful. He continued his practice up 
to the time of his death, which occurred October 23, 1888. In 
politics he was a democrat. 



VVilliani ^leMahill was born in Nicholas county, Kcntucl^y, 
December 23, 1806. He was a son of John and Susan (Burnet) 
McMahill. He was married in Kentucky, in 1827, to Mary Snapp. 
She was born February 22, 1806, and was a daughter of George 
and Sarah (Mclntyre) Snapp. 

William MclNIahill and wife came to Sangamon county, 
Illinois, in 1830, where they resided until 1835, when they came 
to Greenbush, Warren county, Illinois. To them the following- 
named children were born : 

George, born March 8, 1829; married Frances Barnum, about 
the year 1854. He resides at Riverside, California. 

Susan B., born March 26, 1831 ; married Leonard Hall, March 

25, 1852. He died July 28, 1896. 

Sarah, born May 16, 1833; married William J. Hamilton. 

Nancy Jane, born April 6, 1835 ; married Andrew J. Sisson. 

Elizabeth, born June 2, 1837. She fell into a kettle of hot 
lard and was so badly burned that she died the next morning. 
This occurred in March, 1839. Her grave was the first one in 
the IMciNIahill graveyard. 

John, born in 1839 ; married Emily Hogue, at Yates City, 

Ann ]\I., born in 1842 ; married Allen S. Phillips, January 

26, 1868. 

America, born in 1844 ; married Jacob M. Kepple. She died 
March 13, 1877. 

William H., married Ann Morris. 

Pinckney, married IMary Ewings. Her maiden name was 
Mary Hanks. 

Mary E., died with scarlet fever when she was only four 
or five years old. 

Lucinda, died in infancy. 

William McMahill, the subject of this sketch, was by occu- 
pation a farmer and stockraiser. In politics he was a republican. 
In religion he was early connected with the Methodist Episcopal 
church and was for many years a local preacher in that denomi- 
nation. His wife was also a member of the same church. Many 
religious meetings were held at their house in the early days. 

Mary, wife of William :\Te]\rahin. died August 31. 1877. He 
died June 6, 1881. 



Barnard Sloey was born in County ~\Ionaghan, Ireland, Octo- 
ber 22, 1815. He emigrated to America in 1833. He first located 
temporarily in Greenbush township, Warren county, Illinois, in 
1840; and again to stay, in 1844. 

In 1846, he was married to i\[iss Anna 'Grady of Marshall 
county, Illinois. They then connnenced pioneer life in earnest, 
building a log-cabin on section 26, where they resided. 

At this time neighbors were " like angels' visits, few and 
far betAveen. " John Griffen then resided where the town of 
Prairie City was afterwards located. Mr. Sloey says at this time 
wild game was plenty and wolves were fierce, dangerous, and 

Mrs. Sloey was born July 21, 1830; and died April 30, 
1877. She was a daughter of Francis and Susan (Kenaly) 
'Grady. When she was a child, she sat on the lap of Black 
HaAvk, the Indian chief, he having strpped at her father's house, 
probably on a Begging or exploring expedition. 

To Mr. Sloey and wife the following-named children were 
born — their two first, not named, dying in infancy. 

Mary, born November 28, 1848: married Peter IMcFarlaud, 
February 24, 1873. 

William, born November 30, 1852: married Mary Thomas, 
September 12, 1877. 

Francis, born March 30, 1854 ; married Julia Thomas, May 
14, 1884. 

Susan, born November 1, 1856 : married Patrick H. Tanney, 
November 2, 1879. 

James, born March 26, 1859; nuirried Clara Belle Allen, 
June 16, 1897. 

Thomas B., born October 6, 1861; married Mae INIartin, June 
17, 1891. 


Ella, born April 19, lS(i4; married Osborn Randolph Ash- 
ford, September 8, 1884. 

Anna, born March 3, 1867 ; married A. A. Wilson, April 23, 

Rose, born July 15, 1869; married AVm. Henry Crater, Sep- 
tember 18, 1890. 

Jolin. born January 13. 1872 ; first marriage to Minnie Rice, 
July 27. 1896 : second marriage to Lola ^Nlassey, January 17,- 

On April 15, 1881. ]\Ir. Sloey moved from Greenbush to Gove 
county. Kansas. After remaining there awhile, he moved to 
Thayer county. Xebra.ska. where he now resides with his son- 
in-law Peter ]\IcFarlaud. surrounded by the most of his cliildren 
and grandchildren. 

Here he is passing his last days in peace and comfort, 
patiently awaiting the white-winged messenger of time to an- 
nounce his departure to the realms of eternity, hoping for a joyful 
reunion with many dear ones who have preceded him. In religion 
Mr. Sloey is a Catholic: in politics he is a democrat. 

— iv,i 



James Simmons was born in Warren county, Kentucky, 
August 10, 1809. He was a son of William and Esther (Stice) 
Simmons, who were married in 1798. He was born in 1775, and 
died in 1865. She w^as born in South Carolina, in 1779, and 
died in 1855. To them the following-named children were born : 

Peter, Martin, Betsey, James, Charles, Sarah, Lucinda, John, 
Roley, Susan, Herbert, Nancy, and William. 

James Sinniions in his young days moved with his parents 
from Warren county, Kentucky, to Howard county, Missouri. 
Here they resided one year, then moved to Boone county, Mis- 
souri, W'here they resided about eight years ; they then moved 
to Illinois and located in Morgan county, near Jacksonville. They 
afterwards moved to Warren county, Illinois, and located in 
the northeast part of Greenbush township. 

W^illiam Simmons, father of James Simmons, was engaged 
about one year hauling mineral ore at Galena, lUiuois. He 
finally moved to Iowa, where he died in 1865. 

James Simmons, the subject of this sketch, was married 
December 18, 1839, to Melinda Jennings. She was a daughter 
of Aaron and Sarah Jennings, and was born in Indiana, January 
27, 1821; died June 19. 1897. To James Simmons and wife the 
following-named children w' ere born : 

Elizabeth Eunice, born February 28, 1842 ; married Thomas 
Stockton, November 20, 1857. 

Sarah E., born May 28, 1844; married William Young, Sep- 
tember 4, 1862. 

Samantha Jane, born August 15, 1846 ; married John Pat- 
terson, November 19, 1863. 

Nancy M., born December 12, 1848; married William H. 
Davis. She died June 9, 1900. He died August 16. 1893. 

William E., born November 30, 1851; died May 12, 1884. 

Eliza E., born February 20, 1855; married Noah Davis. 


Thomas J., born June 8, 1857 ; married Amy A. South, 
October 11, 1883. She died February G, 1894, at the age of 29 
years. His second marriage Avas to Victoria Miller, February 14, 

Ida ^l., born August 22, I860; married George Davis. 

James Edmond, born Aupfust 1, 1863 ; married Cornelia Stice, 
July 8, 1885. She was born September 10, 1864, and was a 
daughter of David and Elizabeth (Semelroth) Stice. 

James Simmons resided in Greenbush township for many 
years. He was a successful farmer and stockraiser. In politics 
he was a democrat. He died at his old home place, on section 
two in Greenbush toAvnship, September 25, 1900. 



Sarah Snapp was born in Virginia, March 20, 1784. Her 
maiden name was Sarah Mclntyre. She came with her parents 
to Kentucky, in 1789 ; and was married to George Snapp in 
Nicholas county, Kentucky, in 1802. He was born February 18, 
1780, and died December 20, 1823. He was a son of George 
Snapp, who was killed by the Indians in Kentucky in an early 

To George Snapp and his wife Sarah were born the follow- 
ing-named children : 

John, born in 1811 ; died in Kentucky, in 1823. 

Maria, born in 1804; married William Booth. Her second 

marriage was to Joseph AVallace. She died in California, July 
18, 1886. 

Mary, born in Nicholas county, Kentucky, February 22, 1806 ; 
married William McMahill, in 1827. She died August 31. 1877. 
He died June 6, 1881. 

Elizabeth, born in Nichohis county, Kentucky, February 
2, 1808; married John Crawford. Her second marriage was 
to I\Ioses T. Hand, December 23, 1835. She died August 19, 1898. 
Moses T. Hand died February 18, 18S8. 

Franklin Greene was bcrn in Niehohis county. Kentucky, Octo- 
ber 18, 1812. He came to Illinois in 1833 ; settled in Greenbush 
township in 1834. He was united in marriage to Miss Adeline 
Morse. She was born May 6, 1816. To this union the follow- 
ing-named children were born: 

Maria Jane, born October 9, 1833; married John A. Butler, 
November 22, 1849. 

Samuel M., born May 22, 1835 ; married Saphronia Hanon. 
He died October 11, 1891. 

George L., born June 4, 1838; married Emiline Griffith. 

Albert N., born jNIay 18, 1840 ; married ]\Irs. Matilda Nelson. 



Caroline, born June 1, 18-13 ; married Dr. William Randall. 
She died May 20, 1875. He died October 23, 1888. 

John R., born April 14, 1846; married Clara Foster. After 
receiving a divorce from her, he was married to Alma Yast, in 
April, 1879. 

Mary C, born December 23, 1848 ; died December 10, 1850. 

Ada Ann, born October 20, 1851; died November 11, 1858. 

Amanda E., born May 12, 1854; resides at Buffalo, New 
York, where she is engaged teaching music. 

Emma P., born February 16, 1857 ; married Alphonso Waiste. 
They reside in Canada. 

F. G. Snapp was engaged in an early day in Greenfield, in 
the mercantile business; and in later years he again engaged 
in the same line of business, making in all three or four times 
that he kept store in the village. 

He was a farmer and resided on the southwest quarter of 
section five for many years. He spent a great portion of his life 
in raising, buying, and selling live-stock. In this line he was 
a man of excellent judgment. 

He was a trader in many lines of business, and would buy 
and sell anything from a cookstove to a grist-mill. He was also 
an auctioneer and did considerable business in this line in the 
early days. 

In 1870, he purchased thoroughbred Durham cattle in Ken- 
tucky and brought them to Greenbush, which proved a great 
benefit to the country by improving the breed of cattle then 
here. He also shipped in several hundred bushels of blue-grass 
seed from Kentucky the same year. This grass seed being sown 
on timber lands, grew rapidly and soon spread over adjoining 
lands. At this time John W. Barlow Avas engaged in shipping 
Durham cattle and blue-grass seed from Kentucky. 

F. G. Snapp left his farm in Greenbush township and moved 
to Galesburg, where he spent his last years. He and his wife 
were members of the Llethodist Episcopal chui'ch, having joined 
that denomination in early life and retained .their membership 
up to the time of their death. In polities he was a republican. 


He died April 10, 1895. His wife died September 22, 1898. 
Their remains rest in the cemetery at Abingdon, Illinois. 

Ezekiel M., born in Nicholas county, Kentucky, in 1816; 
married Lucinda Willard, October 19, 1839. He died October 
1, 1842. She died January 21, 1899. To this union one son 
was born- 
William L., born February 12, 1842. He was married Decem- 
ber 19. 1861, to Mary E. May. She was born April 19, 1843; 
and died November 21, 1900. She was a daughter of William 
and Susan (Harrison) May. To William L. Snapp and wife the 
following-named children were born : 

Alice Maud, born November 16, 1862 ; married Andrew B. 
Camp, January. 18, 1883. 

Thomas, born February 23, 1864 ; married Mary J. Hen- 
dricks, January 5, 1889. 

]Mary, born July 4, 1867; died March 21, 1869. 

William L., born August 2, 1871 ; married Minnie West, 
November 7, 1899. 

Carrie M., born August 19, 1874. 

Delos v., born August 17, 1876 ; married Emma Pauline 
Fowler, February 18, 1903. 

Russell, born March 9, 1878 ; married Maud D. Stokes, July 
17, 1899. 

Ezekiel M., born January 28, 1880. 

Sumner, born November 25, 1881. 

William L. Snapp has held the offices in the township of 
town clerk, tax collector, justice of the peace, notary public, 
and school ti-easurer, and is the author of this work. In religion 
he is a Methodist. In politics he is a democrat. 

Robert M., son of George and Sarah Snapp, was born in 
Nicholas county, Kentucky, February 5, 1818. He was married 
three times. Ilis first marriage was to Margaret A. Morse, 
in December, 1843. One child was born to them — Mary J. She 
died in infancy. Margaret, wife of R. M. Snapp, died in 1844. 
His see nd marriage was to Adaliza Morris, ]\Iarch 26, 1849. She 


died December 23, 1856. To this union the follo\vin<y-nained 
children were born : 

George H., born I\Iay 9, 1850; died October 13, 1872. 

Alberteen, born December 24, 1852; died January 8, 1873. 

Eugene, born December 24, 1852 ; died February 19. 1866. 

William, born October 15, 1854; died July 27, 1856. 

Austin, born June 4, 1856 ; died September 26, 1872. 

His third marriage was to Mrs. Clarrissa Sinnnons, October 
28, 1858. She was the widow of James D. Simmons and daughter 
of Joab and Rebecca Morris. She died December 24, 1882. To 
this union the following-named children were born: 

Julius M., born October 29, 1859; died September 22, 1860. 

Arthur L., born February 27. 1861 ; now lives in De Kalb 
county, Missouri. 

Sarah F., born May 26, 1862; married David Tunks, Feb- 
ruary 2. 1883. He died in January, 1892. She was again mar- 
ried in 1895, to C. Brand, and now lives near Cameron, Missouri. 

Laura, born February 4, 1865; married Augustus Pence, 
March 15, 1885 ; now lives near King City, Missouri. 

Emma H., born March 5, 1867; married Hugh Stanton, April 
7, 1895 ; now lives in Union Star, Missouri. 

Giles, born June 1, 1869 ; lives in DeKalb county, Missouri. 

Eva A., born September 28, 1872 ; married A. B. Durbin, 
January 13, 1892. They live in Gentry county, ^Missouri. 

Clara E., born December 20, 1874; married F. H. Everett, 
February 26, 1903 ; now living in St. Joe, Missouri. 

Robert M. Snapp was bugler in Captain Wyatt Stapp's com- 
pany in the Mexican war. This company was mustered in at 
Quincy, Illinois, August 16, 1847, and returned July 29, 1848. 
Mr. Snapp was a farmer by occupation. He was justice of the 
peace in Greenbush township for many years. He was pos- 
sessed of a wonderful memory, and could give more dates of cir- 
cumstances and events than anv other' man in the countrv. In 


politics, he was a democrat. He moved to Missouri in the spring 
of 1872, and died there June 21, 1899. 

William, son of George and Sarah Snapp, was born in Nicholas 
county, Kentucky, June 12, 1820. He was married to Elizabeth 
Hedges, June 21, 1845. To them were born the following-named 
children : 

Nathan B., boin March 13, 1847; married Nannie Evans, March 
1, 1874. They now live in Utah. 

Catherine, born March 27, 1848 ; married J. P. Reed, December 
23, 1866. She died March 7, 1877. 

Ezekiel M., born October 1, 1849 ; lives in northern California. 

James A., born March 28, 1851 ; married Phebe Tunks, Sep- 
tember 13, 1874. She died December 24, 1876. His second mar- 
riage was to Rebecca J. Brown, November 7, 1883. They now 
reside on a farm near King City, Missouri. 

John AV., born October 1, 1852 ; now lives in Clark county, 

Sarah A., born May 25, 1854; married Jacob W. Fry, March 
17, 1875. They reside in southern California. 

George, born February 21, 1856 ; married Mary Fry, Novem- 
ber 3, 1876. They live in DeKalb county, Missouri. 

Mary, born September 1, 1857 ; married Jerry Renniger, in 
March, 1878. They reside in DeKalb county, Missouri 

AVilliam W., born July 18, 1859 ; married Verdie ]\Iyricks, in 
March, 1892. They reside in DeKalb county, Missouri. 

Evaline, born February 28, 1862; died in 1864. 

Eliza J., born September 29, 1864; married Joseph A. Fry, in 
1888. They reside in Buchanan county, Missouri. 

Elizabeth A., born June 9, 1871 ; married Jacob Harshburger, 
in 1901. They reside in Clark county, Kansas. 

William Snapp was a farmer by occupation. In his younger 
days he was engaged in burning brick, and was for a time engaged 
in the mercantile business. He also ran a steam sawmill in com- 
pany with his nephew, William L. Snapp, for several years in 
Greenbush. He was commissioner of highways and held other 


offices of trust in the towuship. In polities, he was a democrat. lie 
moved to DeKalb county, ^Missouri, in June, 1868, where he died 
in August. 1883. His wife, who was five years younger than he, 
died in January', 1890. 

George, son of George and Sarah Snapp, was born in Nicholas 
county, Kentucky, September 12, 1823. He married Ann Rebecca 
Hicks, in 1853. She died February 12, 1875. To this union the 
following-nam_ed children were born : 

Oscar, born :\Iay 28. 1854 : died December 28, 1863. 

William, born December 25, 1856 ; died March 10. 1864. 

Adeline, born May 12. 1858 ; died December 25, 1863. 

Elizabeth, born March 8, 1860. 

Robert M., born November 19, 1861 ; married Josie South, 
February 17, 1886. She was born June 24, 1864, and died Novem- 
ber 12, 1897. 

Charles F., born October 15, 1863 ; married Mary Starr. 

Lucy, born April 26, 1865 ; married Elijah H. South. 

Anna, born January 9, 1869 ; married Charles C. ]\IcClurg, 
December 29, 1888. 

Ada, born October 14, 1871; married AYilliam C. Gordon, 
November 21, 1894. 

Catherine, born February 6, 1873. 

George Snapp has been by occupation a farmer and stockman, 
and was at one time engaged in the mercantile business in Green- 
bush. He went to California, in 1850, in a company of twenty- 
seven men, driving ox teams. James C. Stice was captain of this 
company. His mess was composed of Robert M. Snapp, R. K. 
Belt. James C. Stice and himself. 

He returned to Greenbush township, in 1852, where he has 
since resided, except a short time he was in DeKalb county, 
Missouri. His second marriage was to Ann Davis, April 10, 1876. 
She was born in Jefferson county, Indiana, September 29, 1839. 

Sarah (McTntyre) Snapp, the subject of this sketch, was a 
woman of strong constitution, used to. hard-hips from childhood. 
She early learned industrious habits. A\hieh she retained through 
life. In religion, she was a Methodist. She died November 26, 



Elijah Frampton was born near Lewistown, Pa., April 20, 
1786. He was married October 20, 1822, to Rebecca Clark; and 
again to Lueinda Trowbridge, May 28, 1828— both at Burlington, 
Ohio. He died at Avon, Illinois, January 23, 1877. 

To the first union were born five children — four of whom died 
in fancy — viz. : Isaac Clark, William Walker, and three sisters 
(triplets). Isaac C. and sisters died in infancy. 

To the second union were born four children, namely : Elijah, 
John ]\Iartin, Rachel Jane, and Isabelle Rogers. Rachel died 
October 26, 1836, at the age of four years. 

Mr. Frampton, like most boys of his time, was sent to school 
only three months each year. School books were scarce, one set 
usually doing duty for the whole family. He made a specialty of 
mathematics, with a view to taking up surveying. Shortly after he 
had mastered the business, his father died ; and he, being the oldest 
boy, was suddenly brought face to face with the problem of bread 
and butter for the family, which was a large one. 

He soon discovered that while surveying gave him a promi 
nent place in the community, there was not enough in it to enable 
him to support the large family. And so he gave it up and 
turned his attention to boating on the Ohio river. At that time 
river transportation was almost wholly done by flat-boats and 

These boats would be loaded at Pittsburg and floated down the 
river as far as necessary, and then pulled, "cordelled, " by means 
of a rope, and pushing with long pike poles, back to the starting 

This sort of life was full enough of incident and adventure to 
make it quite spicy, and was besides a cash-down business. Settle- 
ments on the river were few and far between. To add to its 


picturesqueness, game was plentiful and bands of robbers infested 
the country. 

]\Ir. Frampton followed this business for several years, making 
many trips down and up the river, sometimes going out on to the 
IMississippi river. When his load was disposed of, he would "cor- 
delle" back to Pittsburg with his boat. 

He chanced to be in Pittsburg with his boat when the govern- 
ment prCvSicd him and his boat into the service to carry a lot 
01 sail, rigging, etc., to Lake Erie for Commodore Perry's fleet. 
For this service the government forgot to pay him. But it is 
probable that he, like Barkis, "was Avillin' " and never asked for 
any pay. 

At one time he and his younger brother loaded their boat with 
provisions at Pittsburg and took it out on to the ^Mississippi river, 
down to Memphis, Tenn., where they sold boat and cargo, receiving 
their pay all in silver coin. There was no bank at ^Memphis and no 
steamboats on the river. So they had to return with their money 
overland. For this purpose they bought a stout horse and a pair of 
saddle-bags. Placing the money into the bags, they put them 
across the back of the horse and started homeward, taking turns 
at riding and walking. 

Considering the condition of the country — sparee settlements, 
crude roads, and robbers — this was a perilous undertaking. They 
made the trip, however, without serious mishap. 

As before stated, his boating life was sufficiently exciting and 
full of incident to satisfy most any one. Mike Fink, the noted 
outlaw and river pirate, gave the boatman no end of trouble. 
Fink was almost a dead shot with his rifle. A boy whom he kept 
with him as a cook, he used to make stand off thirty to fifty paces, 
while Fink, a la William Tell, would shoot a tin cup otf the 
boy's head. 

Mr. Frampton once had the honor of being a target for Fink's 
rifle. He heard the bullet whiz by, but fortunately it did not hit 
him. It was supposed Fink fired the shot just to see what he 
could do. 

In making these trips down and up the river, it so happened 
that at the time of the earthquake at New Madrid, Mo., his boat 


was flcating down the river in front of the town ; of a sudden they 
heard a deep rumbling sound ; when, as if by magic, the river was 
in a great commotion, rolling and tumbling, seething and boiling 
like mad. It came like a flash out of a clear sky. and greatly alarmed 
the men on the boat, but they managed to steer clear of all the 
eddying whirlpcols and escape injury. 

About the year 1818, Mr. Frampton moved his mother and 
family to Burlington, Ohio, a small town on the Ohio river, be- 
tween Cincinnati, Ohio, and Pittsburg. Pa. His boating life Avas 
suddenly brought to an end by an incident which took place while 
he was at home off duty. 

A camp-meeting was in progress near by, and he concluded to 
attend. While there he was converted ; and, believing he was called 
to preach the Gospel, he sold his boating interests, united with the 
Methodist church, joined the Cincinnati conference, and was^ 
assigned to a circuit. This conference embraced all of southern 
Ohio and a part of Kentucky; and as there was a scarcity of 
preachers, the circuit had to be made very large. That made the 
work of the preacher very laborious and exacting. 

The country being new, there were scarcely any laid-out roads, 
often nothing but a trail or path to guide the traveler on his 
way; and there v/ere almost no bridges— streams had to be forded 
or swam, as the case might be. The preacher considered it his 
bounden duty to fill every appointment on time* no matter what 
happened ; nothing but the impossible should prevent it. In the 
broiling hot sun; in the drenching rain; in the pelting hail and 
sleet; in the driving, blinding snow; over the glaring ice; through 
nuid and water ; by day and by night ; astride his trusty horse, with 
his saddle-bags— sinffed full of clean linen, Bible, hymn-book and 
lunch— thrown across the saddle, he must make his way from place 
to place, over his circuit— a never-ceasing treadmill of duty to meet 
his appointments— preaching in the little log schoolhouse, sometimes 
in barns and sometimes in the open. 

He must be the minister and the chorister— often the whole 
choir— and often his own janitor. He must administer comfort to 
the afflicted, consolation to the dying, and sometimes a flogging to 
the insolent ; instant in season and out of season, a sort of half-way 
station between hope and fruition, a ministering angel, as it were, 


beekouiny our Uioughts away from the realities of tliis hard, 
inexorable life, so full of bickerings and heart-breaks, to that life 
of perennial beauly and happiness, which Ave count upon in our 
reckoning of the great hereafter. 

Notwithstanding the fact that he was physically a powerful 
man, inured to the hardships of frontier life, yet the exacting life 
of an itinerant preacher was too much for him ; and although much 
against his will, he was forced to resign. 

He then bought a farm and moved on to it. While here he 
was chosen and served a term as judge of the court for Lawrence 
county, Ohio ; but office-holding did not suit him, and he went back 
on his farm. 

In 18-12, he became restless of a farmer's life, and again betook 
himself to boating. He purchased a large flat-boat, loaded it with 
tan bark, took it to Cincinnati and sold all. He then returned, 
sold his farm and bought a very large keel-boat, which he loaded 
with provisions, took his family on board and floated off down the 
Ohio, into the Mississippi river, down through bayou Atchafalia, in 
Grand Lake, in Louisiana. 

The next year he made another trip to the south, selling out 
his boat and provisions. He then went to New Orleans, bought a 
stock of dry goods, and took passage on a steamer for Quincy, 
Illinois, where he arrived some time in April, 1845. 

In May, 1854, he sold his stock of goods and moved to Green- 
bush, Illinois, where he lived until the fall of 1863, when he moved 
to Avon, Illinois, where he died, as before stated, Jananry 23, 1877. 

John Frampton, the father of the subject of this sketch, was a 
soldier in the War of the Revolution, belonging to the Cumberland 
county Rangers, and was with Washington when his army crossed 
the Delaware river on the floating ice, December 25, 1776. 

Lucinda (Trowbridge) Frampton was born near Marietta, 
Ohio, April 8, 1811 ; married Elijah Frampton at Burlington, Ohio, 
May 28, 1828 ; died at Avon, Illinois, March 15, 1895. 

In her youth she was possessed of more than ordinary beauty. 
She was of very cheerful disposition, always looking on the bright 
side of life. To the day of her death she had the faculty of attract- 


ing to herself the society of young people, which she greatly enjoyed. 
She was everybody's friend— bore no malice. 

AVilliam Walker Franipton, born at Burlington, Ohio, Decem- 
ber 5, 1824; married Mary Anderson, in 1849; and again, Mary 
Miller, in 1852— both at Quincy, Illinois; again married (name not 
known), in 1867; and again, Ella Eckman— both of the latter at 
DeSoto, Kansas. 

AVilliam was a stalionary engineer and surveyor by profes- 
sion. He learned the trade of engineer on a steamboat, on the 
Mississippi and Missouri rivers. In 1852, he came from near 
Blandinsville, Illinois, to Greenbush, Illinois, to take charge of a 
sawmill and corn-cracker owned by Ragon and Mather. 

In 1856, he and his brother Elijah bought the mill and put in 
two sets of burs for grinding wheat. On September 1, 1858, the 
mill burned down. At this time it belonged to Dr. Bailey Ragon, 
the Framptons having sold out to him in the spring of the year, 
William going to Blandinsville, Illinois, and Elijah to Kansas. 

William moved to DeSoto, Kansas, in 1859, where he now 
resides. He served as private in the Seventh Kansas infantry, in 
the War of the Rebellion, being mustered out in 1865. By his 
second wife William had three children : Charles, Amenia, and an 
infant, which died in infancy, at Blandinsville, Illinois. 

Elijah Frampton, jr., born at Burlington, Ohio, May 20, 1829; 
married Sarah Walker Hanon, at Greenbush, 111., November 1, 
1855. To them were born three children : Ida Cornelia, November 
7, 1856; Edward Trowbridge, March 12, 1860; and Netty Hanon, 
March 17, 1862. Ida C. died in Kansas, I\Iay 16, 1860 ; and Netty 
H. in Greenbush, July 27, 1864. On July 27, 1864, his wife also 
died at Greenbush, where she was buried. 

Elijah learned the trade of miller at Canton, Mo. He then 
secured a place in one of the Quincy mills. In 1852, he came to 
Greenbush and took charge of the corn-crackers. In 1856, he and 
William bought the mill and put in a fiour-mill, which they ran 
until the spring of 1858, when he sold out and moved to Kansas, 
along with Elijah Hanon, his wife's father, and Samuel M. Snapp, 
his brother-in-law. 

In the spring of 1860, they returned to Greenbush, having 
been driven out of Kansas bv the terrible drouth and the grass- 


hopper scourge. In 1864, after the death of his wife, he went to 
Avon, 111., Avhere he noAv resides. Ilis son Edward married a lady 
in Kansas, where he still resides. 

Elijah learned the trade of wagon-maker under Porter J. 
Jack, at Greenbush, in 1864. and he continued to Avork at his 
trade in Avon and Bushnell. At the latter place he was associated 
with Henzie Darneille in the wagon-making business. 

Isabelle Rogers Frampton was born August 26, 1846 ; married 
John B. Compton in 1867; came to Greenbush, in 1854. and to 
Avon, in 1863, where she was married. From Avon they went to 
Bement, Illinois, where Compton secured a place with the Wabash 
railroad. He was killed by the cars in 1892. Mrs. Compton is 
now living in Chicago with her five children. 

John Martin Frampton was born at Burlington, Ohio. October 
22. 1830 ; married at Pittsfield, Illinois, to Miss Amatha AYhittaker, 
December 25, 1872; moved to Quincy, Illinois, from Ohio, ]\Iay 6, 
1845; moved to Greenbush, Illinois, in December, 1856; moved to 
Avon, 111., in the fall of 1863 ; Avorked on a farm owned by Isaac 
N. Morris, during the spring and summer of 1848, for eight dollars 
a month; worked on steamboat as pantryman and second steward 
during the year 1849 ; taught school in the summer of 1851. at 
Muddy Lane, in McDonough county, at eighteen dollars a month 
and boarded himself; clerked in a store at Louisiana. ]Mo., in the 
fall of 1851 (pay nominal) ; worked in The Whig newspaper office 
at Quincy, Illinois, 1852 to 1855— pay, sixteen dollars a month; 
and was shipping clerk for a large foundry in St. Louis, Mo., from 
July. 1855, to October, 1856— pay, forty dollars a month. 

In December, 1856, went to work for Ragon and Frampton as 
bookkeeper and superintendent of the grist department of the 
mill, at twenty-five dollars a month, at Greenbush, Illinois. Sep- 
tember 1, 1858, the mill was burned. He returned to Quincy, Illi- 
nois, in the spring of 1859, and kept the books in the Star Mills 
until November, 1860, when the mills were shut down— salary, 
tM-entj^-five dollars per month. 

May, 1861, returned to Greenbush; took a place as clerk and 
bookkeeper with F. H. IMerrill & Co., at tAvelve dollars a month 
and board ; went to Avon with Mr. iMerrill, in the fall of 1863 ; con- 



tinned to clerk for him until the spring of 1865, when he had to 
give up the place on account of a long' spell of sickness. 

April 15, 1867, he was appointed clerk in the U. S. internal 
revenue service by Gen. L. F. Ross, collector of the ninth district, 
Illinois. From that date until July 1, 1886, he was continuously 
in government service as clerk and deputy-collector, at a salary 
from nine to eighteen hundred dollars, serving under five different 

John M. Frampton moved to Pittsfield, Illinois, in July, 1892, 
where he now resides. To John M. Frampton and wife were born 
tAvo sons: Mendal Garbatt, born November 21, 1874; married to 
Miss Marian D. Kirby, at Jacksonville, 111., September 10, 1903 ; 
John Ross, born July 10, 1879. Mendal was graduated from Illinois 
College, Jacksonville, in 1898, w'ith the degree of A. B. : and as 
post-graduate, in 1899, with the degree of A. M. ; and as post- 
graduate at Harvard University, with the degree of A. M., in 1900. 
He is now a teacher of English in Pomona College, Claremont, 

John Ross graduated at Oberliu, Ohio, in 1901, as A. B. ; and 
graduated from Oberlin Conservatory of Music, in 1904. He is 
now a teacher in Iowa College Conservatory of Music, at Grinnell, 



Mary Park was born in La Rue county, Kentucky, in 1816. 
She was a daughter of James and Theodosia (Dodge) McDonald, 
and was married to Joseph L. Park, in 1835. He was born Novem- 
ber 12, 1810, and died in 1852; and was a son of George and 
Elizabeth (Hahn) Park. George Park was born January 31, 1773, 
and was married to Elizabeth Hahn, April 26, 1795. 

]\Iary Park came with her children to Greenbush, Warren 
county, Illinois, in the fall of 1856. Her son, William B., pre- 
ceded her on horseback^ 

To Joseph L. and Mary Park were born the following-named 
children : 

William B., born December 24, 1836 ; married Rebecca Morris. 
She was born December 14, 1833 ; and died June 28, 1898. He 
died in the army in 1862. 

Columbus, born in 1837; married Sarah A. Standeford. She 
died in Arkansas, in 1895. 

Josephine, born September 17, 1839 ; married John J. Butler, 
December 29, 1860. He died June 27, 1864, at the age of 28 
years. Her second marriage was to J. Robert Lloyd, June 25, 1866. 
He died December 21, 1878, at the age of 46 years. Her third 
marriage was to J. E. Amos, March 30, 1882. 

John A., born January 9, 1842; married Mary Eliza Park. 
She was born in Hardin county, Kentucky, and was a daughter of 
Culbertson and Julia A. (Walker) Park. 

Wallace, born June 19, 1844; married Nancy Hains. He died 
from mineral poison while working in mines at Joplin, Missouri. 

Marian, born September 17, 1849 ; married Chu Lieurance, in 
1861. Her second marriage was to John Patton. 

Sarah E., born May 8, 1852; married Michael Carroll. He 
died in the army. Her second marriage was to Daniel E. Gott, a 
native of Canada. 

Mary Park, the subject of this sketch, was for several years a 
member of the Methodist church. During her last years she 
became a member of the Christian church, and died a member 
of that denomination, August 1, 1888. 



John W. Nance was born in Rockingham county. North Car- 
olina, May 15, 1814. He was a son of William H. and Nancy (Lowe) 
Nance. His father and grandfather, John Nance, were natives 
of North Carolina. 

His boyhood days were passed in middle and vrest Tennessee. 
He was married May 24, 1836, to Nancy Simmons in Calaway 
county, Kentucky, near Paris, Tennessee. She was a daughter of 
Charles Simmons, who came to Greenbush in 1845, In January, 
1845, John W. Nance moved from Tennessee to Stoddard county, 
Missouri. In April, 1845, he moved from Missouri to Illinois, and 
settled in the town of Greenbush, April 27, 1845. On April 27, 
1857, he moved to his farm five miles northeast of the village of 
Greenbush, where his wife Nancy died November 13, 1872. To them 
were born the following-named children : 

Rufus Dodds, born February 20, 1837 ; married Alice M. Sorter, 
December 19, 1861. She died February 13, 1866. His second 
marriage was to Josie Thurman. 

Francis Marion, born February 20, 1838. He was enrolled in 
Co. H, 83rd regiment, Illinois Vol. Infantry, August 9, 1862, at 
Greenbush, Illinois, and was mustered in the service at Monmouth, 
Illinois, August 11, 1862. 

In the formation of the company he was elected second 
sergeant. On the 14th day of March, 1863, he was promoted to 
the office of second lieutenant. This regiment went into camp at 
Fort Heiman, Tenn., September 5, 1862, within fifteen miles of 
where Francis M. was born. During the greater part of the time 
he was in service he was in command of the mounted infantry, 
whose dnty Avas to hunt guerillas, repair telegraph lines, and pro- 
tect foraging parties. On one of these trips Egbert Bostwick Avas 
killed; he was a comrade who had the love and respect of all who 
knew him. This company had many exciting skirmishes Avith the 
guerillas. February 3, 1863, at Fort Donelson, Tennessee, nine com- 
panies of the 83rd regiment with company C, second Illinois light 


artillery, successfully resisted the attack of Forest and Wheeler 
with 8000 men. The 83rd regiment moved to Clarksville, Tennessee, 
in October, 1864; from there to Nashville, Tennessee, in June, 1865, 
where they were mustered out June 26, 1865. This mounted 
infantry, while out with scouting parties, became familiar with 
most of the people living between the Cumberland and Tennessee 
rivers from Paducah to Nashville. They will be remembered by 
some of those people, no doubt, to this day. While at Clarksville, 
Tennessee, F. M. Nance became acquainted with Miss Georgia 
Alwell. After he Avas mustered out of the service, he returned to 
Clarksville, where they were married October 26, 1865. 

Susan Alabama, born April 3, 1839; married Levi Lincoln, 
December 3, 1857. He died March 30, 1901. 

Mary Jane, born November 27, 1840; married Josiah Smith, 
March 16, 1865. 

Sarah Elizabeth, born July 16, 1842 ; married James F. Mings. 
He died November 28, 1898. 

Charles William, born August 11, 1844; married Eliza A. 
Wright, January 15, 1873. He died February 18, 1881. 

Nancy Cinthela, born January 16, 1847; married Robert 
Byram, January 18, 1870. 

Martha Washington, born December 4, 1848; married Dr. 
Emory Stone, February 24, 1876. Her second marriage was to 
Knox R. :\Iarks, June 1, 1893. 

John Alonzo, born February 10, 1853 ; married Eliza Smith, 
October 28, 1877. 

Robert Henry, born January 20, 1856. First marriage to 
Melinda J. Shirley, August 16, 1875 ; she died September 10, 1879. 
Second marriage to Ann Shirley; third marriage to Tessie 
Meadows, June 8, 1904. 

Harriet Missouri, born April 1, 1851; died August 11, 1852. 

John W. Nance was married three times. His second wife was 
Mrs. Harriet E. Brooks. This marriage occurred January 11, 1874. 
She died March 22, 1878. 


His third marriage was with ]Mary (Lucas) Crawford. April 
20. 1879, at Abingdon. Illinois, where they now reside. 

Mr. Nance was by occupation a carpenter in his younger days, 
afterwards a farmer. In 1850, he went with Dr. Bailey Ragon to 
Monmouth, Illinois, and joined the Masonic fraternity, Lodge No. 
37, A. F. & A. M. He now belongs to Abingdon Lodge. 

In politics he was a Whig up to 1856, afterwards a Democrat. 

In religion he is a member of the Missionary Baptist church. 

He has always borne the name of an honest, upright citizen, 
to which he is justly entitled. 



Amos Pierce was born in Vermont, Jnly 31, 1784, where he 
spent his boyhood days. Removing from Vermont, he settled in 
western New York, where he was engaged in blaeksmithing, prov- 
ing himself an expert in making the first bolts and iron-work on 
the New York and Erie canal. 

In 1811, he was married to IMiss Mary Sanford. She was 
born in 1790, and died September 30, 1845. His second marriage 
Avas to !Mrs. Evaline Woods. 

]\lr. Pierce removed from New York to Ashtabula county, 
Ohio. He came to Illinois in 1834, and bought a quarter section 
of land in Knox county. The village of Altona is located on this 
same quarter. 

After he had bought it, he became dissatisfied, as there was no 
timber on the land. He then sold it and went to St. Augustine. 
Avhere he met with some old settlers who went with him to Green- 
field (now Greenbush), where he bought land south of the village, 
on section 7. 

Here he built his log house of three rooms, and here he spent 
the remainder of his days, farming, blaeksmithing, and running a 
sawmill on Nigger creek, a short distance south of his residence. 

This mill was built by Cornelius Clover, who then resided near 
St. AugTistine. It was run by water-power, and had aji up-and- 
down saw. The log was drawn against the saw with a Avheel, hav- 
ing notched segments on the outer circle and wood pins on the side. 
When the board was sawed, the sawyer stepped on the pins to re- 
turn the log. This action was called "treading back the rag- 

Many of the old settlers procured lumber here to use in the 
construction of their houses, and for other purposes. The old mill 
played its part in the early days, and then passed into decay. 

It is said that at the home of Amos Pierce strangers and 
friends were welcome alike, and that his home was a refuse for the 


colored man on his way to Canada for freedom. He was industri- 
ous, and stood for temperance, education, progression, and a lib- 
eral religion; and was a member of the Universalist church. In 
politics he was a republican. He died July 20, 1872. 

Amos Pierce, the subject of this sketch, was the seventh in 
descent from Thomas Pierce, the emigrant ancestor of this bi-aiich 
of the Pierce family. Thomas Pierce came from England to this 
country, in 1633, with his wife Elizabeth, and settled in Charles- 
town, Mass. He was born in England in 1583, and died October 
7, 1666. His wife Elizabeth was born in England, in 1595. The 
genealogy of this branch of the Pierce family, commencing with 
the emigrant ancestor, is : Thomas 1, Thomas 2, Thomas 3, Thomas 
4, Amos 5, Phineas 6, Amos 7. 

Franklin Pierce was the seventh in descent from this same 
emigrant ancestor. He was born November 23, 1804; married 
Jane M. Appleton, November 10, 1834. She was born in 1806 ; and 
died December 2, 1863. He died October 8, 1869, in Concord, New 
Hampshire. He was inaugurated President of the United States, 
March 4. 1853. 

Phineas Pierce, the father of Amos Pierce, the subject of this 
sketch, was born January 24, 1751 ; married, October 10, 1771, 
Ruth Gaines. She was born in 1751, and died November 9, 1802. 
His second marriage, January 13, 1803, was to Ruth Beebe. He 
died October 1, 1808. To them were born the following-named 
children : 

Keziah, born July 1, 1773 ; married Austin. 

Candice, born October 14, 1775; died September 13, 1777. 

Huldah, born August 6, 1777; died October 7, 1777. 

Rhoda, born August 4, 1779 ; married John Ramson. She 
died September 2, 1862. Their children were : John P., born 
August 4, 1801; died in 1863. Julia, Hiram, Horace, Stephen (bet- 
ter known as "Col." Ramson), born March 4, 1811; and died June 
11, 1873. Mary, born October 2, 1812 ; married C. P. Van Ness. 

Phineas, born August 6, 1781; married Anna Kellogg. 

Elizabeth, born May 1, 1783 ; died May 5, 1783. 



Amos, born July 31, 1784; married ]\Iary Saiiford, and Eva- 
line AVoods. 

Abiram, born May 20, 1786 ; married Sarah Satterlee, January 
8, 1809. 

William, born April 20, 1788 ; died May 9, 1788. 

Lucy, born INIay 20, 1789; married Ashel Smith, and J. D. 
Webster. She died September 24, 1864, and was buried in the 
Bond graveyard. She was the mother of Phineas Pierce Smith, 
who died in Avon, Illinois, July 18, 1898 ; and was also the mother 
of Laura Roberts, who died in Swan township, February 3, 1877. 

Horace, born November 16, 1803 ; married Mary Perkins. 

Ruth, born October 12, 1805 ; married Luke Perkins. 

Harry, born February 20, 1808; married Alma Phelps. 

To Amos Pierce and his wife Mary were born the following- 
named children : 

Clement, born in Poultney, Rutland county, Vermont, Sep- 
tember 24, 1813. He was married to Nancy Farr, ]\Iarch 6, 1834. 
She was born in Essex county. New York, January 13, 1814. He 
came with his father to Greenbush township, Warren county, Illi- 
nois, in 1834. They purchased 160 acres of land on section 7. 
Clement settled on a tract of land adjoining, wh»re he resided until 
March, 1845, when he purchased the southwest quarter of section 
35, in Roseville township, and moved upon it. Here he resided 
until June, 1864, when he moved to the village of Roseville, where 
he was engaged with Dr. B. Ragon in the mercantile business for 
about two years. He then bought Dr. Ragon 's interest in the stock 
and continued in the business for about seven years, when he sold 

In 1873 he retired from active labor. He was justice of the 
peace from 1872 to 1885. He also filled the office of supervisor in 
Roseville township. 

To Clement Pierce and wife were born the following-named 
children : 

Mary M., born August 2, 1835; married Solomon Emberling. 


Laura A., born January 26, 1837 ; married Alexander Brani- 
hall, and Charles Strand. 

Ames, liorn December 10, 1843 ; married Mary J. Barr. They 
reside in Belleville, Kansas. 

Phebe J., born October 10, 1845 ; married Thomas J. Newburn. 

Zachariah T., born April 23, 1848 ; died September 23, 1860. 

In religion Clement Pierce was a member of the Universalist 
church. In politics he was a republican. He died December 25, 

William Henry, born January 23, 1816; came to Greenbush, 
Illinois, in 1836. Shortly after his arrival he taught school in a 
log-cabin located in the woods, a short distance west of the village, 
then called Greenfield. He was also engaged in shoemaking with 
Julius Hill. 

AVilliam H. Pierce was married to Angeline Waldron, Septem- 
ber 10, 1837. She was born April 17, 1819 ; and died July 9, 1842. 
In 1840, he opened up a farm of two quarter-sections, one on the 
southwest corner of Berwick township and the other on the south- 
east corner of Roseville township. He built his house about one 
mile west of the village of Greenbush. 

It was here that his wife Angeline died. She was buried a 
few rods west of the house. This was a lone grave until 1845, when 
Mary, wife of Amos Pierce, was buried there. This was afterwards 
used as the Pierce burying-ground ; and about the year 1885, the 
land was deeded to Warren county, to be used as a public burying 

Wm. H. Pierce was justice of the peace for several years. He 
moved to jMonmouth, Illinois, in 1858, where he served as deputy- 
sherilf under Deacon John Brown for about 10 years; was county 
superintendent of schools; was also postmaster in Monmouth, Illi- 
nois, in 1861 to 1865. 

He helped with his money and influence in the establishment 
of the Galesburg Liberal Institute which finally became the Lom- 
bard University. He was a member of the Universalist church. 
In politics he was an old-line whig up to 1856, when he voted for 
John C. Fremont and was a republican thereafter. 



In the early '40 's, he was associated with Davitl blather and Dr. 
B. Ragon in the maunfaeture and sale of medicine for fever and 
ague which was then a prevalent disease. While engaged in the 
sale of thii medicine, he was in Carthage, Illinois, on Sunday, June 
27, 1844. and witnessed the killing of Joseph Smith, the ]\Iormon. 

\Vm. H. Pierce moved from ^lonmouth to Galesburg, where he 
died Feliruary 25. 1880, and was buried in Hope cemetery, at 
Galesburg. Illinois. 

To Wm. ri. Pierce and wife Angeline were born the following- 
named children: 

Almiron G., born July 4. 1838, in the first house that was built 
in the village of Greenfield, which name was changed to Green- 
bush, in 1843. This house w-as known in after years as the Karns 
cooper-shop. He received his first schooling at the old Downey 
schoolhouse, west of Greenbush. Frederic H. Merrill was his 
teacher. His second teacher was James C. Stice. The third was 
Miss Julia Root, at Woodville (now- Avon). 

In 1855, he attended school at Lombard University, at Gales- 
burg, Illinois. In 1856, he clerked in a store at Avon, Illinois, for 
J. M. Churchill. In 1858, he taught school in the Sisson school- 
district at Swan Creek. He was also clerk and salesman for S. J. 
Buzan in Greenbush, at one time. 

He Avas married, in 1860, to Caroline Sanford. She was a 
daughter of Alba and Minerva (Rust) Sanford. Alba Sanford was 
born in Vermont, September 22, 1807. He was a Baptist minister 
and school-teacher, resided in Greenbush for several years, and was 
engaged for some time in carrying the mail from Greenbush to 
Monmouth. He died in Greenbush, August 28, 1871, and was 
buried in the Pierce burying ground. Later his body was removed 
and placed by the side of his wife's in the family lot of A. G. 
Pierce, in ^Monmouth cemetery. 

A. G. Pierce took charge of the old home farm during 1861 
and 1862 ; removed to Monmouth, August 20, 1862, to act as 
deputy-postmaster under his father; and was city collector one 
term, 1865-6. February 5, 1866, he entered the railway mail ser- 
vice on the Chicago, Burlington & Quiney railroad. Commencing 
when the railway service was in its infancy, he remained in the 


service until April 1, 1887, during which time he saw and helped 
to develop the system to a high grade of perfection. He east his 
maiden vote November 6, 1860, in Berwick, Illinois, for Abraham 
Lincoln, and has been a republican ever since. 

Almiron and Albert N. Snapp were intimate friends in their 
younger days. They were often together and generally attended 
public gatherings together. In the fall of 1858, they concluded to 
go to Galesburg and hear the joint discussion between Abraham 
Lincoln and Stephen A. Douglas. So they started and Avalked to 
Abingdon. Here they got a chance to ride in a farm wagon to 

During the campaign they concluded to make a wager on the 
election. They went to Osborn & Merrill's store and selected two 
gentleman's shawls. These shawls were all wool, large size, and 
very fashionable at the time. The loser was to pay for both 
shawls. Almiron bet on Lincoln and lost. His shawl cost him 
twenty-eight dollars, that being the price of the two. 

Almiron remembers that Al. Snapp and he attended the 
meeting at the academy in Greenbush when Alexander Campbell 
preached there. 

Since 1889, Almiron has been in the employ of the Maple 
City soap works, at Monmouth, Illinois, as traveling salesman. 

Charles H., born in Warren county, Illinois, February 1, 1840; 
married Elizabeth Long, February 1. 1862. She was bor]i in Jack- 
son county, Ohio, June" 16, 1838. To this union the following- 
named children were born: 

Maud Z., born December 31, 1862 ; married Henry Baumgard- 
ner, August 17, 1904. They reside in Oklahoma. 

William H., born December 16, 1864. Lie was a soldier in 
the Spanish-American war. 

Blanche M., born Febraary 24, 1866; married G. F. Collett. 
They now live in Kansas. 

Grace H., born June 26, 1871; married Giles C. Osborn. 
November 18, 1892. He was born June 15, 1864, and wa^ a son of 
Alfred Osborn, who was engaged in the mercantile lousiness in 




Greenbush in the early days. Giles C. is now en<rag'ecl in selling 
drugs and musical instruments, at Avon, Illinois. 

Nealy A., born June 17, 1873; died November 15, 1876. 

Charles H. Pierce has been engaged in farming during the 
greater part of his life. In 1861 and 1862, he was clerk in the 
postoffice at ]\Ionmouth, Illinois. He now resides on the old home 
place in Berwick township. In politics he is a republican. 

The second marriage of Wm. H. Pierce was to Harriet Woods, 
March 22, 1846. She was born February 27, 1826. To this union 
were born the following-named children: 

Marietta L., born March 28, 1847 ; married Dr. B. A. Griffith. 

Julia P., born May 10, 1849 ; died in 1851. 

Emma J., born May 11, 1851 ; married W. E. Day. He died 
June 27, 1905. 

Frank A., born August 3, 1853 ; died August 1, 1854. 

Harriet L., born June 22, 1856. Her first marriage was to 
Joseph Fosdeck; second marriage to John F. Perry; and third 
marriage to John C. Ryan. 

Flora A., born April 9, 1858 ; died October 13, 1862. 

Effie, born October 7, 1860 ; died September 11, 1862. 

Perlie, born September 21, 1863; died August 16, 1864. 

Marietta, daughter of Amos Pierce, was born in 1818. She 
married Henry Kelsey; 

Stephen Pierce, who was a son of Amos, was born September 
24, 1820. His first marriage was to Elizabeth Hanon, December 
23, 1847. She was born September 17, 1829; and died April 3, 
1855. To them one child was born: 

Sarah Ellen, born December 25, 1851. She married J. Henry 
Sailer, in March, 1869. She died October 13, 1883. 

Stephen Pierce's second marriage was to Lottie Johnson, De- 
cember 24, 1857. She was born in Jackson county, Ohio, June 28, 
1834. To this union the following-named children were born: 

Ada A., born October 26, 1858 ; died January 24, 1863. 

Cassius E., born April 1, I860: died March 21, 1865. 


Brownlow, born February 10, 1862 ; died February 4, 1865 

Herbert 0., born July 6, 186-4; married Sarah E. Drake, April 
1, 1885, She was born August 3, 1863. 

Jennie I., born December 11, 1865 ; married Albert A. Adams, 
November 23, 1892. 

Stephen B., born July 11, 1867 ; died January 1, 1872. 

Clara R., born September 2, 1870; married Francis M. Sim- 
mons, March 8, 1894. 

Mary A., born September 2, 1870; died July 7, 1871. 

Jesse Carl, born March 29, 1875 ; resides with his mother on 
the old home place. 

Daisy L., born April 12, 1877 ; is engaged in teaching school. 

By occupation Stephen Pierce was a farmer ; he was also 
engaged at one time in running a water-power sawmill, south of 
the village of Greenbush, on Nigger creek. He was a strong be- 
liever in the doctrines of the Universalist church. In politics he 
was a republican. He died at his farm home in Roseville township, 
Warren county, Illinois, October 15, 1895. 

Phebe J., daughter of Amos Pierce, was born March 7, 1823 ; 
married Charles "W. H. Chapin. She died January 26, 1888. 

Eliza B., daughter of Amos Pierce, born March 10, 1825 ; died 
December 19, 1845. 

Phineas Pierce, the father of Amos Pierce, the subject of this 
sketch, was in the Revolutionary war, in Captain Zebediah Orwey's 
company, for service in the alarm at Castleton, Vermont, June 10, 
1781, in obedience to orders by !Major Isaac Clark. 

Amos Pierce, the grandfather of Amos Pierce, the subject of 
this sketch, was also in the Revolutionary war, and was with Cap- 
tain James Blakeslee's company in the service of the state of Ver- 
mont, from the beginning of the campaign of 1781 to the 30th day 
of June, the same year, inclusive. 



John Wingate was born in the state of Maine, February 1, 1815. 
He came to Greenbush, Illinois, in 1838 ; and was married to Mrs. 
Annis Allen, ]\Iarch 5, 1844. Her maiden name was Annis Dibble. 
She was born .Alarch 1, 1821 ; and died May 22, 1891. 

To John AVingate and Avife the following-named children were 
born : 

John J., born in 1842 ; died March 7, 1853. 

Arthur Lee, born December 10, 1851 ; married Susan Link, 
December 25, 1873. They reside on section 20, in Greenbush town- 
ship. He now holds the oifice of commissioner of highways. In 
religion, he and his wife are members of the Christian church. He 
was president of the Western Illinois Christian Conference for 
some time, and is now president of the Illinois State Christian Con- 
ference. In politics, he is a republican. 

Laura Ella, born September 11, 1854; married Caridon John- 
son, January 7, 1877. 

Eva, born October 29, 1858 ; married Edward Singleton, July 
21, 1878. 

John AVingate, the subject of this sketch, taught school in 
Greenbush township, in 1842-3-4-5. A list of those who attended 
his school is here given : 

John Foster, Josephus Clover, 

Minerva J. Foster, Julia Ann Byfield, 

George AV. Foster, Mary A. Byfield, 

Walter X. Bond, Richard AV. Samples, 

Oscar L. Hewett, Thomas J. AVhite, 

Leander Hewett. Phebe Teter, 

Elizabeth Vaughn, Davis Teter, 

Emiline Vosburg, Henry Teter, 

Fielding B. Bond, Stephen Holeman, 

Jesse W. Bond. Isaac Holeman, 

Susan McAIahill, Benjamin Davis, 

Sally ]\IcI\Iahill, Mary Jones, 



John Moulton, 
Nancy J. McMahill, 
John Crawford, 
John F. Bond, 
Sarah A. CraAvford, 
Maria Vosburg, 
Abram Vosburg, 
George McIMahill, 
John McMahill, 
Madison McMahill, 
Hanson H. Hewett, 
Levi Jennings, 
George Jennings, 
George W. McMahill, 
William Holiday, 
Thomas J. McMahill, 
James Holiday, 
Eliza A. Foster, 
Mary Tinker, 
Jane Annett Tinker, 
Lafayette Clover, 

John AV. Jones, 
Rebecca J. Teter, 
Looney C. Bond, 
Celia Tinker, 
Charles A. Tinker, 
Charles F. Ply mate, 
James Plymate, 
Isaac Plymate, 
Harvey N. Byfield, 
Rebecca Samples, 
Vermillion W. Byfield, 
Polly Teter, 
Aaron W. Davis, 
Rebecca Drum, 
John Drum, 
Susan Drum, 
Ruth Drum, 
John Holeman, 
]\[artha Jones, 
Hiram Blood. 

John Wingate served many years in the township as town 
clerk, school treasurer, assessor, and justice of the peace. In 
politics, he was a democrat. He died INIarch 22, 1891. 



Dr. Reamer A. Saunders was born in Meigs county, Ohio, May 
8, 1821. He was a son of Abraham and Sarah Saunders. 

In 183-4 he came with his parents to Fulton county, Illinois, 
and settled at what is now known as Farmington. His younger 
days were mostly spent on the farm; at the same time he obtained 
such education as was afforded in the district school. After attain- 
ing the age of manhood, he attended school at Galesburg, Illinois ; 
afterwards the Gallipolis Academy, in Ohio. 

In 1843, he returned to Farmington, Illinois, where he read 
medicine with Dr. Christie and attended a term of lectures in the 
University at St. Louis. In 1845, he studied medicine with Dr. 
Davidson, at Canton, Illinois. 

In February, 1846, Dr. Saunders came to Greenbush, Illinois, 
and bought out Dr. Isabelle who was then practicing medicine in 
Greenbush. Dr. Isabelle went to California and died at Santa 
Barbara, in 1892. Dr. Saunders and Dr. Smith then practiced 
together for about a year, when Dr. Smith went to Toulon, Illinois. 

Dr. Saunders continued his studies during the time and again 
attended the University at St. Louis. In 1855, he went to New 
York, seeking knowledge in the line of his profession. He acquired 
a large practice in Greenbush, and purchased land in Berwick 
township, where he moved in 1859. 

In 1861, he enlisted in Company E, 33rd Illinois infantry, 
known as the "Normal Regiment." This regiment was composed 
of students and professional men. His health became impaired, 
and at the end of five months he Avas discharged for disability. 

He returned to the farm and remained there until 1872, when 
he moved to Avon, Illinois. In 1873, he visited England, Scotland, 


Belgium, and Holland. After returning to Avon, he conducted 
a drug store in connection with his practice. 

Dr. Saunders was married to Miss Mary A. IJ^irkpatrick, at 
Roseville, Illinois, November 19, 1846. To them were born three 
children : 

Juliett, who died in infancy. 

Sarah, (better known as Rinnie) ; married Robert F. Johnston. 
She died in 1879. He died in 1885. 

Clara E., born Feliruary 7, 185-4 ; now resides with her mother 
at Avon, Illinois. 

In polities Dr. Saunders was a republican. In religion he was 
a member of the Methodist Episcopal church for many years be- 
fore his death, which occurred November 13, 1897, at Avon. Illi- 
nois. He was a man of correct habits, kind, sympathetic, and a 
willing helper to the poor and those in distressed circumstances. 



Joseph Mings was born in Kentncky, July 9, 1808. He was a 
son of Aaron and Martha Mings. In early life he came with his 
parents to Indiana ; and on January 22, 1835, at Lexington, in Jef- 
ferson county, Indiana, he was married to Harriet Davis. She was 
born in Rehobeth, Maryland, December 5, 1807 ; and was a daugh- 
ter of William and Sarah Fi-aneis (Marshall) Davis. The Mar- 
shalls were natives of Virginia. Mrs. Mings moved with her 
father's family to Woodford county, Kentucky, in 1813. She 
afterwards removed to Lexington, Jefferson county, Indiana. 

In the fall of 1836, Joseph Mings with his wife and one child 
(Melissa J.), his father, mother and his brothers-in-law, Noah 
Davis and Isaac Jones, with their families, moved from Jef- 
ferson county, Indiana, to Fulton county, Illinois. Mr. Mings 
then settled at old St. Augustine, where he lived until 1843. 
He then moved to a farm on section 7, in Union township, 
Fulton county, where he resided until 1856, when he moved to 
Greenbush township, Warren county, Illinois, and located on sec- 
tion 12, where he resided until his death, which occurred June 17, 

His wife Harriet died at the residence of her daughter, Mrs. 
S. S. Clayberg, in Avon, Illinois, May 6, 1895. 

To Joseph Mings and wife were born the following-named 
children : 

Melissa J., born December 16, 1835 ; died October 20. 1841. 

James F.. born August 16, 1837; married Sarah E. Nance, 
December 6, 1860. He died November 28, 1898. 

Martha 'M., born August 1, 1839; married Asa K. Grow. Janu- 
ary 13, 1859. She resides at Kewanee, Illinois. 

]\Iary Ellen, born July 31, 1841 ; married Giles Crissey, Janu- 
ary 17. 1867. They now reside in Los Angeles, California. 

Joseyih Wesley, born September 1, 1843: married ]\lary E. 
Carr. Auuust 6. 1872. Thev live at Prairie City, Illinois. 


Sarah Frances, born January 6, 1846 ; married Edward W. 
Davis, September 20. 1870. They reside at Colorado Springs, Col- 

Abigail, born January 29, 1848; married Dr. S. S. Clayberg, 
June 22, 1875. They reside at Avon, Illinois. 

In politics Joseph Mings Avas a republican. His sentiments 
were strongh^ against slavery and he was among the first men to 
advocate this doctrine. In religion he Avas a Methodist. He was 
about thirty years of age when he was converted and joined the 
church of this denomination. Mrs. INIings was also a member of 
the Methodist church, having joined that denomination, in early 

In 1849, Joseph Mings and wife, Daniel N. Wright, his wife 
and mother, and Mrs. Dr. Stout founded the M. E. church in Avon, 
Illinois. ]\Irs. ]\Iings was the last of the six original members to 
depart this life. 

Joseph Mings was a quiet, earnest man. He and his wife 
were exemplary Christians, highly esteemed by those who knew 



Bailey Ragon was born in Ross eonnty. Ohio. August 7, 1813. 
He was a son of Eli and Rebecca Ragon. In 1825. his parents 
moved to llie north part of Ohio, where, in 1833, Bailey Ragon 
commenced the study of medicine under Dr. J. Lang. He after- 
wards studied under Dr. George W. Sampson. He commenced 
the practice of medicine in July, 1837. 

He was united in marriage with Miss Huldah blather, Janu- 
ary 14, 1837. She was born April 5, 1818, and was a daughter of 
Horace and Huldah (Smith) Mather. He died August 2, 1825. 
His wife, Huldah, was born in February, 1786, and died in 1836. 

Dr. Ragon came to Greenbush, Illinois, in 1842, where he 
practiced medicine until 1844, when he moved to Nurina, Indiana. 
In 1846, he returned to Greenbush. In 1855, he attended lectures 
at Rush Medical College, where he graduated in 1856. For over 
forty years he was engaged in the practice of his profession. 

He was engaged in the mercantile business in the early days 
in Greenbush, and in after years he again engaged in the same 
line of business. In 1858, he owned and operated a large grist- 
and sawmill at Greenbush, Illinois, which burned down in Sep- 
tember of that year. 

In 1861, he moved to St. Augustine, Illinois, where he was 
engaged in the mercantile business. In the spring of 1863, he 
moved to Avon, Illinois, where he resided until the fall of 1864, 
when he moved to Roseville, Illinois, where he spent his last 
years. He died January 20, 1895. 

To Dr. Ragon and wife eight children were born. The three 
first, Rebecca, Lucy, and Mary, died in infancy ; those living are : 
Sarah Ann, George W., Bina, Julia V., and Emma. George W. 
married May Hasting, July 13, 1898. Bina married George W. 
Baldwin, February 27, 1878. Julia V. married Gary J. Boyd, 
November 27, 1872. 

Dr. Ragon was a member of the ^Masonic fraternity. In poli- 
tics he w^as a republican. In religion he was a member of the 
Universalist church. 



Aaron Powers was born in the state of Connecticut, February 
1, 1782. lie was a son of Nicholas and Phebe Powers. He left his 
native state, in 1805, and went to North Bend, Ohio, where he was 
married to Martha Colby. She was born in New Hampshire, April 
3, 1787. She came with her parents to North Bend, Ohio, in 1805. 

They moved into a stone house where they kept hotel, many 
distinguished men stopping with them, — among them William H. 
Harrison who boarded with them for some time. 

^Martha Colby's mother was a AVilliams. Her brother, William 
Williams was one of the signers of the Declaration of Independ- 

It is said of Aaron Powers that he attended school but very 
little. Certain it is that he acquired a considerable education. 
This he did by hard study, buying his own books. He was noted 
for his great memory and few excelled him as a grammarian in 
his day. 

Mr. Powers taught school at North Bend, Ohio, for five years. 
He taught his first term for ten dollars, but received fifteen dollars 
for each term thereafter. 

He entered one hundred and twenty-five acres of land in But- 
ler county. Ohio, and moved there in 1811, where he resided until 
1839, when he moved to Greenbush, Illinois. He bought a farm on 
section seventeen, of Abram Johnson, where he resided up to the 
time of his death. 

Mr. Powers was a Methodist preacher and preached his first 
sermon here about one week after his arrival. This meeting was 
held in a log schoolhouse a short distance from his residence, about 
ten persons gathering to hear him. About the time he was ready 
to begin service, Sammy Brown appeared. He came with his wife 
in a wagon from Oquawka, wdiere he then resided. IMr. Brown 
had formerly lived in Ohio, where he was a member of the same 
conference with ]\Ir. Powers. They were rejoiced to see each other. 



To Aaron Powers and wife were born the following-named 
children : 

Aaron, who married Mary Rieard. He died at White Hall, 
in Green county, Illinois. 

Joseph C, married Nancy Acre in Butler county, Ohio. He 
died January 11, 1867, at the age of 57 years. His wife died Jan- 
uary 25, 1864. 

Clarissa, who died when she was only two or three years old. 

Solon, married Mary Morris. He died at Edwardsville, Illi- 
nois, in 1854. 

Milton, married Martha Orley; supposed to have died in Cali- 

Benjamin Abbot, married Rachel Carmack. He went to Cali- 
fornia, in 1861. where he died in 1891. 

Eliza, married A. G. Pearce. She died January 22, 1896, at 
the age of 77 years. He died October 19, 1895, at the age of 79 


Martha, married William Garrett. She died, in 1844, and was 
buried at Knoxville, Illinois. 

Colby and Phebe were twins. Colby married Ann Duke. She 
came from England. She died in 1844. Colby afterwards married 
Louisa Nelson, in Michigan. He died in Kansas, in 1903. 

James, who was found dead in his bed on the morning of Oc- 
tober 26, 1841. He was sixteen years old. 

Mary G.. married Stephen W. Starr, in 1850. He died August 
16, 1874, at the age of 64 years, 

Daniel Davidson, married Mary Damitz. Both died in Ander- 
son county, Kansas. 

In politics Aaron Powers was a democrat up to the time 
Abraham Lincoln received his first nomination for president ; after- 
wards, a republican. 

In religion he was first a Methodist; he afterwards joined the 
Mormons ; becoming dissatisfied with the Mormons, he joined the 
Missionary Baptists and remained a member of that denomination 
up to the time of his death, which occurred March 26, 1862. His 
wife Martha died ]\Iay 12, 1861, at the age of 74 years. 



Moses T. Hand was born in New York City, November 4, 1807. 
When but a child his parents moved to the state of New Jersey. 
After a few years they again moved, this time settling in Huron 
county, Ohio, where Moses grew to manhood and was married to 
Sarah Ann Squires, who lived but three years after their marriage. 
Two children were born to them, the first one dying in infancy. 

After the death of his wife, ]\Ir. Hand with his infant son 
Henry left Huron county, Ohio, and came to Illinois. Arriving 
at Canton, Illinois, in the fall of 1834, he remained there during 
the winter. In the spring of 1835, he came to Greenbush township, 
AVarren county, Illinois. 

He was united in marriage with ]Mrs. Elizabeth Crawford, 
December 23, 1835. Her maiden name was Elizabeth Snapp. She 
was born in Nichols county, Kentucky, February 2, 1808. and was 
a daughter of George and Sarah (]\lclntire) Snapp. 

She was the mother of John Crawford, born July 14. 1827 ; 
married Rebecca Wallace. He died January 21, 1862. She was 
also the mother of Sarah Crawford who was born September 23, 
1829 ; married Thomas Parks. She died December 2, 1887. 

Mr. Hand resided in Greenbush after his marriage, where he 
was engaged in the mercantile business for some time. He finally 
purchased the northeast quarter of section 35, in Swan township. 
Here he undertook the task of converting the unbroken prairie 
land into a grain-producing farm, breaking prairie, fencing and 
building; the timber furnishing the only source from which fencing 
and building material could be obtained. 

The county then abounded in reptiles and wild animals. When 
in the timber making rails, he would have to cover his provisions 
with the box from the wagon to protect it from the Avolves and other 
wild animals. Aside from farming, Mr. Hand engaged in buying 
and selling live stock. 

In those days long trips must be made by the wagon road to 
reach a market for the produce of the farm, Liverpool, Illinois, 




being: the nearest place where stock could be disposed ot\ with an 
occasional trip to Chicago driving: a herd of cattle. 

Upon one of these trips he purchased a cook stove, it being 
the second stove brought into the neighborhood, William McMahill 
claimino' the first. The fireplace, which had so long done duty as 
the only means of cooking, was to be abandoned for the modern 
convenience. But the cook stove was then in a rude, primitive 
state, differing very much from the cook stoves and steel ranges 
of the present day. Mr. Hand was agent for the sale of the first 
^IcCormick reapers used on the prairies in this section of the 

In the fall of 1856, he left the farm and moved with his family 
to Prairie City, Illinois, where he bought a stock of goods of 
D. K. Hardin. Here he engaged in the mercantile business for 
several years. Finally, selling his stock of goods to Ebenezer 
Sanford. he again engaged in farming, stock- and grain-buying; 
also in the coal-mining business. 

Mr. and Mrs. Hand were the first couple married in Green- 
bush township; the ceremony was performed by John C. Bond, 
justice of the peace. To them were born the following-named 
children : 

Mary, born September 22, 1836 ; married Richard Silver. 
They moved to Seward county, Nebraska, where she died. 

Ann Eliza, born March 31, 1839 ; married James F. Hart- 
ford, June 13, 1856. He died February 27, 1902. She now 
resides near Prairie City, in Greenbush township. 

Giles F., born April 27, 1841 ; married Eliza Brink, May 12, 
1864. They now reside on a farm near Stansberry, Missouri. 

Caroline, born October 13. 1843 ; married John W. Cope. 
She died at Bushnell, Illinois, August 27, 1905. 

Jane, born June 11, 1846; married Eobert P. Maxwell. 

AVilliam Oscar, born December 16, 1848 ; married Mary Cur- 
tis, December 16, 1873. They reside in Prairie City, Illinois. 

Henry, a son of Moses T. Hand by his first marriage, married 
Catherine Buchner, and is living in Shenandoah, Iowa. 



jMoses T. Hand and wife were for many years before their 
death members of the Methodist Episcopal church. In politics, 
he was a republican. 

He died at his home in Prairie City, Illinois, February 18, 
1888. On August 19, 1898, his aged wife was called to reunite 
with him on the other side. Their remains were laid to rest in 
the Prairie City cemetery. 



There are four graveyards in Greenbush township. The 
Greenbush graveyard is located on the southwest corner of the 
northeast quarter of section six. The first grave in this yard 
was that of John W., infant son of Rowland and Julia A. Sim- 
mons. He was buried there in 1832. 

The Holeman graveyard is located on the northeast quarter 
of section fourteen. The first grave in this yard was that of 
Priscilla, wife of Daniel Holeman, who died November 28, 1846. 

The Bond graveyard is located on the southwest quarter of 
section eighteen. The first grave in this yard was that of Isabelle 

The McMahill graveyard is located on the southwest quarter 
of section nineteen. The first grave in this yard was that of 
Elizabeth, daughter of William and ]\Iary McMahill. She died 
in March, 1839. 

A short distance west of the Greenbush graveyard, across the 
creek, on the premises once known as the Isaac Butler place, there 
are several graves, although there is nothing there now that would 
indicate that it had ever been used as a burying-ground. Some of 
the old settlers think there are about 20 graves there; some think 
there are more than this number. It is claimed by some persons 
that John Sheffield, who was killed about the year 1837, was buried 
there ; also that the wife, of Samuel Ritchie, who was burned to 
death; the wife of Bazel Lewis, and some of the Perkins family 
were buried there. 

There is a grave on a hill, a short distance west of Avon, and 
north of the road leading to Pumpkin Hollow. The footstone is 


standing' yet, but the headstone is lying' broken on the grave. It 
has this inscription: "Jefferson, son of J. and J. Hill; died 
November 16, 1856; aged 17 years, 8 months, and 27 days." 

There are also some lost graves on section 23, on the hill 
east of Pumpkin Hollow, north of the road, on pasture lands owned 
by Simon Sailer. 

The dates of births and deaths, taken from the headstones in 
the different burynig places, are here given. It is not claimed that 
this list is complete.' Many graves are without headstones or 
markers : 

The Greenbush Graveyard. 

William Randall, born May 27, 1834; died October 23, 1888. 

Caroline Randall, born June 1, 1843 ; died May 20, 1875. 

Channing Randall ; died March 2, 1869 ; aged 3 years, 7 months. 

Celestia, w4fe of George Morris; died March 11, 1857. 

Juliett D., wife of T. M. Luster; died June 26, 1851: aged 26 

Parthena, wife of T. M. Luster ; died September 25, 1860 ; 
aged 31 years. 

Thomas M. Luster ; died June 29, 1869 ; aged 45 years. 

Isaac Butler; died October 29, 1868; aged 66 years. 

Nancy M., daughter of Isaac Butler; died March 25. 1852; 
aged 21 years. 

Isaac W., son of Isaac Butler ; died August 26, 1862 ; aged 
29 years. 

Eli Butler; died October 31, 1868; aged 24 years. 

Abram Butler ; died October 26, 1868 ; aged 26 years. 

Philip Karns, born October 22, 1815 ; died March 10, 1898. 

Josiah C. Karns, born October 20, 1859 ; died I\Iay 8. 1862. 

Mary Minerva Karns, born February 23, 1848: died ]\Iarch 
11. 1864! 


Hulda J. Clark; died February 7, 1873; a^ed 21 years. 

S. L. Karns; died November 1, 1874; aged 34 years. 

John H. Karns; died March 5, 1877; aged 31 years. 

Nancy Ellinger; died IMarch 29, 1862; aged 74 years. 

Samuel Palmer ; died ]\Iay 30, 1855 ; aged 13 years. 

Elizabeth Gladish, born July 30, 1826 ; died May 5, 1856. 

Harvey Keeney; died December 7, 1866; aged 48 years. 

A. M. Snider, born October 8, 1863 ; died September 13, 1898. 

Reuben H. Davis; died September 19, 1865; aged 57 years. 

Ann B. Davis; died September 16, 1880; aged 72 years. 

Nancy, wife of F. M. Blue; died December 17, 1867; aged 
54 years. 

George A. Walker; died October 4, 1872; aged 41 years. 

Abner Walker, born August 10, 1796 ; died June 24, 1851. 

Jane Walker ; died January 24, 1855 ; aged 45 years. 

A])igail Walker, born Deceml)er 16, 1839; died June 24. 1851. 

Lawson Walker, born August 24, 1836 ; died June 15. 1851. 

Augustus W., son of J. and F. Sisson ; died August 26, 1850; 
aged 25 years. 

Cyrus Sisson; died June 23, 1850; aged 35 years. 

Alice, daughter of C. F. and R. A. Sirsson; died December 2, 
1848 ; aged 1 year. 

Joseph Siss' n ; died June 23, 1851 ; aged 61 years. 

Mary A., wife of Andrew W. Simmons; died July 19, 1847; 
aged 23 years. 

Nancy G., wife of J. W. Ray; died March 11. 1853; aged 
22 years. 

Sally, wife of James Simmons; died April 8, 1855; aged 58 

James Simmons; died August 21, 1873; aged 78 years. 

Diana, daughter of A. W. and M. A. Simmons; died June 3, 
1867 ; aged 22 years. 


Sarah B., wife of AVilliam ITiet ; died IMareh 25, 1863; aged 
45 years. 

William Hiet, born December 4, 1816; died :\Iareh 23, 1895. 
Andrew W. Simmons ; died September 12, 1887 ; aged 71 years. 

M. V. B. Simmons, born October 5, 1839 ; died September 
29, 1877. 

Hester, Avife of M. V. B. Simmons, born July 3, 1845; died 
December 4, 1887. 

Henry Beam; died July 8, 1885; aged 72 years. 

Nancy, wife of Henry Beam; died November 20, 1892; aged 

78 years. 

Adah, daughter of H. and N. Beam, died December 12, 1866; 
aged 7 years. 

Mary Osborn; died February 3, 1867; aged 54 years. 

James M. Cunningham, born June 14, 1833 ; died March 6, 


M. B. Threlkeld; died June 17, 1872; aged 44 years. 

Martha J., wife of C. R. Simmons; died December 5. 1884; 
aged 42 years. 

Lucinda, wife of J. H. Simmons; died April 17, 1874; aged 
43 years. 

Margaret, wife of William Simmons ; died June 15. 1873 ; 
aged 46 years. 

Sarah Simmons ; died December 31, 1842 ; aged about 90 years. 

John W., son of R. and J. A. Simmons; died in 1832. 

Wesley, son of R. and J. A. Simmons ; died in 1839. 

Julia Ann, wife of Rowland Simmons; died January 18. 1845; 
aged 40 years. 

Rowland Simmons; died May 23, 1858; aged 64 years. 

Jasper N., &on of R. and J. A. Simmons; died November 3, 
1851 ; aged 9 years. 

Mary L. P., daughter of J. D. and A. F. Smith; died July 
26, 1851 ; aged 3 years. 


]\Iargaret, wife of John Bowman; died January 7, I860; aged 
37 years. 

Harriet E., wife of T. J. Cunningham; died January 16, 1869; 
aged 17 years. 

Rebecca Ragori, daughter of B. and H. Ragon; died February 
2, 1850; aged 10 years. 

Mary E., daughter of B. and H. Ragon; died March 13. 1841; 
aged 3 days. 

David Young; died July 4, 1868; aged 70 years. 

Peter, son of S. and C. Lieurance, born April 5, 1847: killed 
March 6. 1870. 

Polly, wife of Charles Vandiver ; died April 1, 1857 : aged 69 

Rev. Charles Vandiver; died July 27, 1854; aged 66 years. 

Charles Simmons ; died December 27, 1852 : aged 74 years. 

Louisa J., daughter of C. and L. Simmons; died February 
15, 1857 ; aged 15 years. 

Eliza, wife of William Craft; died May 29. 1856; aged 47 

Nancy, wife of J. M. Carr ; died December 12, 1862 ; aged 67 

Nathan W. Barlow, born in 1847; died in 1895. 

Col. John Butler; died May 18, 1881; aged 78 years. 

Mary, wife of Col. J. Butler; died November 12. 1875; aged 
69 years. 

John J. Butler; died January 27, 1864; aged 28 years. 

J. AVilford, son of V. W. Butler; died May 13, 1875; aged 
20 years. 

Rachel, wife of V. W. Butler; died June 18, I860; aged 29 

George L., son of V. W. and R. Butler ; died August 16, 1868. 

Carrie Bell, daughter of V. W. and H. Butler; died Feb- 
ruary 19. 1868 ; aged 1 year. 


Hiilda A., -wife of Amos Zeigler; died August 20, 1900: aged 
65 years. 

Hulda J. Ragon, wife of A. F. Bruckner ; died June 27, 1878 ; 
aged 21 years. 

Elizabeth, wife of J. Kelsey; died August 28, 1872; aged 59 

Lorin T. Palmer ; died September 28. 1863 ; aged 17 years. 

Joanna, wife of David Edie; died January 27, 1867; aged 
27 years. 

Eebecca, wife of Eli Ragon; died July 31. 1856: aged 72 years. 

Eli Ragon ; died May 8, 1856. 

Alfred Ragon ; died January 29, 1873 ; aged 50 years. 

Alexander T>. Fruit: died January 26, 1861; aged 26 years. 

Alice M., wife of R. D. Nance; died February 13, 1866: aged 
23 years. 

E. Lieurance; died August 25, 1868; aged 78 years. 

Cinthia, wife of E. Lieurance; died March 13, 1848: aged 50 

Nancy, wife of E. Lieurance; died September 27, 1878: aged 
68 years. 

Samuel Shields; died February 28, 1852; aged 61 years. 

John Anson ; died October 6, 1854 ; aged 49 years. 

Perry Lieurance ; died November 3, 1851 ; aged 32 years. 

Riley D., son of H. T. and L. A. Coffman ; died April 15, 1856 ; 
aged 1 year. 

J. William, son of T. and M. ]\IcDouald; died September 19, 
1856 ; aged 2 years. 

Theodosia McDonald; died September 2, 1856; aged 64 years, 

Mary, wife of J. L. Park; died August 1, 1888; aged 72 

Harriet, wife of A. INIiller ; died April 26, 1872 ; aged 73 years. 

Oscar Lincoln ; died December 20, 1853 ; aged 22 years. 


Sarah, wife of Alfred W. Simmons, born September 18. 1829 : 
died May 18, 1902. 

George, son of A. AV. and S. Simmons, born June 11. 1852; 
died January 17, 1867. 

Albert F. Simmons, born April 5, 1869; died November 16, 

C. H. Raberding ; died April 3, 1877 ; aged 68 years. 
William Kreigh, born June 1, 1812; died January 4. 1881. 

Elenora, wife of William Kreigh ; died August 22, 1864 ; aged 
40 years. 

Maria Magdalena, wife of Jacob Long; born September 13, 
1842 ; died July 15, 1860. 

Jacob Long ; died July, 1891 ; aged 58 years. 

M. S. Gregg; died October 19, 1864; aged 15 years. 

Francis Staat, born May 17, 1813 ; died August 1, 1881. 

Margaret Staat, born September 30, 1810; died November 
19, 1880. 

Lizzie, wife of Samuel Houston ; died August 19, 1869 ; aged 
28 years.' 

Samuel Houston ; died June 30, 1878 ; aged 48 years. 

John F., son of H. and C. Staat ; born November 24, 1872 : died 
December 18, 1891. 

Nellie M., daughter of H. and C. Staat ; born September 30, 
1874; died December 25, 1894. 

Nancy M., daughter of H. and C. Staat : born September 18, 
1896; died May 9, 1899. 

Sarah Day ; died August 29, 1876 ; aged 61 years. 

Caroline, wife of John F. Young; died April 8, 1876: aged 30 

Juliett A., wife of W. P. Housh ; died December 28. 1877 ; 
aged 29 years. 

John C. McCall; died December 11, 1862; aged 42 years. 

Edward Taylor; died November 17, 1861; aged 31 years. 


Mary E., daughter of Jacob L. and Nancy Buzan; died 
February 2, 1853 ; aged 24 years. 

Joshua, son of C. and S. Conaway; died January 23, 1858; 
aged 22 years. 

Sarah, wife of C. Conaway ; died June 2, 1860 ; aged 61 years. 

Martha, wife of Charles Conaway ; died August 20, 1859 ; 
aged 26 years. 

Thomas Jones ; died October 14, 1855 ; aged 80 years. 

AVinif red, wife of Thomas Jones ; died August 4, 1858 ; aged 
68 years. 

H. Kiley Jones, son of J. and M. Jones; died in the service of 
his country. April 1, 1865 ; aged 18 years. 

Mordecai :\[orris, born October 2, 1848; died July 3, 1891. 

AYilliani H. Johnson, born December 12, 1817 ; died Feb- 
ruary 21. 1857. 

Rebecca Morris, wife of William B. Park; born December 14, 
1833 ; died June 28, 1893. ' 

Margaret ]\Iorris ; died February 10. 1862 ; aged about 82 

Joab ^lorris ; died April 4, 1866 ; aged 62 years. 

Hannah Morris, born June 10, 1812 ; died June 30, 1891. 

Rebecca Davis ; died March 8, 1857 ; aged 15 years. 

Levisa. wife of B. Johnson; died August 3, 1862; aged 64 

Bazel Johnson ; died April 9, 1865 ; aged 100 years. 

Josiah Johnson, born July 12, 1837 ; died April 2, 1897. 

Isaac Xewburn ; died July 16, 1859 ; aged 53 years. 

Nancy, wife of Isaac Newburn ; died August 9, 1863 ; aged 57 

Caroline, wife of Barnet Neal ; died September 9, 1883 ; aged 
31 years. 

Mary Ann. wife of John Perkins; died January 5, 1880: aged 
27 years. 


Amanda E.. wife of AV 1). riiiiei': died June 21. lS!t4: aged 
28 years. 

Sarah AV., wife of E. Frampton ; died July 27. 1864 ; aged 
30 years. 

Isaac Holeman; died April 6, 1875; aged 88 years. 

Delphia, wife of Isaac Iloleman ; died July 18, 1873 : aged 
76 years. 

Mary A., wife of Isaac G. Holeman: died May 21. 1875; aged 
35 years. 

John T. Stockton; died March 28, 1875; aged 21 years. 

John Stockton ; died October 2, 1858 ; aged 32 years. 

Mary Jane Stockton, died March 16, 1885 ; aged 55 years. 

Ella Meachum, wife of John Meachum ; born January 12, 
1862; died March 19, 1890. 

Britta Simmons, daughter of H. and C. Meachum : born Octo- 
ber 2. 1858 ; died October 8, 1881. 

Lydia A., wife of A. J. AYillard : died August 10. 1875 ; aged 
22 years. 

Harrison Meachum : died January 21, 1893 ; aged 75 years. 

Mary J. Singleton, wife of Johnie AVillard: born December 
15, 1878 ; died April 27, 1902. 

Chester R., their son; born November 20, 1899: died !Mareh 7, 

Elizabeth, wife of George Keneval ; died September 28. 1859 ; 
aged 67 years. 

Joseph L. Neer, born March 3, 1822; died April 14. 1900. 
Lydia. his wife, born February 14, 1813 ; died July 25, 1898. 

Joseph Tillman, son of J.. L. and L. Neer; died January 23, 
1870 ; aged 13 years. 

Nancy E., Avife of J. R. Simmons; died October 26. 1871; 
aged 31 years. 

William Taylor ; died April 20, 1889 : aged 62 years. 

Nina Taylor, born January 31. 1875; died IMay 18, 1900. 


Effie, wife of Hiram Taylor; born October 1, 1869; died 
December 23, 1894. 

Hiram Taylor, husband of Hannah Taylor; born November 
10, 1803; died September 26, 1882. 

Hannah Taylor, born November 10, 1806 ; died October 30, 

Martha Taylor, born April, 1800; died January 15, 1878. 

John J. xVdams; died September 1-4, 1885; aged 62 years. 

Susan Adams, born July 26, 1828; died September 21, 1894. 

John A. Vandiver, 1812-1899. Harriet, his wife, 1818-1876. 

Susan Regan, daughter of J. and C. Regan; died July 31, 
1875 : aged 7 years. 

Ellen Regan, daughter of J. and C. Regan; died September 
6, 1875 ; aged 17 years. 

Mary A., wife of C. S. M^elsh; born October 4, 1858; died 
August 6, 1899. 

Jennie, wife of Elmer H. Cunningham ; born March 8, 1863 ; 
died February 2, 1897. 

Jane V., wife of John J. Todd; died November 23, 1884; 
aged 86 years. 

James Simmons, born August 10, 1809; died September 25, 
1900. Malinda, his wife, born January 7, 1821 ; died June 19, 1897. 

Mary, wife of Thomas Almond; died September 9, 1877. 
George Hollenberg; died September 24, 1881; aged 72 years. 
Henry Hollenberg, born March 25, 1816; died April 9, 1888. 
Richard Tally; died November 17, 1896; aged 62 years. 
Mattie Alberts, born February 28, 1866; died November 17, 

Lewis Maier ; died August 14, 1862 ; aged 35 years. 

Elizabeth Maier, wife of L. Maier; died August 14, 1882; 
aged 46 years. 

Henry Clabaugh; died June 13, 1859. 

John White, born March 10, 1840 ; died January 3, 1904. 


The Holeman Graveyard. 

Isaac Holeman. born June 5, 1832; died May 20, 1901. 

Joanah, wife of Isaac Holeman ; born IMarch 12, 1833 ; died 

August 22, 1901. 

Israel Spurgeon, born June 30, 1828; died May 8, 1895. 

John E. Mitchel, born October 1, 1857; died March 9, 1897. 

Amelia A., wife of J. E. Mitchel; died March 6, 1898; aged 
33 years. 

Amy A., wife of T. J. Simmons; died February 6, 1894; aged 
29 years. 

Cecil C. son of L. H. and B. A. Carroll ; born February 17, 
1889; died October 17. 1897. 

Pauline, wife of A. Sailer; born April 14, 1837; died June 22, 

Bethuel ^lerris; died March 7, 1891; aged 64 years. 

Mary Merris ; died December 24, 1898 ; aged 73 years. 

Robert Vanvelsor, born February 5, 1830 ; died April 19, 1889. 

Joseph E., son of J. F. and L. Wren; died March 24, 1874; 
aged 23 years. 

John Kelly, born March 22, 1810 ; died May 30, 1884. 

Leon, son of M. S. and M. E. Welsh; born October 29, 1882; 
died December 5, 1882. 

Isaiah Wren; died April 26, 1876; aged 37 years. 

Julia, daughter of W. and S. Lee; died July 11, 1869; aged 
20 years. 

Weden Kelly ; died September 14, 1867 ; aged 39 years. 

Martin Johnson ; died January 5, 1874 ; aged 44 years. 

Betsey, wife of J. Peterson ; died September 7, 1876 ; aged 
36 years. 


Charles MeCormack, born December 25, 1813 ; died April 10, 

Alexander, son of J. and E. Edie; died May 4, 1862; aged 
18 years. 

Franlin Niles, Co. F, 42d Ohio Infantry. 

R. G. Gillett, Co. H, 83d Illinois Infantry. 

John Wren ; died June 17, 1856 ; aged 62 years. 

Ester, Avife of John Wren; died August 22, 1888. 

Martillers Lloyd; died January 15, 1860; aged 21 years. 

Charles William, son of William and E. Lloyd; died July 7, 
I860; aged 27 years. 

Lucinda F., daughter of William and E. Lloyd; died ]\Iareh 
15, 1846 ; aged 18 years. 

Thomas J. Lloyd ; died November 26, 1861 ; aged 20 years. 

AVilliam Lloyd; died January 21, 1862; aged 61 years. 

Eliza W., Avife of William Lloyd : born July. 1801 : died 
November 10, 1884. 

Joseph Robert Lloyd, son of J. R. and J. Lloyd ; born January 
28, 1878 ; died February 5, 1899. 

Rose, wife of L. A. Mummey; born April 4, 1871. 

J. R. Lloyd ; died December 21, 1878 ; aged 46 years. 

Lennie, daughter of J. R. and J. Lloyd; died November 15, 
1876; aged 9 years. 

Caleb Sparks ; died July 19, 1869 ; aged 41 years. 

Tobitha, wife of Robert Lloyd; died October 4. 1851: aged 
83 years. 

French Spurgin ; died August 17, 1872 ; aged 68 years. 

Lewis A., son of J. J. and S. J. Dickson ; died September 
17, 1868 ; aged 1 year. 

Catherine E., wife of S. L. Ellinger; died December 13, 1872; 
aged 32 years. 

Mary J., wife of S. L. Ellinger ; died August 5, 1863 : aged 
40 years. 


Samuel L. Ellinger; died April 24, 1895; aged 74 years. 

Louis Ellinger ; died December, 1865 ; aged 19 years. 

Edna, daughter of S. L. and M. J. Ellinger; died April 14, 
1877; aged 19 years. 

Stella, daughter of S. L. and Ann Ellinger; died SeptemlxM- 
28, 1881. 

Mary J., daughter of S. L. and M. J. Ellinger; died Septem- 
ber 6, 1863 ; aged 1 month, 12 days. 

Samuel Cline, born October 26, 1833 ; died February 21, 1899. 

Rosa, wife of A. K. Crabill, born June 16, 1870; died March 
12, 1892. 

Catherine, wife of Alex. Coursan; died January 21, 1870; 
aged 27 years. 

Julia A., wife of J. M. Bradbury; died November 1, 1869; 
aged 48 years. 

Sammie Crabill ; died May 22, 1876 ; aged 69 years. 

Noah Crabill, born December 26, 1818 ; died April 16, 1898. 

Mary J. Crabill, born September 8, 1847 ; died January 3, 1896- 

Anderson Fleming ; died June 3, 1866 ; aged 46 years. 

Thomas H. Ennis, born January 13, 1827; died June 28, 1895, 

Barbara E., wife of Thomas Stockton; born November 10, 
1847; died April 13, 1867. 

David, son of M. and M. Jones ; died October 5, 1859 ; aged 

18 years. 

John W. Ennis, born March 8, 1853 ; died December 14, 1864. 

Sibba, wife of W. Ennis ; died February 3, 1876 ; aged 79 

Priscilla, wife of D. Holeman ; died November 28, 1846 ; 
aged 35 years. 

Sophia, wife of M. R. Gutridge; died June 15, 1863; aged 
43 years. 

Mitehel Ross ; died June 30, 1873 ; aged 76 years. 

Mary, wife of Mitehel Ross; died March 28, 1862; aged 62 


Elizabeth, wife of J. J. Stockton; died January 10, 1847; 
aged 17 years. 

Elsie Stockton ; died March 24, 1865 ; aged 64 years. 

Thomas Stockton ; died January 17, 1853 ; aged 64 years. 

James J. Stockton; died October 25, 1865; aged 42 years. 

Amanda, wife of William Maguire; died February 28, 1873; 
aged 24 years. 

Susanah, wife of R. Holeman; died February 18, 1892; aged 
€7 years. 

Clara L., wife of Robert Chambers; born December 10, 1879; 
died July 4, 1902. 

Mary F., wife of Phineas P. Smith, Jr. ; died October 13, 
1877 ; aged 21 years. 

Electa, wife of A. Coppersmith; died May 14, 1871; aged 45 

Jacob Lahman, born September 25, 1831 ; died October 17, 

Priscilla Buck, wife of Jacob Lahman; born September 20, 
1829; died April 30, 1864. 

John Rubart, born July 21, 1797; died December 30, 1872. 
Nancy Lahman, his wife, born October 21, 1827 ; died April 21, 

John C. Holeman ; died December 27, 1854 ; aged 44 years. 

John Carroll; died December 29, 1903. 

Amanda, wife of Francis Vanvelsor ; born February 1, 1835 ; 
died January 13. 1904. 


The Bond Graveyard. 

Mabel Johnson ; died October 15, 1876 ; aged 7 years. 

Catherine E., wife of A. B. Campbell; died February 15, 1878; 
aged 27 years. 

Addie May, daughter of A. N. and M. A. Snapp ; died October 
26, 1873 ; aged 4 years. 

Minnie Bell, daughter of A. N. and M. A. Snapp ; died October 
21, 1873 ; aged 2 years. 

Elizabeth, wife of David S. Link, born January 23, 1832; died 
August 24, 1894. 

William D. Link ; died February 26, 1896 ; aged 35 years. 

R. R. McKinley, born June 29, 1806 ; died February 13, 1885. 

Dr. W. I. Campbell; died February 16, 1875; aged 26 years. 

Rachel T. McKinley, wife of Dr. W. I. Campbell ; died January 
25, 1875; aged 22 years. 

Jane, wife of William Willard, born October 17, 1818 ; died 
October 24, 1879. 

Lydia J., wife of W. G. Thomas; died July 19, 1873; aged 31 

Sarah A., daughter of W. and J. Willard ; died May 8, 1871 ; 
aged 16 years. 

W. R. Willard ; died June 7, 1879 ; aged 35 years. 

Isaac Willard ; died October 7, 1878 ; aged 19 years. 

John Matthews ; died August 19, 1869 ; aged 66 years. 

John Burridge; died March 12, 1884; aged 26 years. 

Mary E., wife of Wm. L. Snapp, born April 19, 1843 ; died 
November 21, 1900. 

Mary, daughter of W. L. and M. E. Snapp; died March 21, 
1869; aged 1 year, 8 months, and 17 days. 


John Kramer, born December 20, 1824 ; died April 13, 1902 

Myrtle, daughter of "\Y. and M. A. Clayton ; died April 5, 1891 ; 
aged 4 years. 

Ann R., wife of George Snapp ; died February 12, 1875 ; aged 
39 years. 

Josie H. South, wife of R. M. Snapp, born June 24, 1864 ; died 
November 12, 1897. 

Melissa, wife of Horatio Morris ; died February 18, 1881 ; aged 
26 years. 

John Wingate, born February 1, 1815; died March 22, 1891. 
Annis, his wife, born March 1, 1821 ; died May 22, 1891. 

John J., son of J. & A. Wingate ; died March 7, 1853 ; aged 11 

Eva, wife of E. W. Jones; died December 1, 1886; aged 43 

Sarah, wife of E. Jones; died June 5, 1857; aged 78 ypars 
John W. Jones; died December 31, 1855; aged 41 years. 
Lury, wife of W. P. Jones ; died April 27, 1877 ; aged 67 years. 
William P. Jones, born November 11, 1810 ; died July 9, 1888. 

Celia A., wife of M. J. Perry; died October, 1885; aged 21 

Charles Perry ; died December 28, 1897 ; aged 83 years. 

Annie E., wife of Charles Perry; died June 11, 1873: aged 48 

George Cable ; died January 22, 1861 ; aged 67 years. 

Sarah A., wife of George Cable ; died April 17, 1855 ; aged 49 

Sarah E., daughter of A. T. and M. M. Trailor; died July 30, 
1873 ; aged 15 years. 

Archibald T. Trailor ; died April 15, 1867 ; aged 41 years. 

Minta M., wife of A. T. Trailor ; died November 9, 1866 ; aged 
35 years. 

Icle L., son of H. & S. Poster; died November 1, 1864; aged 
18 years. 


Sarah L.. wife of C. J. Thomas; died April 28, 1878; aged 25 

John ]\Ioulton ; died December 22, 1851 ; aged 26 years. 

Jesse W. Bond ; died November 22, 1847 ; aged 33 years. 

Nathan W. Bond ; died July 11, 1873 ; aged 27 years. 

Mary J., wife of B. C. Carter; died April 26. 1893; aged 69 

Benjamin C. Carter, born August 30, 1822 ; died December 18. 

Mary A., wife of George Farrar; died May 20, 1875; aged 19 

Thomas Moulton ; died January 24, 1868 ; aged 67 years. 

Margery Moulton ; died July 1, 1887 ; aged 85 years. 

Angeline, wife of Perry Brown, born February 25, 1850; died 
November 25, 1898. 

Samuel Brown ; died March 26, 1882 ; aged 67 years. 

Julia A., wife of David Alberts, born December 17, 1814 ; died 
January 2, 1895. 

David Albert ; died May 16, 1881 ; aged 72 years. 

Susanna P., wife of J. T. Vaughn; died February 9, 1886; 
aged 39 years. 

' Oscar A., son of J. & E. Pittman; died February 21, 1875; 
aged 17 years. 

Susan, wife of J. B. Pittman ; died January 22, 1880 ; aged 70 

J. B. Pittman, born March 29, 1805 ; died October 18, 1863. 

Samuel, son of J. B. & S. Pittman, born July 11, 1840; died 
April 9, 1862. 

John Coons, 1804-1892. 

Rebecca Coons, 1811-1887. 

George Coons ; died February 27, 1871 ; aged 36 years. 

John Cunningham ; died March 30, 1849 ; aged 44 years. 

Joseph Cunningham; died December 9, 1846; aged 35 years. 


Mary C, wife of John Sargent, died December 24, 1847 ; aged 
38 years. 

Bailey D., son of J. M. & M. Quaite; died April 11, 1862; aged 
14 years. 

Mary, wife of P. A. Vaughn, born February 13, 1820 ; died 
December, 1898. 

Harry B. Hoover, born September 16, I860; died October 1, 

Walter Johnson ; died December 13, 1876 ; aged 71 years. 

Charlie, son of W. & S. Johnson ; died November 4, 1866 ; aged 
10 years. 

Mary E., daughter of W. & S. Johnson; died April 5, 1855; 
aged 15 years. 

Elizabeth, wife of W. G. Bond; died December 22, 1864; aged 
45 years. 

John C. Bond ; died May 20, 1882 ; aged 82 years. 

John M. Hoisington; died September 21, I860; aged 54 years. 

Mary S., wife of John C. Bond; died September 1, 1842; aged 
32 years. 

Fielding B., son of J. C. & M. S. Bond; died April 16, 1862; 
aged 28 years. 

Jesse W. Bond ; died February 26, 1840 ; aged 65 years. 

Susanna, wife of Jesse W. Bond ; died January 7, 1859 ; aged 
85 years. 

Benjamin Bond ; died September 14, 1843 ; aged 41 years. 

Evaline, wife of J. C. Foster; died December 3, 1841; aged 31 

Mary, wife of C. S. Holeman; died September 13, 1851; aged 
31 years. 

Jane, wife of C. S. Holeman; died August 3, 1854. 

Harriet, wife of R. W. Roberts, born February 7, 1854; died 
July 13, 1894. 

Dennis H., son of W. C. and M. Z. Rush ; died August 13, 1879 ; 
aged 10 years. 


Ferdinand Coll ; died December 15, 1875 ; aged 58 years. 

Henrietta R., wife of R. Roberts ; died July 28, 1878. 

Lucy Webster, wife of J. D. Webster ; died September 24, 1864 ; 
aged 75 years. 

C. R. Smith. Co. C, 138th Inft. ; died March 10, 1885 ; aged 39 

Jed ^Y., son of P. P. & M. E. Smith; died May 15, 1868; aged 
20 years. 

Abijah Roberts ; died June 23, 1851 ; aged 53 years. 

Laura Roberts, wife of A. Roberts ; died February 3, 1877 ; aged 
56 years. 

Sarah, wife of George Snapp ; died November 26, 1859 ; aged 
75 years. 

Ezekiel M. Snapp ; died October 1, 1842 ; aged 26 years. 

Adalyza, wife of R. M. Snapp ; died December 23, 1856 ; aged 
26 years. 

Alexander Willard ; died February 21, 1849 ; aged 54 years. 

Lucy, wife of A. Willard ; died May 15, 1879 ; aged 82 years. 

Thomas Darneille ; died May 24, 1870 ; aged 48 years. 

George, son of T. and L. Darneille; died February 7, 1862. 

Fielding, son of T. and L. Darneille ; died October 11, 1848. 

Carrie, wife of E. W. Wood, born January 27, 1857; died 
September 23, 1895. 

Sarah A., wife of Wm. Wood ; died February 14, 1876 ; aged 
43 years. 

William Wood, born April 18, 1823 ; died April 3, 1902. 

Clara, wife of F. A. Wood ; died February 25, 1882 ; aged 20 

Bennett Wood, born August 1, 1827 ; died March 25, 1902. 

John P. Wood ; died September 26, 1872 ; aged 72 years. 

John E. Wood ; died March 28, 1861 ; aged 24 years. 

Samuel H. Wood ; died October 26, 1852 ; aged 10 years. 


Polly, wife of John P. AVood ; died March 24, 1845 ; aged 38 

Sallie Butler, born December 4, 1809 ; died April 1, 1841. 

America Butler, born September 4, 1839; died September 8, 

Elizabeth, wife of Mathias Vankirk ; died May 27, 1882 -, agea 
79 years. 

Henry A^ankirk ; died January 24, 1890 ; aged 66 years. 

A. J. Vankirk ; died October 7, 1885 ; aged 35 years. 

David Smalley ; died October 20, 1873 ; aged 42 years. 

George W. Beekner, born January 13, 1825; died February 21, 

James H. Crawford, Harness Maker; died in 1862. 

Clarence Cayton, born January 14, 1859 ; died October 30, 

Eliza, wife of A. J. Cayton ; died November 6, 1866 : aged 27 

Nancy G., wife of A. J. Cayton; died December 11, 1862; aged 
24 years. 

Albert H.Welsh, born October 26, 1864; died August 29, 1901. 

Elizabeth, wife of E. Wearmouth ; died December 6, 1872 ; aged 
44 years. 

George Cayton ; died March 28, 1867 ; aged 41 years. 

Edmond Jennings, born December 15, 1819 ; died January 5, 

Isabelle Jennings, born August 16, 1864 ; died August 27, 1882. 

Permelia F.. wife of J. W. Bond, died December 3, 1889 ; aged 
30 years. 

Caddie Starr, born February 1, 1861 ; died May 8, 1885. 

Melinda, wife of Edmond Jennings; died February 22, 1858; 
aged 38 years. 

Lively, wife of Abel Cayton; died April 20, 1872; aged 64 



Nancy, daughter of A. & L. Cayton ; died August 21, 1846 ; aged 
17 years. 

Elizabeth Herrington ; died September 25, 1859 ; aged 79 years. 
Aaron Jennings ; died October 23, 1843 ; aged 53 yeai-s. 
Charles Stice ; died April 1, 1869 ; aged 74 years. 

Patsey, wife of Charles Stice; died February 21, 1847 ; aged 46 

James C. Stice ; died November 7, 1875 ; aged 50 years. 

Nancy, daughter of C. and P. Stice ; died September 9, 1843 ; 
aged 22 years. 

Stephen W. Starr ; died August 16, 1874 ; aged 64 years. 

Elizabeth, wife of D. Stuckey; died May 20, 1864; aged 52 

James, son of A. and M. Powers ; died October 26, 1841 ; aged 
16 yeare. 

Jasper, son of J. C. and N. A. PoAvers; died February 16, 1864; 
aged 20 years. 

Aaron Powers ; died March 26, 1862 ; aged 80 years. 

Martha, wife of Aaron Powers ; died May 12, 1861 ; aged 74 

Mason Powers : died December 20, 1879 ; aged 24 years. 

Joseph C. Powers ; died January 11, 1867 ; aged 57 years. 

Nancy A., wife of J. C. Powers; died January 25, 1864. 

Ernest C. Damitz, born January 6, 1805; died February 7, 

E. F. Pauline, wife of Ernest Damitz, senior; died November 
29, 1866. 

Eleanor, wife of Z. H. Powers; died January 10, 1882; aged 
24 years. 

M. J., wife of G. W. Stice; died March 12, 1878; aged 30 years. 

Lizzie, wife of D. F. Stice; died December 25, 1869; aged 29 

Rebecca J., wife of D. F. Stice; died March 18, 1863; aged 27 

Sarah F., wife of E. D. Acton ; died October 1, 1882 : aged 38 


The McMahill Graveyard. 

William McMahill ; died June 6, 1881 ; aged 74 years. 

Mary Snapp. wife of William McMahill ; died August 31, 1877 : 
aged 71 years. 

America, wife of J. M. Kepple; died March 13, 1877; aged 33 

Oscar McMahill ; died August 30, 1898 ; aged 46 years. 

George W. McMahill, born May 16, 1822 ; died October 26, 1900. 

John McMahill ; died February 5, 1872 ; aged 53 years. 

Martha J., Avife of G. W. McMahill, born May 18, 1829 ; died 
November 18, 1894. 

Harvey J. Hewett ; died October 18, 1850 ; aged 54 years. 

Charles B. Weaver, born October 15, 1826 ; died February 16, 


John S. Crawford ; died January 21, 1862 ; aged 34 years. 

J. A. Keith, born July 8, 1817 ; died October 30, 1900. 

Catherine, wife of J. P. Iteed; died March 7, 1877; aged 29 

Matilda, wife of B. A. Reed, Sr., born March 5. 1807; died 
October 28, 1881. 

Burris Alen Reed, born in 1808; died October 1. 1885. 

Susan, wife of W. B. Reed ; died September 4, 1858 ; aged 20 



HisTOBiCAL. Page 

First Settlers in Warren County 5 

First Settlers in Greenbush 5 

Indians in the Township 6 

The Black Hawk War 6 

James Simmons comes from Madison 7 

Greenfield surveyed 8 

The first house in Greenfield 8 

Early merchants 9 

Prices in 1839 9 

Names of persons trading In Greenfield 10 

The Early Blacksmiths 12 

The Wagon-makers 12 

The Doctors 12 

The Hotel Keepers 13 

The Shoe Makers 13 

The Harness Makers 13 

The Coopers 13 

The Tailors 14 

The Carpenters 14 

The Druggists 14 

The Weavers 14 

The First Cabins 14 

The Household Furniture 15 

The Books used 16 

Farming in the Early Days 16 

Schools in the Early Days 18 

The Greenbush Academy 20 

Cholera in Greenbush 23 

Trip to New Orleans 24 

The Archie Fisher affair 26 

Abraham Lincoln's letter 27 

Patrick Lynch crated 33 

Wm. Patterson killed 34 

Murder of Harvey J. Hewett 35 

H. H. Hewett's letter 38 

Calf Market in 1840 42 

The killing of Sheffield 43 

Three fatal accidents 44 

Coal Oil works 46 


Biographical. Page 

John C. Bond 49 

Charles Stice 53 

S. J. Buzan _. 55 

John Rubert 56 

Wm. Palmer 57 

Noah Crabill 59 

John Patterson, Sr 60 

Simon Sailer 61 

John P. Kramer 62 

Charles H. Killough 64 

Peter Honts 66 

F. H. Merrill ' 67 

Bethuel Merris 69 

E. W. Woods 70 

Isaac Cunningham 71 

Thomas Carroll 71 

Charles C. Merrill 72 

David S. Link 73 

Roswell Rose 75 

Philip Karns 77 

Henzie Darneille 79 

J. A. F. Coll 81 

Col. John Butler 82 

David Young 84 

John Simmons 85 

Levi Lincoln 87 

Daniel Armsworthy 88 

John Woods 90 

John Matthews 91 

James F. Hartford 93 

Alfred Claycomb 96 

Julius T. Lathrop 98 

Thomas Hendricks 99 

Walter Johnson 101 

Rowland Simmons 104 

Clinton Lincoln 107 

Henry Beam 108 

Abner Walker 109 

Ernest Damitz 110 

Andrew Sailer 113 

Thomas Darneille 114 


Index — Continued Page 

Paton A. Vaughn 120 

Thomas Moulton 122 

James Simmons, brother of Rowland 123 

William P. Jones 125 

Alexander Willard 126 

Dr. William Randall 128 

William McMahill 129 

Barnard Sloey 130 

James Simmons, son of William 132 

Sarah Snapp 134 

Elijah Frampton, Sr 140 

Mary Park 147 

John W. Nance 148 

Amos Pierce 151 

John Wingate 159 

Dr. R. A. Saunders 161 

Joseph Mings 163 

Dr. Bailey Ragon 165 

Aaron Powers 166 

Moses T. Hand 168 

Graveyards in Greenbush 171 

Greenbush Graveyard 172 

Holeman Graveyard 181 

Bond Graveyard 185 

McMahill Graveyard 192